We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoughtful service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #8 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thoughtful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Centrally located, very near to the train station, opp Tivoli Gdns, with a cafe downstairs that has an indie vibe (at least to us) and a breakfast offering that is quite a treat. The hotel seems to have thought through what guests would need so if you have arrived too early to check in, you have access to the storage room in the basement to leave your bags. They have tourist information prepared specially for the guests and if you need to go somewhere out of town, like we did to Elsinore, the receptionist is more than ready to help. The role of the hotel receptionist at this hotel is quite something. We saw a few receptionists at this hotel during our stay and I must say that the term does not do them justice. They handled everything, promptly and good sense.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Differentroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Differentroads,

Thank you for your kind words about our front office staff - it is a pleasure to read that you had such a good experience with them and us in general.

We always strive to be at our guests disposal and to offer the best service in all situations and we thank you for noticing our efforts.

Hopefully we will see you again at the Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    572
    170
    42
    19
See reviews for
152
543
137
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early June. As value for money I rate it well. It is very central right on the HC Andersen Boulevarde and most of the old city features are in easy walking distance. The Tivoli is about 500 metres away City Hall is closer. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable if a little older. That I think is by design and is in no way a negative. The best feature of the hotel is the staff as is the case so often. The room we had was small but it had everything we needed. It could get some noise from the road below but that was not a big problem. We are happy to recommend this hotel for its value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room........the hotel is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Terry C,

Thank you for your review and for sharing it with fellow travellers.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed our location and saw for yourself, that we are very close to everything the inner city has to offer. You are correct that we want to take our guests back into the atmosphere of the mid-modern century and as such the hotel reflects this in many cases. We are aware that being located in the city centre can be a little bit noisy at times, which is why we hope our double-glazed windows were of help in that aspect, as it seems to be the case. We of course have larger rooms at our disposal, that we hope we will be able to show you, if you decide to stay with us again, the next time you find yourself in Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The decor is not traditional, but that is not a complaint. It is what it is. They are going for a theme and they pull it off well.

We don't spend much actual time in hotels when we travel (sleep, shower, coffee) but if/when we return to Copenhagen, we'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Topheel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review - we appreciate it.

You could say that we have a lot of traditional Danish decor, actually. All of our furniture, textiles and artwork are mostly from the Danish mid-modern century - the golden age of Danish design, but thank you for your praise in us pulling it off well.

If you do return to Copenhagen, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the Alexandra Hotel. We found the reception staff very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. As we arrived early on a Saturday morning we new our room wouldn't be ready. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel and start exploring the city. Reception then sent us a text message when our room was ready.
Hotel is in a great location, close to Tivoli gardens, and central station. Room was ideal for our requirements and very comfortable.
Didn't have any meals at the hotel, so can't comment on the food. Did have a drink in the bar and found it very reasonable compared to other bars in the city. No hesitation in recommending this hotel

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Adrian T,

Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us.

It sounds like you had a good stay with us and that is of course a matter that is very important to us all at the Alexandra. It is great to hear that you made good use of our luggage room until the room was ready and that you liked our messaging system, for when the room is ready.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
266 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having just stayed here two nights, I can speak well of this hotel. My room was a single, but not that cramped. In terms of decor, not that exciting, but no complaints. The place does have a nice vibe about it with its designer lobby and artowkr in the hallways. The staff were most cordial, and Eden took care of my email request for early check in, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear EAZELIFF,

Thank you for a great review and for taking the time to share it with us.

We are happy to hear that you room was adequate for your stay and that you enjoyed our Danish design as well as artwork - even through you were not that excited about it. If you have any suggestions on how to improve, please do let us know.

Hopefully we will see you again in Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked this hotel to give us extra time in Copenhagen after the end of a cruise and overall were pleased. It's location is convenient - a 5 or 10 minute walk from most of the attractions in the city and the staff were excellent. They all spoke perfect English and couldn't have been more helpful. It makes a feature of showcasing some design pieces which won't be to everyone's taste and the room we were in comfortable but not large. We had a specifically asked for a bath and there was one, but it was tiny (as some continental baths are) and the reception staff took a while to find a plug that fitted. There was some noise at nights from the main road and the club a few doors down, but it didn't spoil our stay. Overall we were pleased with our stay and I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear GeoffStokes,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us - we appreciate your kind words.

We are of course aware of some the things you mention and it is a good idea to be informed and that expectations are clear.

As a hotel located in the vibrant city centre of Copenhagen, some noise from the streets or venues will sometimes be present, but as we have double-glazed windows in all of our rooms, most of the noise should be cancelled in many situations, when the windows are completely closed. Some of our rooms have smaller bathrooms, as the historic building that we are located in has to be preserved in both interior and exterior as much as possible and as such we are not able to extend the size of the bathrooms in some of our rooms. Our larger category rooms have larger bathrooms, of course.

We hope to see you again in Copenhagen and are thankful that you would recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel receptionists were always helpful and accomodating. Starting with having a room available for early check in after an early flight arrival so able to get a few hours sleep. Luggage storage for later departure. Room was lovely and the location was ideal for atrractions and transportation. Buses stop across street and close by we also took advantage of their voucher for restaurant instead of daily housekeeping. Our wi fi worked better in lobby then in room but was fine even enjoying complimentary glass of wine. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TOM0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear TOM0505,

Our thanks for your kind words and for your excellent review.

We are very happy that we could make your stay a pleasant one and that you were able to check-in early after a long journey - we know how important it is and always try our best to get our rooms ready as soon as possible.

Since the WiFi worked better in the lobby, we assume that it was a little unstable in your room, and we have already invested and installed extenders for the WiFi and the stability as well as range has been improved.

We hope to welcome you again at the Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing