We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well Located”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Alexandra. Nice hotel with some good staff. Clean. Bit noisy on side rooms on Saturday night as looks out over club. Very handy for shopping - well located near Central Station, only 5 mins walk. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barkerk2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    612
    178
    47
    19
See reviews for
164
587
142
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This old hotel is today marketed as a desing hotel, with furniture by some of the most famous danish designers. A nice touch if you like to feel like in a Danish bourgeois home in the 50's.

For those of us who prefer good sleep and functionality the hotel is adequate - layout of bathroom/shower stall cramped, no mini-bar with water, no mugs for coffee etc. Small things but important if you want the client to enjoy the stay.

Breakfast OK, service in reception helpful and nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Gwin,

I'm sorry to read you do not find our Danish retro design interesting as many of our others guests. For your information, we have chosen not to have minibar as we are an environmentally friendly hotel that wish to reduce as much CO2 emissions as possible. Instead of putting water in environmentally damaging bottles are there drinkable water in all taps in the hotel, just as in Sweden.
S
orry to read you do not like our well-chosen coffee glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Copenhagen is a wonderful city, good for a weekstay in stead of the 2 days we had. The hotel is located perfectly near metro, bus and citycenter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marjolijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for a short stay in Copenhagen with friends. We took a twin superior room. Spacious, clean but not outstanding from a design point of view unlike the advertisement they do on the web site. All furniture is old, the twin beds very short, the bathroon clean but old style. We were not on the main road but the noise was already disturbin in the morning.
The staff was very nice and friendly.
The location is perfect when you come by train as the station in 10 minutes away by foot. And the center is right there. Overall a good stay but probably a bit expensive. We wanted a standard twin room but they only have doubles therefore we were forced to take a superior, which is more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sveew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is perfectly located by the town hall Square making it within a few minutes walk to the railway and Tivoli and a bunch of great Copenhagen sights.
The Hotel are full of danish design furniture , here you will find all the classics and this makes the Hotel look very retro and vintage but in a good way
A vietnamese street kitchen restaurant is kind of strange and funky in this setting but the food is good and cheap
Sick of the ultra modern pollished hotel, try this out you will be pleasantly surpriced

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobiletraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A two night stay on business, Expedia pre-pay rate was good value for Copenhagen. This is not a chain hotel and three stars, therefore expectations must be set accordingly. Very helpful check in, receptionist allocated me one of the quieter rooms on check in. However, due to the location in the middle of a city expect some noise from the street. In summer, without air conditioning in the room, this could be quite intrusive. The hotel location is excellent, my room was small, functional, contained Danish designed furniture and was a nice change from the usual business hotels I stay in. Internet (wired) in the room was not free, but during my stay a the special offer included access to the pay movies on TV at reasonable rate. There is free wifi and a computer with printer in the lobby, no wifi in the room. LêLê Street Kitchen attached to the hotel is worth trying, simple fresh Vietnamese food at a reasonable price. I would stay again if visiting, either on business or holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for three nights recently and enjoyed our time here. Whilst it is a three star hotel, it has charm and character through it's showcasing of classic danish design and designers. We opted for the 'Classic Danish Design Room' which was spacious and light, with a small balcony with table and chairs. During our stay we noticed some nice additional features such as bicycles to get around. Their green credentials continue with the incentive of a discount at the adjoining LêLê vietnamese restaurant if you choose not to have your room cleaned. The hotel is brilliantly located - Copenhagen Central station (5-10 min walk), the main shopping streets (again 5-10 min) and Nyhavn (the picturesque Harbour front - 15min). Breakfast was included in our rate and we were given vouchers each morning to use in the restaurant which offers an excellent continental breakfast, along with a selection of hot dishes (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, toast, fresh waffles, boiled eggs).

I only had one minor gripe during our stay and that was lack of sleep on the first night. Whilst I can sleep through traffic noise I was kept awake by a mysterious loud thumping bass which went on for hours into the early morning. I made a complaint in the morning and the receptionist was very apologetic yet helpful in trying to establish where the noise came from. They promised to look in to this but nothing more was mentioned during the day (bizarrely no-one else had complained). I was given ear-plugs in case the same thing happened again but thankfully, it wasn't needed.

That aside, this hotel is a good option for first-timers to Copenhagen. Check out their website which is well designed and has plenty of information, particularly the downloadable PDF's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
261 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,933 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,780 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing