We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & cheap during low season”
Review of Hotel Loeven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Loeven
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location & cheap during low season”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I stayed here with 2 friends in a private room with bathroom. The bathroom is actually a wet room (the shower is not separate), so the entire room gets wet when you take a shower.

Towels were changed daily, but you do have to make your own bed. A mini fridge in the room was nice, and the guest kitchen is open 24 hours (on the first floor, past reception) but it really only has a fridge, electric kettle and some sort of heating coils contraption that I was afraid to use.

There is no internet available at the hotel. You must go next door to the Irish pub and use their connection, but it doesn't open until late afternoon.

The location is really convenient as it is just down the road from central station, and there are a lot of great restaurants across the street. Take a regular train to/from the airport instead of the metro so you don't need to make any connections. It's only 3 stops and takes 15 minutes.

The receptionist was extremely nice. She recommended places to eat that were very good and not too expensive. Plus there are 7-11s everywhere so you can get "groceries" and eat in your room.

Reception does close at night so make sure to notify them if you will be arriving late. You have to ring the buzzer to get into the building, but then your room key will also work at the front door. Check-out is at 10 am and you simply leave your key in the box on the way out.

This is more of a hostel than a hotel, so don't expect much. We paid about 40€ per person per night in May, so it wasn't more expensive than many other places in large European cities. I can imagine the prices rise drastically in the summer though.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ielanguages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    66
    22
    24
See reviews for
34
64
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

when ı arrived to hotel ıt was closed and i opened 10 oclock .so ı did not sleep in hotel but they charged that night from me.and they did not give me any explanation.when ı looked to room it was very dirty.in kitchen very smal and there is no open window.they re using ther smoking area.kitchen was smeling bad and dirty..
reception is not polite and also not know any information that asked question.
their web site and anywhere else not any information hotel is closed night time...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yilmaz_elife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I made a reservation for 2 nights from Loeven Hotel via Hostelbookers. Hostelbookers webside informes that we have to contact for late check in. So I send an e mail to the Hotel and informed them our late check in. When I arrived the Hotel at 3:30 a.m. There was nobody there. Also I called them via telephone. There was no answer. We had to wait for opening with our luggage until 10:00 a.m. It was unbeliaveable. Then we wanted to pay only 1 night , but the staff did not accept. Also they were so rude. After staff's bad behaviour. We had to canceled our reservation and went to another hotel. However after a few days Hotel Loeven debited my credit card for no show. I contacted to Hostelbookers and Hotel Loeven, but I could not get money back.

I never recommend Hotel Loeven to anybody...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Travelled to Copenhagen on 20 March for an overnight stay with 29 other people. The hotel is super easy to find from the Central Train Station. It is an easy walk to the Hard Rock Cafe and to the Stroget shopping street. The location was just fine with some 7-11's nearby to grab some snacks & breakfast. We had five rooms with five beds and one room with four beds. All of the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, some of the pillows were worse for wear. However please try not to get the rooms in the back corner on the second and third floors (#228 and #328). These were directly over a nightclub and the members of my group that stayed in those rooms were up all night long listening to the club music and people screaming. I stayed in a room on the 5th floor and could hear the club a bit, so I can't imagine what they went through. The bathrooms in the rooms are small, but for a one or two night stay they are just fine. There is a small refrigerator and wardrobe in the rooms. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskerKusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

During the UNFCC meetings, hotel rooms in Copenhagen were very scarce. I was fortunate to find a single in the Loeven at 50 euro a night. The listing was honest -- the room was described as very small, with a bathroom on the hallway. This was probably the worst room in the hotel. The proprietor apologized on check in and indicated that nothing better was available. A friend who stayed there had a better experience. Your mileage may vary. I suspect that your experience will be far better than mine.
Hint: Cash up front on check in. Get your Danish Kroner before going to the hotel.

Location: Very convenient, on a nice street proximate to the central railway station and numerous restaurants.
Hint: The front door is not clearly marked. Make sure that you have the address. Ring the buzzer for Loeven.
Hints: No need to opt for the in house breakfast – plenty of options in the area.
Hint: You should use the wonderful public transport in Copenhagen.

Room: Very small with just enough space for a narrow bed, very small table, tiny desk. Hooks on the back of the door for hanging clothing, with no other space. Needed to unplug the desk lamp to free up an electric outlet. The bed linens provided were clean. You make up your own bed.
Hint: Bring an extension cord with multiple sockets if you have a cellphone, computer and other devices.

Bathroom: This was a small room down the hallway. Small sink, toilet, hand shower head without separate shower area, hook for clothing. The shower directed water onto the floor by the sink, with some spray onto the toilet and clothing. A previous occupant had left her underwear in the bathroom. It was there when I arrived and it was there when I left.
Hint: The bathroom was not heated. If you are visiting during the winter, prop the door open 20 minutes before using the room to allow heat from the hallway to warm the room.
Hint: Bring a robe and flip flops. You will need them.

Service: The owners were helpful in offering advice on how to get about and what to see. No wakeup calls or the like with no phones in the room.

Do I recommend this hotel? I do not recommend the room and bathroom that I was assigned. However, I do recommend the hotel as a whole, on the assumption that every other room would be better, that the owners were honest, and that their website provided fair warning on the lousy room and terrible bathroom that I was assigned.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Overall I liked the hotel, it served its point, we were only in Copenhagen for 1 night.

Its a pretty basic hotel.
We got a double room with en-suite bathroom - recommended.
The rooms are minimally furnished, no TV. There is a fridge and cupcoard.
Bathroom was small (kind of an all-in-one) - like having a toilet and basin in your shower. It was clean and no issues with that.

Service was excellent, very helpful. We got there early and were able to check in as the room was available. Check out was also lenient which is also a bonus.

The receoption is on the 1st floor. We stayed in the very first room (129) - I wouldn't recommend it as it is very noisy as everyone has to walk past the room and the floor boards make a big noise.

Location was perfect - its on the main drag not too far from places to eat and drink.

Good value for money considering Copenhagen is quick expensive in general - we paid about £70 for the night.

Overall recommended. Its basic accomodation that serves its purpose.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
501 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Loeven for 2 nights in a triple room. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 children. They provided a travel cot for our baby free of charge. We pre-arranged this my emailing the hotel direct after we had made the reservation. They were extremely friendly and accomodating, replying immediately to our request.

The rooms were nothing fancy but were clean, bright and functional. There was plenty of room, even with 4 of us in the room and the extra space needed for the travel cot. The linen is supplied but you have to make up the beds yourself.

If you are coming from the airport, take the metro to Norreport and then an S Train to Central station. It is a very short walk from central station. Along the route from the station is a 7-Eleven and also a larger supermarket which was handy for drinks / snacks and picnic lunches. There was a fridge in the room which was useful to store a few things for our stay. There was a small kitchen in the hotel, but we didn't actually use it so I can't comment.

The area is not the best (often the case near a central station) but it is convenient. It is very close to Tivoli Gardens and the Town Hall. We caught the metro to Rosenberg and Amilienberg castles because we had kids, but a couple could walk the distance.

Our room had double glazing so shielded the noise from the outside street. Both our children were able to sleep soundly.

The staff were very welcoming on arrival. We paid with cash. there is a surcharge if you pay with credit card. We arrived at 10 am and were able to check into our room immediately.

On our last day, we left our baggage in reception whilst we toured around. It was secure and staff were accomodating with this. All in all, after a very thorough trawl of the web to find suitable accomodation, we found Hotel Loeven to be well priced, a convenient location and clean. Hotels and even hostels in Copenhagen are expensive. We would stay there again if we visited.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank highburychampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#54 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loeven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loeven

Property: Hotel Loeven
Address: Vesterbrogade 30, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Loeven 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Loeven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loeven Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing