We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic summer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We picked the Island Hotel from its Trip Advisor reviews, a google maps scouting of the location, and its great price. We weren't disappointed.

The Island is reasonably accessible from the S-Tog station, but it is advisable to catch a cab if you have more than light luggage. In the gorgeous summer light it is a 20-30 minute stroll by the water to Copenhagen town hall. It is next door to a mall, convenient to a supermarket. We took a cab from Kobenhavn Home (central station) which cost 50 DKroner (and a fairly direct route).

Check in was efficient, and impressively there was a room ready at 7.30 am. We booked a balcony room for a little extra indulgence, and were not disappointed at all. Although I don't think there are wings as such, we were in the east "wing" of the hotel which might allow a better view up the river, and I would recommend this orientation. The long bright, warm evenings with bread, olives, cold meat, cheese and bread for supper sitting on the balcony, whilst the Danes basked in the sun by the water across the river till 9pm are unforgettable.

The rooms are modestly sized, but with plenty of room for two suit cases to open. The bathrooms are a good size. The rooms are clean. The beds feel soft, but are quite supportive - they must have a soft pillow top mattress. Separate dooners/quilts allow for individualised temperature control. The air-conditioning tends towards warming, rather than cooling, but this seems to be a norm for most of Copenhagen. Opening the French doors airs the room nicely.

Housekeeping was the only niggle. We had variously re-supplied toiletries, and were required to call for supplies on one day. The room was not made up and no new towels supplied on another. Otherwise the room was very well kept.

Small negatives are also a lack of glass ware for wine or other drinks, and no in-room safe.

Wifi is complimentary, and mostly worked well, though reception was patchy at times. The rooms were quiet, with great sleep quality. We slept with our windows open most nights, and weren't troubled by noise from the water at all, despite the jazz festival and World Cup big screens across the river.

We also opted for breakfast. The menu was unchanging, and hot food consisted of hash browns, scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausages, with hard or soft boiled eggs. There were a selection of cheese, cold meats, cereal and yoghurt, as well as fruit and a large bread selection. Coffee is brewed and at the table. It is decent, if limited.

We catered for other meals ourselves, usually opting for trip to the supermarket on the way back to the hotel.

This is a decently priced, well located hotel, particularly for summer in Copenhagen. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a balcony room. Best views from the east wings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billthoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for all your positive feedback. The harbour view is fantastic all year around, but during the summer it is sublime. Do feel free to contact our reception day or night if you need anything in your room. We are here for you.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    921
    324
    89
    41
See reviews for
240
808
97
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night while visiting friends in the city. The Hotel is clean and well appointed located right on the main canal. We took the cheap option and booked a room with a city view rather than a waterside room. Room wasn't exactly spacious but was perfectly fine for a short stay. Room had free wifi. Breakfast buffet was great, with a decent range of hot and cold food, served in a nice waterside restaurant. The hotel is located right next door to a brand new shopping mall and a couple of mins walk to an S-train stop which is one stop from central station/Tivoli gardens (trains every 5 mins until late). Woud stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for all your positive comments and thank you for recommending our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. You are always welcome to stay here again – next time, maybe in a room with harbour view!
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is easy to reach being near the train line and only one stop from the city. The hotel is fresh and modern and located next to a shopping centre with plenty of restaurants which was convenient because we thought the hotel restaurant expensive. The breakfast was included in the rate and was a very good buffet. Our room was spotlessly clean and had a lovely view of the water. The blinds did not offer enough block out which was a problem since we were there in the long summer days. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a water view are best although you do get some outside noises which are not obtrusive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annemaree26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very, very much for giving us 5 points! Thank you for all the lovely and wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back!
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, the rooms are chic, very comfortable and well designed. It's definitely worth paying the nominal extra amount for a superior room with harbour view and breakfast. The view was wonderful, the harbour is very modern but we had views out to the city buildings over the harbour too. The cheaper rooms on the front look out onto a busy road and rail station and that's not pretty. The buffet breakfast is superb and does provide hot as well as cold breakfast food. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant giving us advice on how to get to places and what to see, they even have English adapters at the desk if you have forgotten yours and they have hotel umbrellas which you can borrow should it rain. It is a little further out than we would have liked and it was a pain having to schlepp over the bridge and up and down two lots of steep stairs every time we went anywhere but that's our only criticism. Drinks are expensive in the hotel ( water, coke, as well as wine etc) but there is a mall right next door with a fab supermarket which opens late. Overall a brilliant hotel, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahloul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our rooms with harbour view. Thank you for noticing and mentioning our staff in your review.
We hope to see you here again at your next visit to Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Newer hotel, good staff, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast restaurant. My suitcase was lost at the airport and a front desk person let me use his charger for my IPhone. Fresh coffee available at front desk at 5 am - before restaurant was open was fantastic.

Room Tip: All of us had good rooms - it was just one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Scuba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are glad we made your stay a happy one. Thank you for pointing out the service of the staff.
We hope to see you at the next visit in Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor (UK)
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Normally I would write a review after my stay but this hotel is so wonderful I can't wait. The staff are very helpful and the place is so clean. We have a waterfront room that looks over the river. If you ever visit Copenhagen then this is the hotel that you must stay in. It's a 5min walk from Central Station where you can get a direct train to and from the airport.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. Thank you for mentioning our staff and for giving us the highest score on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing