We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Copenhagen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Copenhagen”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel has good connection with public transport, however a bit outside. There are many nice restaurants and cafes in the area. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the lobby bar. Breakfast is also very good.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms is in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimkann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear jimkann

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable, and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

Wishing you all the ebst for 2013.

Nikolas HALL - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    323
    93
    28
    9
See reviews for
55
482
55
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Highly recommended. This is a lovely hotel- warm and welcoming in December gray though clearly the garden and breakfast room are even more lovely in the warm seasons.
The service is excellent: thoughtful and generous hospitality. The rooms are beautifully appointed. We did not have the breakfast but it looked as superb as it is reported to be. I look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto their lovely courtyard- it was quiet and lovely-- The street side may be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear CMaineNY

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to conclude that we contributed to a wonderful trip to Copenhagen. Thanks for staying with us, and I wish you a happy & prosperous 2013.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our wonderful experience in Copenhagen really started at check in with a fantastic warm and friendly welcome to the hotel. All of the staff were so polite and friendly as we found everyone to be in Copenhagen. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the vibe is relaxed and chilled with comfort and sustainability at its centre. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The location is about 30mins from Tivoli etc. but there is a bus stop right outside if you don't fancy the walk. However, the hotel is in a great area and there are some fantastic bars and restaurants on the doorstep to soak up the Danish 'Hygge'. The breakfast is excellent quality but be wary-they put the homemade unbelievably creamy vanilla yogurt right at the front, knowing you will become hooked and have to return to the hotel for more-clever. We loved Copenhagen and the relaxed professionalism of Nickolas and the team was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: We went for the street view room which i think was the cheapest option, but it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAMIAN1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear DAMIAN1071

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

You have discovered a number of our trade secrets that entail that we have such high levels of repeat business - both corporate and leisure.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed Copenhagen, and our hospitality, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Wishing you and yours all the best for the upcoming festive season.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at Bertram's for three nights - it met and exceeded my expectations. Copenhagen is such a gorgeous city to explore on foot. The hotel was the perfect base and within easy walking distance to everything, with lots of cute cafes close by (granola was great for breakfast!). The room was quiet, tastefully decorated, beds super comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure, loved the bath products and hair dryer came in handy - can't really ask for much more. The owner and other staff were extremely hospitable and welcoming - would highly recommend the hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyJaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear CathyJaneB

I really appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

It pleased both myself and my staff to read your positive comments, and we do hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again.

All the best for this joyous time of the year.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We struggled to find somewhere we wanted to stay in Copenhagen but settled on this place. Like everything in the city, it's not cheap. On the plus side, it's clean, nicely furnished, and the breakfast is decent. On the negative, the room was small, the room information is limited, and the bathroom sink was tiny. We also asked for recommendations for a bar and a restaurant, and each of them was dreadful. The bar recommendation in particular was bizarre, they directed us to a dump with YMCA banging out on the stereo, when there was a really nice bar directly opposite, much more likely to appeal to the type of people staying at the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear CCP1967

I much appreciate the time that you have taken to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read that you found most aspects of your stay pleasant.

One of the great difficulties in this industry is to be able to recommend solutions that meet each clients taste. Yes we can get it wrong, but it can also be difficult to judge if a client does not fully express what it is they seek.... all to often we get requests for something "nice" - which is rather unspecific. On the other hand we do get quite a number of positive responses for our recommendations. It is also helpful to do a bit of research prior to travel to attempt to locate establishments that meet your requirements and taste.

The period of your visit was also mared by the fact that Copenhagen was fully booked and office Christmas parties were in full swing, entailing great difficulties in finding space at restaurants.

I hope that your trip to Copenhagen was otherwise pleasant, and would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for the upcoming holiday season.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Clearly, when the owner of the hotel greets you upon arrival and takes care of EVERY little detail to make your stay the best - then you know you are in the right place.

This hotel has hygge. Warm, inviting lobby. Abundant and delicious breakfast. Comfortable bedding. Luxurious shampoo/conditioner/body lotion in room. A total winner.

Be forewarned: the vibe here is chill,comfort and ease. if you are the type of traveler who needs "white gloved" service - seek lodgings elsewhere. My husband likened this hotel to the type he stayed in as a child in Europe in the 1950/60s: gracious hosts, clean rooms and convenient to city center.

This was my third visit to Copenhagen this year. Each time a different lodging. As we have established a relationship with a Danish firm and will be returning to Copenhagen a few times each year, we will be staying here going forward.

The owner was simply the best host I have experienced in all my travels. Gracious, humorous, caring and full of solid, local advise. This is not just a job for Nicolas - it is his passion and it shows!

A complete pleasure.

Room Tip: If you are not a city dweller, then the street side rooms are not for you. We are lifelong NYCers an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riggingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear riggingdiva

I much appreciate the time you have utilized to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Your compliments to my staff and myself are overwhelming, but do reflect the dedication we put in to running the Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden.

Once again, thank you, and wishing you all the best for the upcoming festive season.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want the doorman and the stuffiness, this isn't the hotel for you. If you want beauty, comfort, ease, genuine hospitality, delicious breakfasts, and a sense of equanimity and calm as perfect as Copenhagen itself, this lovely hotel is for you. We stayed a week. The location was ideal, the room comfortable and well designed, and all the details were simply, tastefully, creatively beautiful. The one drawback was an elevator, tiny, that only stopped at the half-floors, but if accessibility is not an issue, this small hotel is exactly what you want from a small hotel. Its amenities are less about luxury than about making you feel, instantly, part of this incomparably modest, welcoming, charming city. We loved it and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the garden and the courtyard, not the street. Quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Cathy D

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that we contributed to a pleasant stay in Copenhagen.

Thanking you once again.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
261 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,297 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,933 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Property: Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Outer Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#5 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams is Guldsmeden Hotels' smallest and most intimate Copenhagen hotel, and the fortyseven beautiful rooms and lovely secluded courtyard are an oasis in a quiet area of Vesterbro. Our philosophy is simple: create a home not a hotel. Make our home a place all would want to live in - even if just for a weekend - in the heart of one of Copenhagen's most vibrant boroughs - Vesterbro. Stylish and relaxed, Bertrams Guldsmeden welcomes guests to a whole new Copenhagen experience, combining art and leisure in an intimate residential atmosphere. Built in the late 1800's our design, decor and amenities are steeped in signature Balinese-inspired roots featuring a soothing spirit that is warm, distinctive and inviting. All products, furnishings and services are organic and/or fair-trade. Our only forty seven guest rooms are set in well-appointed, intimate surroundings with details that are discovered in unexpected places. Our spirit is rooted in the true essence of friendly, traditional service. Located within a short distance to the center of Copenhagen, our guests benefit from simple access to outdoor bliss, shopping, dining, sightseeing and nightlife and the ability to return to a warm whimsical oasis. Families with children will be better served at the other Guldsmeden Hotels properties in Copenhagen, where extra beds and appropriate services are offered. We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing