We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Arrived mid morning,friendly receptionist arranged for room to be ready within the hour. Reception staff very helpful throughout the stay. The harbour view room with balcony was modern in design as is the hotel and was comfortable in size for the two of us.it was serviced regularly to very high standard.
BREAKFAST Was average but this probably reflected the multicultural client attendees. The restaurant for a la carte dinner was disappointing given a very limited menu selection. But to compensate there are a selection of restaurants close by.
A walk inti the centre of Copenhagen is about 40mins.However the hop on hop off boat moors opposite the hotel is opposite the hotel. And the local metro station is nearby. a most enjoyable stay in a friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback from your last stay. I always appreciate to hear from our guests and I am happy to realize that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon at Copenhagen Island.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    988
    333
    90
    41
See reviews for
257
869
108
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

the hotel is idealy situated near the main road and not far from the city center.
The receptionists were very nice and helpful. The room was clean, nice, and we took a room with a balcony and a sea view wich was very enjoyable. The bed was a little bit too soft for my taste but I will recommand this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review on your hotel stay. We are glad to see that you enoyed your stay with us. You stayed in an executive room with harbour view and balcony. This is one of our best room categories. If you will come back to Copenhagen, we hope to be your choice of hotel again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excelent design, nice quite area, near a shopping mall where you find diferent eating options, 15 minutes walking distance from central station or else there is a bus stop 2 minutes walking, bus 11a that goes to Main attractions, in front also there is the water taxi service . Excelent breakfast.
We enjoyed this hotel very much, in fact we add one moré night, very friendly staff.
We stayed before our cruise and where worried about location, but after the cruise we Came back, we prefered not a noisy crowded area, and felt really nice to get to a nice stylish modern room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
First of all; thank you very, very much for giving us 5 points on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for booking one extra night with us and for all your positive comments.
We hope to welcome you back if you decide to go to Copenhagen again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here three nights. It was a great stay - the bed was comfortable, the WiFi was fast, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms and common areas are clean and relatively well-maintained We found the restaurant to be a bit pricey but most of the restaurants in Copenhagen are priced pretty high. The hotel is a bit out of town. We enjoyed our walk each morning into town along the boardwalk (about 20 minutes) and if you don't want to walk, there are bikes available to rent from the hotel. If you want a hotel that is very central to the sights/restaurants, this may not be the perfect location, but if you don't mind walking or riding a bit, this is a great choice for a stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on your stay with us. We are very pleased to read from your review that you enjoyed your room and the service from our staff. It is easy to get around in Copenhagen by bike and you can always rent bikes here.
We hope to welcome you back some day.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here 1 night before a cruise. It was out of town. About a 15 minute walk from the train station and about 30-45 minutes into sights in town. We love to walk around towns so we did not mind the distance but beware if you are short on time or not up for long walks. If we went again we would probably stay closer in town for the convenience. Overall the hotel was great. Nice clean room, nice breakfast, nice view of the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Copenhagen Island Hotel is situated slightly away from the city centre of Copenhagen. Distance to the nearest s-train station is 250 metres and the nearest bus no 11A is only 100 metres away.
We are glad to read hat you liked our hotel. You are most welcome to visit us again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We think this is a nice modern design hotel. Staff is very friendly, the hotel looks new and pleasant. Rooms are not big, but very handily designed so you have no problems with luggage and the rooms are a pleasure to the eye. Hygiene was fine.

The location has beautiful views over Copenhagen harbour, the higher floor the better (for the best views: ask for rooms in the wing above the bar/breakfast room; not the other part of the hotel).
It is somewhat apart from the city center so it really is worthwhile to rent some of the excellent bikes (DK 125 a day, 15 euros), they have more than enough so making a reservation is not neccessary.

Breakfast is okay, but deserves a bit criticism: not much variation in the hot food/muesli/bread areas (we stayed three days), all the juices are water-added, no fresh orange juice. And the maddening small paper napkings are unsufficient wehen eat fresh fruit :-). Breakfast can also be VERY busy, so we were happy to get our breakfast earlier (0730-0800) to stay out of the (asian) crowds. Hotel staff advise you so.
All in all: very much recommended for business of tourist travelers!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on your hotel stay. Thank you for giving us 4 out of 5 points! We are very happy to read that you like your room and the service from our staff. It is an excellent choice to see Copenhagen by bike and it is easy to get around. As for breakfast we will discuss the issues you pointed out with the restaurant manager. We do recommend our guests to avoid "rush hour" in the restaurant during the high season.
If you decide to visit Copenhagen again, you are always welcome to stay here.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing