We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, bizarre, and a nice pub & restaruant”
Review of Bankeraat

Bankeraat
Ranked #498 of 2,421 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Edmonds, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Eclectic, bizarre, and a nice pub & restaruant”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

So, we went here on our visit to Copenhagen because I had read reviews and visited their website. The scenery is definitely bizarre, and I was just a little worried that the place would attract a crowd that was just as unique. That couldn't be further from the truth. We found ourselves surrounded by an after work crowd - obviously regulars, drinking beer and enjoying the food. On that note, the food is good, typical pub fare, and the selection of beers is vast enough to satisfy curiosities. But, as a tourist, you don't come here for the food as much as the experience of sitting amongst taxidermied animals and lamps created from doll heads.

There is a front room and a back room, we sat in the back because all the tables were taken in the front room. The front was much noisier than the back, so the back is a good choice for those who want to make conversation.

Don't forget to take a trip to the restroom... the ladies is not very interesting, but my husband says that the men's is pretty cool!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    45
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If you like eating surrounded by stuffed animals, give it a go”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is ok, i had a burger which was pretty good, the drinks were the most expensive i found in the area (about £6 a pint).

This place is pretty quirky inside, there are stuffed animals and shrunken heads on the walls, in the windows and a large bear dressed as a waiter. There is a seperate dining area where dolls heads with light bulbs inside them light your table. Its fairly good with a nice relaxed ambience though.

Its a bit of a novelty and i found better bars nearby but its an ok place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An original, cozy cafe in Copenhagen”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A must stop if you are in Copenhagen! I came here with a friend, and was blown away by the food, atmosphere, and the decor. It's definitely not your mother's diner! It is so unique with an awesome vibe, and the food is excellent. Everything we had was so delicious! I highly recommend the goat cheese salad! So good! Do yourself a favor, and stop here for some local flare!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy waterhole - drinks and good cafe food”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have been there for years - I like the feeling - the barista and the fine food with large servings - share if your girlfriend is not so hungry! Fresh newspapers - have good times there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mogens-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, different, dream like bar.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I visited this bar while visiting a friend in Copenhagen. It is strange, friendly and serves great local beer! I really enjoyed my visit here, the staff are nice and it has a really eclectic décor... don't go to the toilets alone! there is some really great taxidermy in this bar and the doll head lights were my favourite.

I honestly have dreams like this bar....i loved it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bankeraat also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Bankeraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing