We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stay - quirky and full of personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A very good stay - quirky and full of personality”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The very quirky and friendly Bertrams has a lot going for it, it perhaps lacks the location element and the breakfast itself isn’t a bargain (but it’s optional). Worth paying a few more DKK to get an upgraded room, some of the rooms at the back (overlooking the courtyard) have small balconies and that’s an added bonus - your own outdoor space. The contemporary Balinese style rooms are very neat, although we would have preferred a good shower rather than a trendy bath positioned in an awkward corner. All things said the place has a personality of its own, a beautiful courtyard and blends old and new in a very clever way, loved the quirkiness of the place and the fantastic staff that make you feel very welcome. Definitely I will come back to this hotel, trendy, eclectic and albeit not in the city center as such, it is an excellent choice to stay in Copenhagen. The owner and staff made us feel at home and that in the hospitality industry can be a rare treasure.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the courtyard with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Adventure365

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

I am pleased to ready that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you appreciate that our style of operation is different, but based on the core values of hospitality.

It also pleases me to read that our location was not a challenge for you.

I will convey your positive remarks to my staff.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    323
    93
    28
    9
See reviews for
55
482
55
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Room was small, clean but homey. Neighborhood was not the greatest. Most things were a good distance from the hotel. Number of small hotels in the area. Not any concerns as far as safety. Area outside of the room was noisy with the windows open. No air conditioning. Staff was helpful in directing us to restaurants and sights. Food was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budfoluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear budfoluse

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you in general enjoyed your stay with us.

I have in previous reviews commented on our location, and will refrain from doing so again.

Just a quick comment with regards to airconditioning. The excessive consumption of electricity by using air-conditioning does not harmonize with our overall organic & sustainable strategies and profile - and it is NOT needed with the mild scandinavian summers.

Hope that you otherwise enjoyed Copenhagen.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was a nice hotel but one that was a bit farther from the central downtown location than on hindsight what was not right for us given we only had one day / night in Stockholm. While it was an easy 30 minute walk into downtown, the walk isn't all the interesting from our perspective until you hit Tivoli Garden. If you are looking for a bit of a boutique style hotel a 30 minute walk to the main sights, then this would be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michealangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Michealangelo

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Your positive comments are appreciated.

Again I would like to point out that our location - clearly visible to all who book - is just over 1 kilometer from Copenhagen City Hall. I have on previous reviews commented on this distance and Copenhagen`s attractions.

The bus route 6A stops at our front door, and 3 stops later is at the central station, a mere 200 meters from City Hall square.

I hope that future reviewers and guests will take the time contemplate if our location is a challenge with regards to their plans during their stay in Copenhagen.

Hope that your 24 hours in Copenhagen (Stockholm ?) was otherwise fruitful.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our visit was mixing business with vacation. The Vesterbro location was convenient for the business portion of the visit, and the neighborhood around the hotel has an eclectic mix of shops and restaurants, including a nice French place (Trois Cochons). However, it is a generally pleasant but long (~1 mile) walk to tourist attractions in central Copenhagen (such as the Tivoli Gardens) and about the same in the opposite direction to attractions near Frederiksberg. We were told regular bus service along Vesterbrograd was available but we did not attempt to use it.

Our room, at the back part of the hotel, was clean and quiet but very small. A tall male could not sit up in the twin bed closest to the window without hitting his on the slanted ceiling. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. A very nice breakfast with assorted breads, cheeses, and sausages was included.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear R O

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you satisfied with the restaurant choice in the vicinity, contrary to what the previous reviewer states.

Our location with regards to sights & tourist spots in Copenhagen is fixed and I have previously commented on this in other reviews.

Our rooms are not the largest that can be found in the industry - nor are they the smallest. The physical layout of the rooms and the property are not something that will be changed in the immediate future - the current financial climate taken into account.

Again - thank you for posting your feedback, and I hope you had a safe journey home.

Nikolas HALL - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms are not my cup of tea. Clean but small and very rustic. I did not find it charming. Also I beg to differ on the neighborhood. It is run down with many Pakistani and middle eastern restaurants. The staff was at best average. The elevator did not work when we were checking out at 7 am and the door of the elevator was jammed and as I had no time to go down for them to fix it, we had to carry our suitcases 5 levels down. Our daughters bathroom and only a a bathtub without a curtain so she used our room for bathing. Our bathroom was minuscule and the shower stall had no place to put shower products or a soap dish. The shower curtain did not even cover the shower stall and the toilet paper holder was so for McCormick the toilet that one had to reach quite a bit to get it. They had toilet products in large bottles,and no soap.
The best thing going for it is the bus stop which is right outside the hotel. But add a daily pass of 72 Kronos per daympermperson if you need to do any sightseeing

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pkctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear pkctravel

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

All feed back - positive as well as constructive criticism - is appreciated.

You draw other readers attention to a few facts that have already been highlighted on other reviews. Our distance to Copenhagen City Hall is slightly over a kilometer. The sights of Copenhagen are many, and should you have enquired, there is a considerable amount to be seen in the immediate vicinity.

Referring to our location as being in a - quote - run down neighborhood - is a matter of opinion. Vetsrebro is considered to be a vibrant and up and comming in Copenhagen. I will also distance myself from your comment regarding the restaurant choice in the area, and find this comment inappropriate - considering your own origin. Vesterbro offers a multitude of choices, including Michelin starred restaurants.

It is obvious that you had made the incorrect choice in staying with us, but this choice was one that you made. For future reference, I would suggest that you utilize more time in making your choices - the internet facilitates this - allowing you to find accommodation that better suites your needs.

I hope that your trip to Copenhagen was otherwise pleasant.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Fast and stable wifi connection in entire hotel. The owner and staffs were very friendly. The lift was very small. You must walk 20-25 minutes from Copenhagen central train station. Quiet, safe surroundings, and good restaurants available nearby. No tea/coffee facilities inside and the staff said the hotel don't supply for this.

Room Tip: If available please choose a higher floor with window view directly to the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi_Karlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear AndyBugis

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Your review is straight and to the point. I would however like to correct you slightly.

Indeed there are no tea or coffe facilities in the room - which is typical for Scandinavia - but tea & coffe are available for purchase in the lobby / lounge area.

I hope that your trip to Copenhagen was otherwise Pleasant, and would like to wish you a pleasant summer.

Nikolas HALL - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I had a 3-night stay mixing working and visiting Danish family members in a Superior Double Room in mid-July 2012. The location was very good for our needs, but those who are in CPH for the main tourist attractions may find a hotel closer to Rådhuspladsen more convenient.

The room was lovely, spacious and it had a small balcony, which was a fantastic amenity in the summer weather. We had a bathtub, but would have found a shower cabin more useful. The breakfast was just excellent! We needed to borrow the hotel bicycles daily; there could have been more of them available. Luckily, there are commercial bike rentals nearby and we had very kind and attentive service from the hotel staff.

The contemporary trend of designer boutique hotels has definitely developed the hotel atmospheres to the better. However, at Bertrams, we found the concept a tad artificial and as an end in itself. Who really needs lukewarm Voss water at his or her hotel room? The yukatas and the spa products, the breakfast, the chic interior and the service were more than enough.

Room Tip: Vesterbrogade is one of the main traffic veins of the Versterbro area. Choose a room on the garden s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Anni V

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

My staff and I are always appreciative of positive comments & constructive criticism.

I have noted your comment with regards to availability of bicycles. Due to limited space we only have 8 bicycles available. On sunny days demand is greater than the 8 bicycles we have - which are rented out on a first come first serve basis. As you rightly point out there are nearby alternatives.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed visiting family in Copenhagen, and your stay with us.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
261 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,297 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,933 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Property: Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Outer Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#5 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams is Guldsmeden Hotels' smallest and most intimate Copenhagen hotel, and the fortyseven beautiful rooms and lovely secluded courtyard are an oasis in a quiet area of Vesterbro. Our philosophy is simple: create a home not a hotel. Make our home a place all would want to live in - even if just for a weekend - in the heart of one of Copenhagen's most vibrant boroughs - Vesterbro. Stylish and relaxed, Bertrams Guldsmeden welcomes guests to a whole new Copenhagen experience, combining art and leisure in an intimate residential atmosphere. Built in the late 1800's our design, decor and amenities are steeped in signature Balinese-inspired roots featuring a soothing spirit that is warm, distinctive and inviting. All products, furnishings and services are organic and/or fair-trade. Our only forty seven guest rooms are set in well-appointed, intimate surroundings with details that are discovered in unexpected places. Our spirit is rooted in the true essence of friendly, traditional service. Located within a short distance to the center of Copenhagen, our guests benefit from simple access to outdoor bliss, shopping, dining, sightseeing and nightlife and the ability to return to a warm whimsical oasis. Families with children will be better served at the other Guldsmeden Hotels properties in Copenhagen, where extra beds and appropriate services are offered. We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing