We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service and fiddly food”

Restaurant D'Angleterre
Ranked #346 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Slow service and fiddly food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the D'Angleterre and invited some friends for a meal in the restaurant. We were advised to order three of the 'A la Carte' dishes' in a sort of Danish version of tapas. The chef is clearly aiming for a Michelin star and the dishes were very fiddly and small without being particularly memorable. Two of us had a ''cream puff' for dessert which looked and tasted very similar to a walnut whip and was certainly not what we had expected and another member of the party had the liquorice ice cream which was scattered with greenery - flash frozen herbs apparently - that he said tasted very good. Service was slow and a little erratic and the bill was very large even by Copenhagen standards. Not somewhere I would rush back to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Optimusprime100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch with the Jetset”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The renovated D'Angleterre opened in May 2013, and now their Restaurant Marshall offer outdoor service.
The hotel/restaurant is situated by the beautiful Kongens Nytorv with Nyhavn, Royal Theater and
right at the corner of the shoppingstreet "Strøget".

We had lunch on a beautiful sunny day. The big square is unfortunately under reconstruction due to building of a metrostation, which makes the surrounding noisy. Just across the street the weekly fleamarket had opened.

we were received politely by nice and service focussed waiters, that kept attention to our table throughout the lunch.

the menu is narrow, not to say minimal.
Gone are the traditonal Danish open sandwishes (smørrebrød), replaced by modern cuisine.

We ordered: Lobster tail mousse with smoked cheese and herbs in a light cream.
Small piece of turbot with springonions and melted brown butter.
Mixed salat to share (not on the menu)
Rosé wine and sparkling water

Immidiately after our seating we got the wine and water.

A special waiter came with lovely homebaked bread and special tasteful butter.

The food came within reasonable time, to enjoy the surroundings and each other.

Very small servings, but extremely tasteful and classy arranged.
10/10.

Outside on the street people passed by, looking at the restaurant and their clients.
We felt a little like being in a zoo, but this is always like this, when you enjoy life in
such a surroundning.

Absolutely delicious food, superb serving and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quist3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Foodies take note!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were in Copenhagen on our way to a cruise in the Baltic and decided to celebrate the Fourth of July with a great meal. This restaurant did not disappoint. The service was impeccable and VERY friendly. The waitstaff were extremely courteous and helpful. The decor was elegant yet comfortable. The food was extremely good!

While this restaurant could have been stuffy and uncomfortable, it was anything but. While it is expensive, we felt it was well worth the money. Make a reservation well in advance, you will need to if you want to get in, and make sure you check out the wine list, it is very good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great location - good value for money”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Bare in mind that wages in Denmark are sky high, so don't expect ten waiters per table.
The location is great for sightseeing and shopping so a good place to start the day.
Friendly staff and good value for money.
Will return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another billion renovation that forgot......”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

First of all: we did not eat, nor stay in the Hotel. We just went in to have a drink in the Cocktailbar. The interior is very exclusive, it's deluxe big time. Investors must have ( had ) lots of capital. It stinks money. And it's quite all right that someone finally has decided to renovate the sleeping beauty. Thank you.
But it seems that the Management has not been informed that business is a matter of serving the guests entering the building.
We sat in the Bar for at least 15 minutes, the 2 Barmen did not even lift their eyes to tell us that they have seen us. The Bar was not even packed. We left. How come that investors with lots of money don't understand this very basic idea ? Do go there, give them a chance, we will not.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant D'Angleterre also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Bronshoej, Copenhagen Region
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing