We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Golf del Sur, Spain
Level Contributor
187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“nice stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we have just spent a week here and were lucky enough to have, I think, the best suite available at the very top corner with balcony which had fantastic views.
The room, as with the whole hotel, is very modern and still has a 'new' feel about it.
If I had any complaints they would be ones already mentioned on other reviews - bedroom curtains are impossible (I broke one while trying to open it) and wardrobe not really big enough for two.
Food very good, breakfast was excellent except for the orange juice, if you can call it that and the coffee was poor, often only warm as it is left on the tables in flasks for guest after guest until empty, something I have ever seen in a hotel before and I hope not to again ....
Only other negative things I can think of were that the hotel is a bit out the way, so a taxi was necessary to the city center @ £10 each way and lastly, the mountain of ten steps you face to enter the hotel & if there is a bellboy, he wasn't seen at any point .....

Room Tip: Room 5578 is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvf906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,027
    348
    93
    44
See reviews for
266
924
112
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As you would expect in this city, it's pricey, but exceptionally clean with a good gym. I had a room that overlooked the water and that was really nice, especially after a long day at work.

The rooms are rather small, but the great breakfast buffet makes up for it. TIP: Oh and they don't check your hotel room number when going for breakfast (or they didn't during my time there), but when I checked out they asked me what I had. I said some cereal and a glass of water and they didn't charge me. My boss did the same ;-)

I only wish it was a little closer to the centre, or I'd go back in a flash.



Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLShankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hotel with a super breakfast buffet. Right next to a shopping centre with a food court.
Location in the water makes this a very unique hotel. The rooms on the back side have water views. Within walking distance to City Hall, Trivoli Gardens, the National Museum and other sites.
Located in a quiet part of town. Easy to access a bus if you do not care to walk. Free WIFI and a business room with many computers for personal use. Rooms typical size for a European hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maevans70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed her August 2010. The hotel itself was lovely. Very modern and cool. The room we had overlooked the water but was very small. Especially as we had our baby and a cot too. The bathroom was great.
We didn't have breakfast here but did have room service dinner one night.
The location, however, is poor. It was a long walk to the outskirts of the city. The location itself is nice enough and right next to a big shopping centre, but not great if you are sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt31Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice, stylish hotel. The beds were comfortable and we stayed in a room that over looked the sea. In the morning we ordered a continental breakfast that was fit for a king and queen!! About a $30 cab fare from the Port of Copenhagen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriapenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Luxurious rooms overlooking the water. Very comfortable beds. Silence is golden! Outstanding buffet breakfast in a lovely restaurant. Hire bikes from the hotel to easily get to and from the centre of Copenhagen/Christianshavn. Free wi-fi. Small gym with saunas on top floor with great view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for a steal on an opaque booking site for one night before leaving on a cruise out of Copenhagen. The hotel has a pervasive vibe of Danish design - everything looks new and trendy. The service at the front desk was quick and helpful - they were not able to check us in right away (we were very early), but held our bags until the room was ready. When we did get checked in, we were pleased with a fair sized room (especially for Europe), comfortable though smallish beds, a nice bathroom, and a pleasant view of the canal behind the hotel. The room was very clean, and the linens were crisp. The free wifi was also a welcome amenity. There were a few minor issues we noted with the room - some of the light fixtures were loose, one of the lightbulbs was out. No major issues. The biggest drawback to this hotel (which we knew going into it) was the location - it is next to a mall, but otherwise on the southern outskirts of the city. The most convenient public transportation is the Dybbolsbro S-tog stop, about a 1/3 to 1/2 mile walk from the lobby. Again, we didn't mind, but if you are hoping to be in the heart of the action this probably isn't the best hotel. Did not take away from our trip though - I would gladly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grvdggr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,265 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing