We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with all things considered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pros: location, view (water side).
Cons: stairs at entrance of hotel; restaurant and front desk staff.

Great location for getting around and shopping. S-train station is just a 5-minute walk (Dybbolsbro station, 24 DKK ticket via machine) and the big Fisketorvet mall is right next door where you can pick up gifts, groceries and try a variety of buffet meals (from Thai to Italian) for 69 DKK and up. Request a room facing the water and enjoy an open-window view of the Inderhavn (patio style doors do open). Free wifi in room with fairly good speed.

Be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs at the front door. No door staff to help you. Breakfast, which is included in the rate, is a bit of a circus. I ate after 9 one morning and found slim pickings since the food was not replenished after large tour groups foraged through. The second morning was better at 8:30 but had to hunt around for a spoon and napkins. Staff seemed to have difficulty keeping up. Not too impressed with the front desk staff at check-out. Had to wait 8-10 minutes even though there were 4 agents at the desk (but only 2 helping 4 people in line). Be warned, the hotel does charge a credit card fee (1.25%) maybe for certain cards.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the inner harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldcanadageese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Copenhagen. We do recommend our guests to avoid rush hour in the breakfast restaurant. It seems that the reception was busy when you needed them. During the high season there are many guests who contact the reception with various questions and thus you may have to wait for some minutes.
You stayed in a room facing the harbour – you can always ask at the reception and buy and upgrade to our harbour-side rooms.
We hope to be able to accomodate you next time you are i Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 2,310 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel for location and value in Copenhagen.
I booked the hotel through Priceline -- suggesting my price -- $175 (w/Breakfast).
Room was well appointed and of stylish design.
The bed was somewhat soft and that is the only complain.
S-tog and bus stops were quite close to the hotel. Could walk to Central station/Tivoli area.
Hop-on-Hop-off boat station was just behind the hotel and as the Boat taxi was a short walk.

Room Tip: Search for the hotel in google.com or book through priceline. Relative to hotel prices in Copenhage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrasenjitB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for giving us 4 points on Tripadvisor. Thank you for all your positive comments. We could have helped you with a bed board, since you found the bed too soft.
We are glad to hear that you appciated the Island architecture.
We hope to see you here anothertime
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

On hotel's brochure praises about the architecture of the building and design. It's agreeable that the hotel looks nice (if someone likes all steel and glass). The view from premium rooms outlooking the canal is very nice, however if you're unlucky to get a room out looking the city you may forget about quiet. The noise from the street is very distracting.
All interiors of the hotel are designed to look impressive and nice rather than being functional. The service is polite, but in my opinion fails to make you feel welcome. Breakfasts are in the restaurant which is, again, beautiful but not funcional. There are long queues forming to the buffet, food is reasonable, but beware of scrambled eggs - it never saw a real egg in it's existance.
As some mention this hotel is lacking the soul and coziness which may be found in other compenhagen hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review on your hotel stay. It seems that you were somewhat disappointed in our design and breakfast selection. We are a modern designed hotel and most of our guests appreciate the style of our hotel. Regarding the queues in the breakfast restaurant, we recommend our guests to stay out of the “rush hour” in the restaurant as we are aware of the situation, whene we accomodate many guests.
If you want to be sure to have a more quiet room, we always recommend our rooms with harbour view.
We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here while on business and the hotel was very good. The rooms were adequate, clean, quiet and modern. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and the hotel is right next door to a big shopping mall which we discovered after 2 days. The concierge team were very young, but they were excellent. Good advice on everything from weather, bike hire, restaurants, you name it, they never slipped up once.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da_griswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for giving us 4 points on Tripadvisor and thank you for choosing us as your hotel.
Your review is very positive and it is a pleasure to read, especially your comment on our service level.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are staying here for 2 nights during the summer season. At reservation directly at the hotels website i asked for double bed. When arriving, we entered a room with single beds. I asked the reception for a double-bed room. But had to pay for an upgrade since there were no double-standards left. I am fully aware that hotels do not guarantee guest wishes but i have experienced situations like this at other hotels, but have allways got the upgrade for free.

Rooms are neat and cleaned very nicely. We asked for a bucket of ice and it was delivered to the room at a glance. Very friendly staff.

Breakfast is standard european hotel buffet, but nothing special.

Plusses :
Location and view to the harbour.
Nice rooms.
Modern design.
Friendly staff.
Big in room TV screen.

Minusses:
No in-room safety box.
Breakfast buffet.
Can be hard to find hotel parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. It is correct that we do not guarantee double beds in advance. You bought an upgrade to a slightly bigger room with harbour view and thus got the double bed you wished. Our rooms with harbour view cost a little more than our standard rooms.
We are glad that you found our staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here during a 3 night stay in Copenhagen. The hotel is modern with a beautiful, spacious lobby. There is a mall and cinema next door. There is a water taxi service close by along with the train station and bus stop. There is also a charging station for EVs located less than a block away. The town center is about 15 minutes walking distance making it well located. The hotel also rents bikes. Lemon water is made available to all in the lobby.

Check in was smooth. Staff was very helpful with stellar English. Water is available to all in the lobby. We stayed in room 1025. I did not hear either neighbor, the rooms were so quite. Our room was small but adequate. A great addition was a mini-fridge. Bathroom was well supplied. I was amazed at how fast hot water was made available, almost instantly. The bedding was very comfortable as well. Housekeeping respected our “Do Not Disturb” sign but left us a bag of fresh linens hanging from the door knob. We did eat at the hotel’s restaurant for dinner one evening and found the pork delicious. The breakfast buffet was adequate with fruit, bacon, cereals, breads, and “powdered” scrambled eggs.

Other than the eggs the only other downside is the temperature. I assume there is no AC. The room was hot in spite of both windows being open. It would have been okay but there was no breeze blowing in either. It actually felt muggy. My small travel fan stopped working so I had no choice but to sweat. Regardless, I would stay here again in a cooler month due to location and service.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review and for choosing us as your destination. We are very glad to read that you found hotel and service satisfactory. The summer in Denmark has been much warmer than usual and thus it has been a bit difficult for our AC to cool the rooms sufficiently. You hope to se you here again in a cooler month.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is quite easy to find, 5 min walk from dybbølsbro station. Quiet location next to the harbor and 2 min from a large shopping mall. The staff were efficient, although they were not very talkative (but that’s very common in Denmark). Overall the hotel was good value for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Springbok99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for giving us 4 points on Tripadvisor and thank you for staying with us during your stay in Copenhagen.
We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,279 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,103 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $136 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copenhagen Island, a modern and stylish hotel with 326 rooms, is located in the pulsating neighbourhood Vesterbro. It lies right on the waterfront, offering excellent views of either Copenhagen’s harbour or across the city’s roofs and towers. The entire area around the hotel is buzzing with life and especially Islands Brygge and Kødbyen are well worth a visit when you’re staying in Copenhagen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing