We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and atmosphere - but pricey like everything in CPH”
Review of MORMORS Cafe

MORMORS Cafe
Ranked #1 of 84 Coffee & Tea in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
133 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere - but pricey like everything in CPH”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

"Mormor's" - literally "Grandma's" - is a cosy 1950's-style Danish sandwich and coffee/cake shop located very near to Amalienborg and the Marble Church. They serve delicious sandwiches and very nice "Danish Danish"-pastry, cake and cookies. Sandwiches are reasonably priced at around 50-60 DKK (10 USD), while cookies are a bit expensive at arondd 25-30 DKK (6 USD). Smoothies are delicious as well, but also quite pricey.

The thing about Mormor's is the cool classic Danish interior decoration, which gives a very genuinely cosy atmosphere Danish-style.

Recommended for a quick sandwich stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndersChoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    166
    31
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Lunchtime Spot Near Church of Our Saviour”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We happened upon this combination sandwich shop/antique/gift shop near the Church of Our Saviour. Sandwiches were excellent and we enjoyed sitting among the antiques and bric-a-brac as we ate. Copenhagen food is quite expensive, so we liked having a lunch which totaled $22.00 for 2 people. Everything was fresh and the bread seemed homemade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good sandwiches”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is a good stop if you are looking for a good sandwich at noon.
They have a lot of choice and the sandwiches are well garnished.
We stopped here only at noon so I cannot tell about the other stuffs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soso1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A hidden gem for a quick sandwich”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I eat here weekly and it is the best lunch when it comes to sandwiches. They always use fresh vegetables and meat for their sandwiches. If they run out of sandwiches during non-rushhour you can always ask them to make a new for you. Very good service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CloudStrife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
558 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Different, with a quaint atmosphere”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having watched the nearby changing of the guard, we were attracted by the unusual decor of Mormor's, mistakenly identifying it aa an antique shop. The walls and inside of the cafe are full of interesting and unsual objects like an old fashioned bric-a- brac shop. Apart from the decor the foods not bad ranging from cakes and scones to local savoury filled rolls. Ideal for a coffee break or a light lunch. Part of the fun of exploring a City is finding ' gems ' like Mormor's. The staff were friendly and helpful and the Cafe has a very pleasant ambience and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MORMORS Cafe also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to MORMORS Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing