We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious hotel for great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel for great price!”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Wow, after reading some of the reviews on here, I was hesitant to stay at the Copenhagen Island -- but considering the 82 euro a night price I found on hotels.com and the fact that their parking only cost about 19 euros a day, I chose it anyhow.

So I was very surprised when we found the place to be so lovely! We got a free upgrade at check-in, and ended up in a comfy room with a huge bathroom and a nice view of the river/canal. Honestly, for anyone who has been traveling in Europe for a while, I would say that this hotel far exceeds what is to be expected of most European hotels and reminds me much more of a nice place I would find in the US.

The best parts of this hotel:
1. Modern, clean room
2. Wood floor instead of carpeting (cleaner)
3. Refrigerator for our food
4. Really comfortable bed
5. Huge bathroom with a really nice shower
6. Fitness Center!

It is true that the hotel is a bit far from the center of town - but by "far" it's really about a 20-minute walk, and you can walk along the canal, which is lovely. Also, the hotel rents out bikes, which is the best way to see Copenhagen anyway. Or, you can rent bikes in the city. It's a safe area, surrounded by many businesses and runners/bikers, so it's just fine to walk back from town after a large dinner.
I can see where, if someone is a bit older or has a physical limitation, they might prefer to stay closer to many of the tourist sights. But for anyone else who is planning on walking or biking around a lot, anyway, the location should not be a problem.

Personally, I would gladly take the location if it means I can get such a nice hotel at such a low cost.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    1,016
    345
    92
    41
See reviews for
265
907
112
451
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The hotel is looks good and the location by (or rather in) the water is nice. To bad the surroundings are boring so the 20 min walk to get towards the center of Copenhagen feels like 40 min....

The room (we had a Executive with balcony facing the harbour) was what you might expect for the price.

We stayed two nights and here is a short summary:

* Located in a boring part of Copenhagen.
* The curtains did not block the sunlight! The staff knew about this but "could not do anything about it, sorry". They couldnt provide a blackening eye-mask either, which would have been an easy solution to the problem.
* The minibar was disconnected so we had to call for service.
* The cleaning staff did not clean the wineglasses.
* "Do not disturb" sign to hand on the door knob was missing.
* Only one chair on the balcony. (in an executive DOUBLE room)
* The cleaning staff switched towels despite we did not leave them on the floor and could use them again. If they hotel have a sign i the bathroom that says "We care for the environment, put the towels on the floor only if you want them to be changed", you expect the staff to be familiar with this, but obviously they wasn't.
* The breakfast was rather slim. Expected more.

So if you want to stay by the water away from shops, café and restaurants this is the perfect hotel for you. There is a huge shopping mall ("Fisketorvet") next to the hotel, but if you are interested in the real Copenhagen, this mall is just like any other mall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

On a city trip to Copenhagen we booked this hotel after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor
We were not disappointed for the cheap price we paid (weekend rate at 300 euro for 3 nights) and the upgrade room with small balcony we got
Pro’s:
-clean modern hotel,
-nicely located on the border of a big canal at the ‘copenhagen dock’s’
-comfy rooms
-nice and spacy bathroom
-friendly and efficient staff,
-nice view over the water,
Con’s:
-location is pretty far from city center, though you can rent bikes at the hotel and there is a busstop at the shoppingcenter next to the hotel
- access to the hotel is along a dull road next to some train yard
-rooms are small with a rather cheap looking design
-hotel has an empty feeling on weekends (no barscene)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

My brother and I stayed here during Easter weekend. ( Please note, this is a horrible time to go to Copenhagen for sightseeing as the entire city is devote of actual Danes and there are limited opening hours at major attractions.) The hotel is absolutely wonderful as it is impeccably clean, has great amenities ( top notch restaurant, gym, and internet access facilities), and above all, the bedding is amazingly comfortable.

Location wise the hotel is 10-15 minutes walking distance from the main train station and Tivoli. The hotel is by no means centrally located but you can catch a bus up to centre if you so choose, we just walked up along the canal/river as it's quite beautiful. Although keep in mind its always easier leaving the hotel rather than coming back to it as you will be exhausted from a day of sightseeing (assuming that is your purpose). It's also a pain if you want to go out in the evenings to dinner or to a bar as you are not in an immediate vicinity of anything worthy, apart from the hotel bar/restaurant and the neighbouring shopping mall.

I would recommend this hotel as it ticks all my boxes apart from location.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentSik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Black-out Curtains: These do not exist in the rooms. I have paid upon arrival for a superior room upgrade, and got a room on the 5th floor. Then to mine and my wife's surprise the following morning, the curtains do not block out the sun at all! The material is actually not large enough to cover the window. When we asked to move to another room with proper black-out curtains we were passed over from one person to another and got nowhere since our arrival (2 days ago). This morning I called the reception again and said that I need to move immediately, when I was told by the receptionist "There are very few rooms with black-out curtains and they are reserved for Cabin Crew". This is ridiculous and not acceptable. I have taken photos of the curtains and my lawyer will have them soon. We have not slept a day since our arrival!

Room Service: We ordered potatoe wedges, and got soggy, greasy potatoes drenched in oil. I am not a cook, but I can fry potatoes and drain the oil out. When I called room service they said "This is how we make potatoe wedges in Copenhagen". Again, unnaceptable thing to say and certainly not true. I've eaten outside the hotel and can compare.

Staff: Overall very unfriendly and dry, with bad attitudes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We found this hotel great. Very modern and clean, and the design of the place was great. Enjoyed the breakfast and the room was great. Only drawback was the location. We ended up walking to the centre most of the time which took about 25 mins. There are trains which are a 5 min walk away but if you don't have a Copenhagen card, this can get quite expensive for a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The hotel is extremely modern looking and the lobby is very clean. The room, also, is very modern looking, though a little on the small side. The side lamps turn on automatically when you get out of bed, and the lights are very bright, so my wife and I used our pillows to cover the sensors ... a very stupid and inconvenient mod-con.

The worst thing though by far was the fact that I asked specifically for a non-smoking room and was given a smoking room. The room smelled like an ashtray. I have never known a room to smell so bad, so bad we had to sleep with the window open, which made the room very cold (cold for my Australian self anyhow). This totally coloured my view of the hotel, and I doubt I would ever return.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alienlovechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing