We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location! Kind Host!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copenhagen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copenhagen International B&B
Ranked #1 of 42 Copenhagen B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I picked Copenhagen B & B because of the location and  lower cost compared to other hotels in the city.  Our space was a large, sunny 2-room suite on the third floor of a building located about a 10-minute walk from the Main Train Station.   Both rooms have beds so it would be perfect for a family--we enjoyed the additional space.   It was convenient to have  a refrigerator and teapot for boiling water for tea and coffee.  

We shared a bathroom with another couple.  As mentioned in other posts,  we used the family's shower but it was not a problem for us.  Before our arrival date, the owner e-mailed us to tell us about road construction work going on during our stay.  He kindly offered to to let us cancel--we appreciated knowing of the situation in advance.

The location on Vester Volgade a few blocks from the train station, Stroget Street, and Tivoli Gardens was perfect.  Rosenborg Castle was a short walk away as was Atlas Bar where we ate an excellent meal.

We appreciated the excellent Internet speed, the clean rooms, comfy bed and the kindness of our host. 

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Marsle,
Thank you for you have stayed with us, and thank you for you have taken your time to write the review, and not least for your kind words.
Please remember that we always have a special offer for the guests visiting Copenhagen for the second time.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Copenhagen International B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

The B&B's owner is not a professional manager and unfortunately, it shows. I usually like staying in guesthouses but this was not a good experience

1. The B&B is suppose to open at 2pm (or whatever time was written on the confirmation) but instead I waited for 45 minutes until his neighbor invites me to leave my suitcase in his flat. The owner does not apologize and refused to take responsibility. Apparently, it's my fault for assuming that 2pm means 2pm. I called the telephone number while waiting but of course, no one answered. Perhaps they should put their mobile number if they will be out and about.

2. They have a booklet of rules- such as limiting showers to 10 minutes and not rolling your suitcase on their floors. I have never seen a list this long at a hotel. They even cite examples of guests who had the nerve to take showers that are too long. It's worse than living with your parents. I don't take long baths myself but why shouldn't guests be allowed to spend 25 minutes in the shower if they wish to at night? Maybe they should make the rules available before you book so guests can decide if they can pass the bar before they book

About a week later, the owner apologizes to my friend by email over the incident (when he refused to apologize for not being there when the B&B was suppose to be open) but it's too late since he had already ruined my time in Copenhagen. If I had been travelling alone, I would have left without staying one night in that place.

3. The family's children also wake up in the morning and run around so if you like to sleep in, this might not be possible. We had full schedules so it was not a problem but it might be for others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank read_before_you_book
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip_the_owner, Owner at Copenhagen International B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, but it is unfortunately not telling the whole story.

1. You did not book with us. Your friends made the booking, and you joined them afterwords. You wanted to check in separately from them, and did so without informing us.

2. If you made a reservation with us, you would have seen that there is required info about your expected check-in time. We are a small B&B, and do not have reception open all day. It means that you cannot show up unannounced, and get angry because we are not open.

3. It is your own responsibility to schedule your day. If something does not work, then, it is not our responsibility.

4. We have fewer rules than anywhere else in accommodation world. If you go to a camp site, you find rules. In a hostel, you find rules, in a hotel, or even if you rent a whole apartment for your self, you find rules. We have much FEWER rules than anywhere else.

5. Our rules are in fact reminders for those who are not able to think about the others, showing consideration. Shared facilities require respect for the others. So do NOT expect 25 minutes showering. If those sort of recreational facilities are important to you, you should have been taken another accommodation option than a B&B.

6. We are a family B&B: run by a family, offered to families with or without children, and family minded people.

7. You were offered to cancel your reservation free of charge but you have decided to stay with us.

9. Thank you for your 5 star rating for our cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great chance we found this place for this price right in the centre. My wife and I decided a last minute city break and the destination was Copenhagen. The train is still the best option for travelling between Hamburg and Copenhagen. Less than 10 minutes walk from the central train station we arrived at the B&B. The space is the first thing to notice. Very high walls up to ceiling was creating a light atmosphere. This was very likely to be the largest compare to the B&B's or private zimmer we stayed in other European cities. Of course there may be some larger places but we did dot see them yet. We stayed during the week, so there was no breakfast but it did not matter at all. There are 2-3 bakeries around and also a supermarket right on the other side of the street. We could make our tea in the room (organic) and keep the stuff in the fridge. I used to compare staying in a B&B to a 3-stars hotel. After staying here, I think I will consider comparing it with 4 star hotel. I mean we decided staying here because the price was less than a 3 star hotel. But I may be considering staying in this B&B again or a place like this, if the price is only less than a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manfred_W34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip_the_owner, Owner at Copenhagen International B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for you have taken your time to write a review.
We believe that it is the guests that make the difference.
Thank you for you have stayed with us.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were three friends and we spent a very nice week end in Copenhaguen in particular thanks to the situation of the B&B: we visited all the city by foot. Very good idea to put a kettle in the bedroom so as to be able to have breakfast. Very clean. Very

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Auroremel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Upon many good reviews, we, 4 students, have decided to stay in this B&B as there was almost no difference to staying in a hostel. Our decision was not a mistake. We paid appx. DKK 210 per person per night. Breakfast was not included and that is served only on the weekends and in holidays. Across the street there is a small supermarket where you can even buy fresh baked bread. We stayed in 2 rooms suite which is two connected double rooms with lots of space. B&B is located in a quite old building, more than 100 something years old. The rooms are facing the street, and there is a view of nice old buildings. Our option number 2 was staying in a hostel, and saving a few more $$$ but we had more privacy in the B&B, staying in the middle of the city and sleeping in large and comfortable beds were the extras. We got much help from our host Anne-Mett in planning our daily trips, we managed most of them just by walking. Good place, and good value for money... NB: Let the owners know your arrival time in advance especially if you are arriving late in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zingairin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Our family of four (two adults, a 9 year old and a 4 year old) stayed with Phillip and Anne for four nights midweek late in very chilly and somewhat rainy October. It was great - and what a contrast from the cold outside! The welcome and the rooms were lovely and warm. Phillip and Anne do really seem to go out of their way to make you feel as comfortable as possible being guests in their home. The space was impeccably clean and large enough that even when people were feeling particularly fractious (it happens) or wanted to play there was plenty of room to indulge without getting under each other's feet. (Not something you can say about your average hotel room.) We fetched breakfast every morning from the fantastic bakery round the corner to eat in our rooms, supplemented by the tea and coffee provided. From our perspective the shared bathroom and the fact that we were literally sharing parts of Phillip and Anne's home (factors that other reviewers have mentioned) was not really a problem - but then, we were on holiday and were prepared to relax and go with the flow. And, frankly, any minor inconvenience was more than made up for by the fact that it's comparably very affordable place to stay in a FANTASTIC location - very central, with lots of things to do and some very good eating places within walking distance and close to the major transportation hubs so that excursions to more far flung places is very straight-forward. For a family like ours, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip_the_owner, Owner at Copenhagen International B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

We are more or less the same hosts, and offer more or less the same service in the same facilities. So, it must be the guests that make difference. Thank you for you have stayed with us, and thank you for your feedack. Best regards from Copenhagen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed 3 nights in late November/early December 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The bed was comfortable, the room spacious and spotlessly clean, and there was a fridge, crockery, cutlery and an electric kettle for 'at home' light meals. Phillip and Anne are accomodating hosts and while you do share a bathroom with the family they make it as easy for you as possible. Phillip went to pains to explain not to be anxious about coming through the family part of the house to the bathroom. Remember: it is a B&B, NOT a hotel. It is rather like staying in a friend's home and calls for the same type of consideration of others especially in regards to noise and use of the bathroom. This is not the place to stay if you will be making a lot of noise at all hours of the night. Only thing I rather wished? That I could have heard them play the beautiful musical instruments that are in the lounge area!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip_the_owner, Owner at Copenhagen International B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

We are more or less the same hosts, and offer more or less the same service in the same facilities. So, it must be the guests that make difference. Thank you for you have stayed with us, and thank you for your feedack. Best regards from Copenhagen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
290 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,478 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen International B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen International B&B

Address: Vester Voldgade 1 | 3rd floor, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Copenhagen
Price Range: $77 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly downtown B&B that is located in Copenhagen city center, next to City Hall Square, Tivoli and many attractions of downtown. Copenhagen International B&B offers more than what you need in basic accommodation. Our rooms are probably the largest rooms you can get for your money in Copenhagen city center. We require a minimum stay of 3 nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copenhagen International Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen International Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing