We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$267
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copenhagen Strand(Copenhagen)
$246
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel(Copenhagen)
$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)
$186
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
$355
$346
SKT. PETRI
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$416
$362
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
$234
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kong Arthur(Copenhagen)
$236
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel(Copenhagen)
$502
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andersen Boutique Hotel(Copenhagen)
$272
$242
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,436)
Filter reviews
2,436 results
Traveler rating
722
1,174
386
102
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
1,174
386
102
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centretrain stationmodern hotelfisketorvet shopping mallminute walkoverlooking the waterharbour viewa large shopping centresuperior roomwater frontthe meat packing districtmeatpacking districtan upgradetivoli gardensbusiness hotelpublic transportmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 2,436 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel Copenhagen Island, which was a little bit out from the city. It was a deal with travezoo for a superior room with harbour view, breakfast, and a bottle of bubbly. However, the room was really small and there was no room for the cases, and a very tiny awkward wardrobe (we didn’t bother using it); and to plug in the kettle we had to put it on the floor opposite the bathroom. There was only one china cup – the other was a polystyrene mug. No safe. Small balcony. As usual, the hotel had an enormous atrium – better use of space would be to enlarge the rooms and make them more ergonomic. Sunday breakfast was complete chaos; it was clear that the staff couldn’t cope and had given up. Not impressed by burnt bacon, reconstitute scrambled egg, and salty sausage. Breakfast on Monday was a much different experience, as there were hardly any customers. and the breads and pastries were very good. The hotel had wonderful bikes for hire and access to the lovely 50m Harbour pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorriemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your guest review. Our rooms are between 20-25 square metres, which is normal compared to Danish standards. We recommend our guests to avoid rush hour in the breakfast restaurant, as Sunday mornings are always busy. However, we will pass on your comments to our restaurant and kitchen manager. We are glad that you had a positive experience in the restaurant on Monday morning.
Looking forward to seeing you again at your next visit to Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Copenhagen Island Hotel is located on the canal, literally. Our room was on the water side and we upgraded to a room with a balcony. Beautiful view. The food in the hotel restaurant/bar was excellent.Beds were comfortable and the housekeeping staff was quick and efficient.There are numerous sites to see within an easy walking distance. It is located right next to ah big shopping mall but is still a quiet, restful hotel. There are numerous restaurants close by too. Check in and out was easy and the front desk staff was very helpful. We stayed 2 weeks there and were happy the whole time,

Room Tip: Upgrade to a canal side room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you very, very much for giving us 5 points on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure reading you review of your hotel stay. We are glad that we could contribute to a nice vacation in Copenhagen and that you found our service satisfactory.
We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful new hotel in the heart of CpH. Really enjoyed the beautiful rooms, great view, and fine dining. It is really easy to get in and out of given the train station is 2 minutes away and the city center is less than 15 minutes by walk. The wifi is excellent and free! Always an underrated benefit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SureVit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for giving us 4 points! We are glad to read all your positive comments.
Thank you very mucc, looking forward to seeing you again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was a bit reluctant to stay in this rather new hotel in Copenhagen, located on Kalvebod Brygge about 30 minutes walk from the centre of town, as so many good hotels are found in the city centre. But I grew to like the hotel and the location very much. It has a beautiful location on the harbour with its inviting walks and activities, such as a seawater Olympic size pool just at the hotel. In the morning I had great jogs along the harbour and over the bicycle/walking bridge that connects to "the other side of the harbour" (Islands Brygge) just south of the hotel.
The modern designed room was small with limited clothing space, best suitable for a single person and a bit too tight for two, I think. It has a large flat-screen television and the bed is great with a cylindrical pillow that just gave my head the right support. The bathroom is modern and beautiful. There is a gorgeous view of the harbour, as mentioned before, from a floor to ceiling French balcony door. The breakfast restaurant is a bit inconveniently located from the second floor and down a few flight of stairs. The breakfast buffet is OK, but not outstanding. The service is also OK. but not outstanding either. Worst of all is the welcome to the hotel of 12 or so steep stairs on which you have to struggle up with your luggage without the help and welcome of a doorman. Have that changed, please. The location, however, is not bad at all, as there is a subway station a hundred meters or so from the hotel just one stop away from the central station. Furthermore, the hotel is next door to one of the largest and best shopping centres of Copenhagen (Fisketorvet) where you can get all of the Danish delights which you are looking for and find some quite good eating places too.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EagerBeaver_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your review and for giving us 4 points on Tripadvisor. Glad to read that you enjoyed your room and the surroundings of the hotel. You stayed in an executive room with a lovely harbour view. We will definitely see if we can handle the luggage problem at the intrance door. Thank you for choosing us!
We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Yesterday i had kept my bags in the store of the hotel waiting for check in i came back after half an hour and i suprized that two bags of mine are lost or stolen and when i asked the front desk staff they said we do not know while they give me ticket with the number of bags i already kept moreover i asked the staff to check the camera which is located in the resption area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EA1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

It is really unfortunate that another group by mistake took your luggage and brought it to a cruise ship. We have spent time trying to locate your luggage and we are sending your suitcases to you. We would, however, like to emphasize that storing your luggage in a hotel is your own responsibility.Looking forward to seeing you again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews