We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alexandra not so Great !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #8 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alexandra not so Great !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is promoted as a cute boutique hotel. Our impression after staying at this hotel for 4 nights is that cute actually means ugly and boutique in their classification means tiny. Generally Denmark has lost the concept of service. This is an old hotel. From what i understood talking to the cleaner there are some new parts that have been renovated but we never seen those rooms. Our room was small and really run down and this is not in the retro understanding.The hairdryer broke down the shower temperature was swinging and it was extremely cold at night. One day we had no turnover as we left the room a bit late like at 1pm.
It was a disappointment and we wont go back again.

Room Tip: ask for new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am very sorry to read about your bad experience with us. I can guarantee you it certainly is not our normal standard.
If you had told us about your experience, while you were here, we would have had the opportunity to react.

The room you stayed in was unfortunately one of the few last rooms which we currently are going to renovate this Autumn and Winter.

For your next hotel stay, I suggest you immediately tell the hotel if you have any bad experience. The Hotel have then the opportunity to react while you are there.

Kind regards, Hotel Alexandra, Jeppe Mühlhausen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    572
    170
    42
    19
See reviews for
151
543
137
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel Alexandra sets a great first impression with the chic midcentury lobby.

We had a small double room on the courtyard, so it was relatively quiet at night. The room was maybe not quite as cool as some of the ones I'd seen on the website, and the bathroom was pretty old, but it was cozy. The wifi was a bit spotty sometimes.

The hotel does a great job helping you find cool things to do with an iPhone app and a newspaper. Great location and decent value (in a city where pretty much everything is extremely expensive). Breakfast seemed pricey at 125dkk per person so we didn't do it, but you can get a bagel sandwich and a coffee down the street for about 80 dkk.

The one strange thing that happened is that I basically got mugged in front of the hotel as the security guard/front desk person watched from inside. The hotel doors are locked at night, and it took him a minute to open the door for us. During that time, a guy coming from the opposite direction on the street was able to accost me. Normally you'd be able to go inside the hotel and get away from a random person, but since the door was locked it gave the thief an opportunity. It's the same reason you walk to your car with the car keys in your hand.

Luckily nothing serious happened and I was able to get my iPhone back when we chased him and he dropped it. This was not what I was expecting, nor something I'd ever experienced before (even having lived in big cities my entire life.) So, maybe it's a freak thing that happened, or maybe it's not the safest location? While the hotel was sympathetic I felt like they could have taken the incident more seriously.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Within few hundred meters of Copenhagen Tivoli and Railway station, this nice hotel situated in an old building delivers what it promises. All the usual amenities are there - even ear plugs provided for its noisy surroundings!! A lot of examples and information about the Danish furniture, especially the chairs. Price-wise a bit too expensive for money, but for its Danishness, gives some nostalgic time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

good position, 10-15 min walk to either Vesterbro or Central stations (airport train terminates at Central); adjacent to Town Hall Sq, Stroget, Tivoli, etc
Our room was quite large compared with many in Europe, and possibly a little larger than some others on the property. Rooms are individuallt furnished with beautiful, practical pieces by Danish designers.
Staff extremely helpful.
Breakfast at adjacent restaurant, which also serves excellent Vietnamese food late in the day.
One strange setup in our room - the main light switch had to be on to get power to the bedside lamps!!

Room Tip: rooms facing the maion street are a bit noisy if you have the windows open (although this didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I expected more. Good location but there are several better hotels on the area. Room was very small even by European standards. Lots of street noise. I was under the impression that breakfast was included. And it was for an additional 125 Kr each. Staff was not friendly and luggage storage was not secure. Do yourself a favor and upgrade!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am sorry to read you had a bad experience with us. For your information we have 6 room types and you choose the smallest room type. In all our rates on the Internet and in our confirmations it is very clear what is included in the rate, even the size of the room and if breakfast is included or not.

For your information our luggage room is locked and is available to all our guests. Do our guests have special valuable items we are happy to store them separately.

Next time you to travel, I would urge you to seek or inquire about just what your personally needs are as I can guarantee you, that we and many other hotels can fulfill your requests.

Kind regards, Hotel Alexandra, General Manager Jeppe Mühlhausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

As others have said the location of this hotel is great and we found the staff very helpful and pleasant in every way. The breakfast is probably about average but the laundry service is very expensive. So have any laundry you may need done before arriving here. Our room and our traveling companion's room faced the main street which is very noisy 24 hours a day and did not have air conditioning. The rooms have double windows that provide great sound proofing but also provide superior insulation. So at night we were faced with leaving the windows open and not being able to sleep due to the noise, or closing the windows and sweating all night. The first few nights (we stayed a week) we tried to sleep with the windows shut and could not get a good nights sleep because of the heat. Our traveling companions experienced the same problem in their room that was much larger than ours. It seemed that the hotel had the heat come on during the night and it became quite unbearable with the windows closed. The next few nights we decided to sleep with the windows open. While it was very noisy the entire night, including the early morning garbage trucks, it was somewhat better that dealing with the heat. But I never had a good nights sleep during our stay.

Again, the staff was wonderful and was prepared to do whatever they could to make our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street and plan to have any laundry done before or after your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in Sept. The Alexandra is 5 mins walk from Central station, just exit the station, cross the road and go left until you reach The Hard Rock Cafe, then turn right. A few mins takes you to Hans Christain Anderson Bvd. Go left and you will soon arrive at the hotel. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. There is a nice breakfast to choose from but is expensive at 15 euro each. The town hall square is nearby (opposite) and from there you can walk through Stroget (very long shopping street) that leads to all the tourist interests. We took a Hop on Hop off tour to get an overview and the Canal tour is great for seeing the city from a different perspective. Tivoli is only a few minutes walk from hotel also. In summary the Alexandra hotel is perfectly located to access all the city sights. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing