We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great room and great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We booked this hotel based mainly on price and a cursory read of the reviews. We were just looking for a clean place to sleep at night and a hot shower. I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel and would definitely recommend this hotel to others visiting Copenhagen.

This hotel looks fairly new and in great shape and has a clean modern design. Regrettably, we did not get a chance to explore the other parts of the hotel (business center and conference rooms), or try the restaurants or the gym.

The biggest negative I kept reading in the hotel reviews was the location of the hotel. Granted, it is not located in the city center but it is right next to a train station (Dybbølsbro station) and all the different train lines stop at this station. With regards to walking, I agree that it takes about 15 minutes to get to Tivoli or Central Station (København H) and about 20-25 minutes to get to Strøget but it is an easy walk (flat surface with no hills) and you see so much more of the city while exploring on foot. Where I come from, I rarely walk (as the city is not built for it) so I quite enjoyed all the fresh air and exercise I was getting in Copenhagen. We walked to and from our hotel to the city center at least 4-5 times at all times of the day and night and we enjoyed it each time. Copenhagen is a very safe city and easy to walk around in. Another alternative would be to rent bikes to get around.

The hotel is also beside the Fisketorvet shopping mall, which also has a theatre (CinemaxX) They have a Fotex inside the mall which I find is similar to a Wal-Mart here in North America where you can buy food and drinks and other amenities that you might need. There are also a couple restaurants in the mall where you can eat.

My only critique for the check-in/registration process is the stairs at the front of the hotel which makes it inconvenient to bring your luggage up. There is a small wheelchair elevator off to the side that could have been used to lift our luggage but there was no staff nearby to assist us. The employee who checked us in spoke excellent English and was lovely and helpful and offered us tips on what to see and do.

We paid more to have our room upgraded to the ‘superior double’ and thus, we got a water view. There isn’t much to see except another office building across the harbor but we definitely enjoyed the extra space in the room. There is complimentary wireless Internet which we loved.

The bathroom was clean and in good shape. It is quite roomy by European standards. The shower had hot water and good water pressure. The shower/tub only has a half glass door which I am not used to so I often made quite the mess after my shower.

There was a flat-screen TV with a couple English channels. It was strange that the TV was mounted off to the side so we both had to turn slightly to see the screen. I’m not sure why the TV wasn’t mounted right in front of the bed. This was not a big deal though.

Overall, it was a great room and a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It wasn’t until I got to Copenhagen that I found out that if you want to use a foreign credit card...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 22, 2011

Thank you very much for taking your time to submitting your comments. I like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind comments on my staff, housekeeping department and the hotel in general. As mentioned to another travellers on this website, there is a lot of transportation possibilities to the City Center, and as you point out several trains leaves fromt Dybbølsbro Station. Bus no 30 and 11 A - and in summer time- The Canal Tours leaves from the hotel to the city center.
Once agin I appreaciate your time, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,237)
There are newer reviews for Copenhagen Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

Is a very nice hotel, though kind of weird the 7 steps on the entrance.. not so friendly with big bags sorry I didnt ask if it has access for wheelchairs. Rooms are quite small but that is a Denmark trademark. The restaurant is very high gourmet cooking which is totally worth the money the charge. They have a really amazing fitness center with very complete cardio circuit and weight lifting plus a really nice sauna. Big downside is that is pretty far from the center, well like 15 minute walking to TIvoli and 20-25 to Stroget but if you like walking.. well you will like it.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have very little or none WiFi service.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yadys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 27, 2011

Thank you for the positive comments from your last stay. For you and other travelers information, I can inform you about the great transportation posibilities from the hotel. The Nearest S-train is Dybbølsbro -just across the bridge from the hotel, busses run from Fisketorvet shopping center adjacent to the hotel. The new CityCirkel no 11A runs from Kalvebod Brygge to the central station and the city center. As an alternative bikes can be rented at front desk. We are looking forward to seeind you again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed overnight at the Copenhagen Island Hotel after traveling from Sweden for the Gothia Cup youth soccer tournament. Not too impressive from the outside, looking somewhat like an office building near the harbor. Hotel is in an L-shape with the restaurant facing the harbor on the inner section. A large business center is on the 2nd floor off the lobby with several computers and printers. Rooms and bathrooms are compact, but up-to-date and modern. Room had a mini-bar but no room safe. A tiny balcony, not for standing but just looking out, opened up on the harbor. We did not find a hotel pool.

Hotel is a bit away from the city center, but we were able to walk to Tivoli Gardens, next to the central station, in about 15-mins. Hotel is also next to the Copencabana harbor baths/pool (closed when we were there, but probably convenient during the summer season) and the large Fisketorvet shopping mall. An overpass fronting the mall takes you to the nearby Dybbolsbro S-train station with the next stop at the central station and connections to the underground metro. On the platform, we found friendly representatives who helped with questions on use of the trains and metro for connections to the airport. This was in contrast to the hotel front-desk staff, who were standoff-ish and really not helpful with our questions. This left a disappointing taste with us, despite the nice, modern accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 27, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review Copenhagen Island. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad expirience with our front desk staff. I can assure you that this does not live up to our normal level of service and that we daily have many happy and satisfied guests within the hotel.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was Avery nice hotel, the only drawback is that is centrally located. The staff was super helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 26, 2011

Thank you very much for the positive feedback about my staff, we hope to see you here again in the future,
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

15 minutes walk from the main train station, but a very nice location by the waterfront.
Great rooms and bathrooms, and great breakfast buffet.
Nice and clean nearly new hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a little balcony overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FluffyEsbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 26, 2011

Thank you for submitting you review, I am happy to realize you enjoyed your stay here. For your information rooms with a balcony is our executive rooms -all facing the waterfront and with a small balcony.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Anne Louise Poulsen, Geenral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Beautiful boutique hotel. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to an "executive suite" which still seemed small to us - so I would imagine the regular rooms are very small. Lovely place, friendly staff, nice facilities. Breakfast was very expensive, but the food in the hotel is quite good. It's located a ways from city center (a long walk), but it is in a beautiful location on the harbor.

Room Tip: Ask to face the harbor.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our room was typically Scandinavian in decor, a smallish room, simple bathroom, small cupboard. The towels could have been bigger and more absorbent. We had lukewarm water for most of the stay. We did report it, but there was no improvement. The hotel staff all spoke excellent English and were very helpful about restaurants and other questions. The hotel is located a good 20 minutes fast walk from the city centre. It is in a quiet location, next to a smallish shopping centre which has a selection of ok restaurants. We opted for a pasta buffet restaurant one evening and it was good value for money. But I think for a touring couple, a hotel located closer to the city centre / central station may have been a better choice. After a long day of sight-seeing, we would have preferred not having the extra leg of getting from the city centre to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the water and it was a lovely view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetnNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,152 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
288 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,038 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $156 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copenhagen Island, a modern and stylish hotel with 326 rooms, is located in the pulsating neighbourhood Vesterbro. It lies right on the waterfront, offering excellent views of either Copenhagen’s harbour or across the city’s roofs and towers. The entire area around the hotel is buzzing with life and especially Islands Brygge and Kødbyen are well worth a visit when you’re staying in Copenhagen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing