We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alexandra
Nearby Hotels
Phoenix Copenhagen(Copenhagen)
$203
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel SP34(Copenhagen)
$263
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen(Frederiksberg)(Great Value!)
$181
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Scandic Copenhagen(Copenhagen)
$258
$210
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kong Arthur(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
$249
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tivoli Hotel(Copenhagen)
$199
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Copenhagen Island Hotel(Copenhagen)
$222
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
$216
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
$230
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,387)
Filter reviews
1,387 results
Traveler rating
486
645
185
51
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
645
185
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdanish designvietnamese restaurantroom cleanedmid centuryfinn juhlstreet kitchenretro stylecomplimentary glass of winetivoli gardensdesigner furniturehonesty barbusy roadgreat designcentral stationstylish hotelstreet noisemain road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 1,387 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a warm welcome, could enjoy some coffee in the designer chairs when we arrived, rented some bikes for a trip around town in the afternoon and had a carefully assembled room. The staff was also very helpful and directed us to nice bars and restaurants. I would come back here any day.

Room Tip: Ask to see different rooms upon arrival.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kern206 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Dear kern206 .

Thank you for your great review and kind words - we are very happy to hear that we were able to make your stay a good one and hope to see you again in Copenhagen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Hotel was adequate for our needs, which we booked with a RatesToGo discount. As we all know, Copenhagen is quite expensive. The 24-hour reception was appreciated, as we didn't arrive until late in the evening & had a few late nights. The bathroom was a little small, however the room itself was sufficient for a couple (but no bar fridge). The location is good (easy walking distance from the main train station) and we recommend hiring the Hotel's bikes, as this is the 'native' way of exploring Copenhagen. A canal cruise is a must when visiting Copenhagen.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Peta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Dear Peta G,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had with us.

Copenhagen can indeed be an expensive city and we are glad that you found our rates to be competitive.

We are quite aware that our bathrooms in some rooms can be on the smaller side, but this is mainly due to the fact that we are located in a historic building, and we would not dare to change the ambience and feeling of the original halls and placements of the walls.

Good to hear that you decide to explore Copenhagen on our bikes - it is really one of the best ways to see and get around in the city.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a small charming hotel in a good location, very close to Tivoli Gardens and the main train station. Although it is on a busy road we did not hear traffic noise. The hotel is interesting with the focus on furniture by well known Danish Designers. The room was small but well laid out and very clean. I found the staff generous with their advice, as well as very welcoming as are the Danish people in general. You can walk to many locations of interest. There is also a small restaurant next door for breakfast as well as other meals and coffee. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Lesley
Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: Ask for larger room if important to you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Dear Lesley,

Thank you for your stellar review - it is much appreciated.

Being located in the city centre most certainly has its benefits - we are happy to hear that you took to the streets on foot and explored the city, as many Danes also choose to do. The noise is of course unavoidable in some instances, as we are in the city centre, but it is good to hear that our double-glazed windows were able to cancel out the traffic noise.

If you ever find yourself back in Copenhagen, we would of course be more than happy to welcome you to the Alexandra again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Alexandra for 2 night, and where really happy with the experience. My husband and myself traveled with our 8 month old son. And even the hotel wasn't necessary a family hotel (areas for kids to kick about) with worked out perfectly. We requested a cot and a quite area in the hotel and everything was there on arrival.
As the location was close to train station arriving and depart was no problems.
We would defiantly stay again and recommend to family and friends. And i do love that the hotel wasn't a large one (60 ish rooms) you just feel like you get a more personal experience.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel are on a busy street, but we where staying in a room on the side of the hotel, and as windows had some anti noise system we didn't hear a thing of the traffic!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Dear caroline l,

Thank you for your kind words - we appreciate that you took the time to write them.

As a smaller hotel, which you also mention, we do not have that many rooms that can hold many persons at once for families, but everyone is welcome at the Alexandra. As you experienced, we really try to take good care of our guests and want to instill a cozy and homey atmosphere.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I love this hotel. I was worried that it might feel a bit fusty with the old furniture but everything is perfectly restored and good as new. I loved the room. I loved the taps. The staff were friendly. And even better, the profits go to a charitable organisation. It's on quite a busy road but the windows are pretty well sound proofed, I was on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Dear Seb L,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our hotel - we appreciate your kind words.

The notion that mid-modern century Danish Design furniture is fusty and perhaps ill-maintained is a notion that we have had the pleasure of proving wrong in many aspects and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our furniture - we take good care of our small hotel and the furniture - after all, it is our passion to share these wonderful pieces with our guests!

Hopefully we get to welcome you to the Alexandra again in the future, if you ever find yourself in Copenhagen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews