We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, had a room overlooking the water (ice) and into the city.
Good room floor to ceiling window, lovely under floor heating in bathroom great for drying snowny things.

Breakfast good apart from the orange juice which was basically orange squash. It did improve on our last day but there were lots of business people staying, I am sure the two are not related!!

We had 1 meal in the hotel which was good quality if expensive.
The hotel was in a good location, very close to the S station, or a pleasant walk along the water. The trains were fab and plentiful.

We had a copenhagen card and got our moneys worth on the transport alone.

It was cold, but the wind chill was bitting.

Copenhagen is a lovely city and well worth a visit, and this hotel is well worth a stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We would like to thank you for your 5 points on Tripadvisor and for all your lovely comments as well. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you Again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,027
    348
    93
    44
See reviews for
266
924
112
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had three nights booked, through a deal, but unfortunately it was the December storms and the weather was foul. Nevertheless the hotel was good.

The 5 minute plus trek from the bus stop or s-bahn station across the railway bridge is a dismal approach to what is otherwise a smart and pleasant hotel. The shopping /entertainment complex next door is also smart, so both are let down by the approach. Scruffy concrete with graffitti. This is made doubly worse by bitter winds, rain and snow blizzards.

The hotel is smart and modern, and the water view [a bit like Canary Wharf area] is good but I would not fancy a room on the opposite side overlooking the railway.

Unlike some early reviews we had seen, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good quality if sometimes a bit busier than one would wish.

They closed the restaurant on one night, but we were warned and so headed for the many fast food [and reasonably priced] outlets in the shopping mall. As the winds were blowing at 80mph we were in danger of being blown over and ending up in the water and on this occasion we wouild have preferred to use the hotel restaurant, although that menu looked expensive even for Copenhagen.

The room was not huge but I wouldn't say it was small. All very modern and smart, but the glass window to the bathroom does not in all rooms enable one to appreciate the view from the bath, but gives the bedroom occupants a view of anyone sitting on the loo. Good idea, but badly executed.

The design and location can't be changed, so with good food and staff there is probably little that can be improved, but not much that needs to be!

Copenhagen seems to be deficient in signage and directions for tourists. It was probably the most lacking of the many European cities we have visited. Food and drink can be expensive, but usually good quality.

One eating place to avoid is Rub n Stub. There was an article on it in the flight magazine, but it was our worst meal in Copenhagen an quality, quantity, and value for money.

Room Tip: Room facing the water is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and for 4 points on Tripadvisor. Your comments are highly appreciated. We will pass on your comments to our staff.
Not everybody likes the narrow window in the bathroom, but it was designed to enjoy the harbour view from the bathtub.
We hope to welcome you back anther time, maybe in the summertime, when the weather should be more inviting.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favorite hotels in Copenhagen especially if you get one of the rooms on the top floor (5th). Pay the extra fee to get a room facing the harbor, it is definitely worth it.

The rooms are very clean and modern. Not very spacious but on the top floor you will have high ceilings which makes the rooms feel a lot bigger. The beds are a little too soft for my liking (I prefer firm beds).

The location of the hotel is not the best if you like staying right in the heart of the city. You need to put on your walking shoes and either walk along the water and hit left at the first bridge to get to the city centre (30 min) or hit straight for Vesterbro (lots of bars, cafés and restaurants) which is a 10 min walk across the bridge towards Dybbølsbro station. You also have the Fisketorvet shopping center right next door which also has a cinema.

The biggest advantage with this hotel is its close proximity to the water (and price). If you have a room facing the water you have an unspoiled view to the harbor. In the summer you can take a free swim in designated areas of the harbor only 5 mins away. The water in the harbor is very clean.

The morning breakfast is what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. You get your selection of bread, bacon, eggs, yoghurt and cereals but I still found the breakfast a little bit disappointing. The juice served is very synthetic. Either they add lots of water to it or it's just bad juice but it tastes of absolute nothing. I missed pancakes too but I can live with that.

The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

I find myself returning to this hotel over and over again. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank darzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words and for recommending us to other travellers.
We would also like to thank you for being a regular guest. We hope you already are a member of our loyalty programme, otherwise we will be happy to enrol you the next time you are here.
If you would like a little harder bed, we can recommend a bed board. We will pass on your comments on the juice to our kitchen manager.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent Hotel. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff on Reception - nothing was too much trouble. Likewise Dining Area Staff. Buffet Breakfast was really good with large selection of food and very nice dining room. Didnt sample the lunch or dinner at hotel but menus looked really good. Bedrooms were well fitted out - if anything....maybe a little small.
Just outside of the actual centre of town though only one stop on train, or 20 minute walk or, even better bikes were available to hire which was perfect for sightseeing and travelling around.

Room Tip: Higher floors and a room with a small balcony overlooking the river/canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth and Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review and for the 5 points on Tripadvisor. We will forward your comments to our staff. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive rooms with balcony and harbour view.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel has a nice location on Kalvebod brygge, right next to Fisketorvet shopping center. You can walk to the Town Hall Square (Rådhusplassen) and Tivoli Gardens in about 10 minutes. The guest rooms at Copenhagen Island is relatively small, but given that the hotel is rather new, they are functional and modern. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. I recommend choosing a room with sea view for approximately DKK 200, - extra. The breakfast buffet is very good. You can enjoy hot and cold dishes in a nice breakfast resturant with a great sea view. We've stayed at the Copenhagen Island several times and will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaalOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the 4 points on Tripadvisor and thank you very much for coming back time after time.
Since you are a regular guest, we hope that you have enrolled in our loyalty programme. If not, do sign up the next time you are here.
Welcome back in 2014.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice enough hotel, but rather small rooms. It was fairly quiet and hardly had any atmosphere which was very disappointing for the time of year. Th bar staff seemed as if we were inconveniencing them by wanting to order drinks. I have to say the food we ate in the hotel restaurant was top class. The breakfast was ok, buffet as you'd expect. Would I go back 'No'! Would I recommend Copenhagen 'No'.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albear1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review you stay with us.. During December we had Christmas decorations in our lobby and restaurant. This was removed by New Year. We are sorry to realize if you did not find our service in the bar satisfactory.
If you stay here again, I am sure that we will be able to convince you to recommend us.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few times in 2013 whilst on business and thoroughly enjoyed it. Located right on the water it is a very pleasant setting that looks particularly beatiful at night. It is also handy to the airport being no more than a 15-20 minute taxi ride. Is a bit too far to walk to the centre of town, which possibly makes it more suited to business than leisure travelers.

The bar / restaurant overlooks the water and appears very popular with non-guests, which is always a good sign. Dined there on one occasion and in keeping with the overall high standards of restaurants in Copenhagen it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for all your lovely comments about our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you are a regular guest and enjoys staying here.
We certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back in 2014.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,815 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#29 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
202 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,266 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing