We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #10 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“City break”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked this for a short break with our friends, it is easy to access via the railway station and near to Tivoli Gardens and the towen centre, the accommodation was good and clean with the added extra of contemporary Danish furniture,breakfast is via vouchers at the attached restaurant, and you are given the option of not having housekeeping on a daily basis which earns you extra vouchers for spending in the restaurant, the only down fall despite being told that one of the party is a wheelchair user there is not provision for getting up the three steps into the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back don't face onto the main road but they are all triple glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Jo J,

Thank you for your kind words - they are much appreciated.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel all around, judging from your review.

We are of course very sorry about the incident you mention and we hope that it did not cause you too much trouble - we hope that we were able to mitigate much of the inconvenience that you felt and that you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    602
    171
    43
    19
See reviews for
158
570
140
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very happy with the location, service and amenities. Would certainly stay again and would recommend to family and friends. Good WiFi service in the lobby but the signal did not reach our room. We agree with the eco policy and took advantage of it. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Preferably, get a room not overlooking HCA Blvd. Quiet with windows closed but we prefer open windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Martin M,

Thank you for your superb review and for sharing your experience with other travellers.

It is good to hear that overall you had a great stay and that you were very happy with us - that is one of the most important things that we try to achieve. In regards to the WiFi, we do understand that due to the nature of the building, that sometimes the WiFi is not as stable as it should be. We have therefore invested into new equipment some time ago, and it is running much more stable now, especially when it comes to range.

Hopefully you will consider staying with us again and experience it for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Loved it here. Room really modern and clean with funky 50s furniture.

Staff really helpful, friendly and cheerful, Lovely decor. Great location. Free wifi which you don't get often in the uk.

Genuinely one of the nicest hotels I've been in.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gibbonfunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Gibbonfunky,

Thank you for your excellent review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the Design concept of our hotel - it's always nice to hear that guests share our passion for that period. We decided a while ago, that we wanted to offer free WiFi for all of our guests - with technology moving so fast and mobile devices being a large part of our guests stay with us at the Alexandra, it was a logical choice.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again to Copenhagen and the Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel was small with a very friendly staff. Location made it an easy walk to everything. Price was good for how expensive everything is in the city. Our room was small but clean. It had a coffee maker and a jambox for listening to music from your iPhone. Great little cafe/bar attached. I would stay here again,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nortons49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear nortons49,

Thank you for your great review - we appreciate your kind words and that you took the time to write it.

Yes, Copenhagen is an expensive city, so we are glad to hear that you received a good price with us and that you thought the restaurant was great as well.

We hope to see you again at the Alexandra in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really nice hotel, with lovely retro rooms and design. Great location, right by Tivoli and Strøget. You could choose not to have your room cleaned, and get a voucher for the restaurant. A nice touch both for the environment and the guest. Breakfast was good, and the food in the restaurant really good. The only drawback was that it was really hot in our room, (our room faced the sidestreet, and the evening sun), but there was a fan you could connect. Lots of nice chairs and pictures everywhere, and friendly and helpful staff.Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiseglad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Reiseglad33,

Thank you for your great review - we are glad that you enjoyed our furniture and Design, as well as your room. We agree that it can get a little hot in the rooms, especially during the summer. As we are a green hotel, we have opted not to have any air-coniditioning in our rooms in regards to the environment, but we are glad that you found the fan in the room, which all of our rooms come equipped with. We also have large drapes that you can use to cover the windows while you are out - these are actually quite helpful in keeping some of the heat out of the room.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Alexandra, so that you can experience more of our furniture and Design concept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night befor a cruise ship tour. Location very good very close to the cityhall. Service great
But
Noisy, we faced the side street. On the second floor and it was very noisy. They warked in the street until after midnight and at 7 the main street started the trafic. All I say is with the window closed!
If you do not suffer from some noise - great place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaikidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Shaikidon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and your fellow travellers.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our staff was able to give you great service.

As we are located in the city centre of Copenhagen, unfortunately some noise - especially during weekends, cannot be avoided. We are of course very sorry to hear that you suffered under the noise and that our double-glazed windows were not able to reduce the noise to such a level, that you were comfortable with. We have a few rooms towards our courtyard, that you are more than welcome to request, if you decide to stay with us in the future and we are also happy to inform you that we will improving the standard of our windows in the near future, which hopefully will bring the sound dampening to an even better level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Love the room, so well designed so although not huge, you've plenty of space. Love the retro look and feel. Really comfy and clean. Love that if you don't change your towels you get a voucher for the Vietnamese restaurant wich adjoins the hotel. And it's fabulous food.

Great location, right at the end of Strøget by the Town Hall Square (Rådhusplads) and about 4 mins walk from the central station.

Can't fault, wouldn't want to. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Little warm so although wasn't on the street, as I had to open the window, the occasional revell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear LittleSwissLou,

Thank you for your excellent review and for your kind words.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and not being able to fault us is indeed high praise, that we are very appreciative of.

Hopefully we can welcome you to the Alexandra again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,821 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
203 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,059 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#15 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing