We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better than anticipated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
preston uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having read several TA reviews on this property I was expecting small rooms but was very surprised with the size in this city centre hotel. The reception staff were friendly and professional. We were in a room on the 5th floor overlooking the main road to the front and close to the lifts, in the shower room amongst the amenities were two sets of disposable earplugs and we therefore anticipated lots of noise, not so. We stayed only one night, a Friday, and apart from an occasional police car siren we heard little and did not use the ear plugs. The breakfast was adequate, typical continental plates & cereals along with some hot items including scrambled eggs, this last item I am sure was powdered egg and the only disappointment.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk with (roller) luggage from the central railway station, 5 minutes to Tivoli Gardens and a leisurely 15-20 minute stroll along the pedestrianised shopping street to the Nihaven tourist harbour; in summary an ideal location.
On arrival at the airport we purchased 24 hr public transport passes, Dkk 75 (about £7.50) which covered the train to the city centre, buses within the town including out to the cruise ship berth and the water bus in the harbour.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r.butterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    523
    153
    41
    17
See reviews for
134
468
121
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The charm of this hotel is its classic retro furnishing. We stayed in the Hans Wegner suite (room 340) beautifully furnished with his pieces. This room, unlike some in the hotel, is spacious with a small bathroom (shower only). The furniture, given its age, was in good condition and lovingly cared for, with a newly re-covered sofa and armchair in teal. The nightstands, desk and desk chair too were museum quality - in the nicest sense. There are fine works of art, prints and oils, in the rooms and hallways. Chic little lounge too. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, suggesting places to dine where we would not be surrounded by (other) tourists. The buffet breakfast (sometimes, meanly, not included in the rate) was fine. It was noticeable at breakfast that everyone was casually well-dressed in keeping with the hotel, not a baseball hat in sight, and you couldn't hear conversations from the other side of the room.

This is not a slick chain hotel; the furniture is not new; there is no air-conditioning and it is on a busy street, so leaving the windows open means noise; the water pressure is so-so. If any of this is likely to cause you a problem, do not stay here. If, on the other hand, you want to stay in a retro design haven - or heaven - this is for you. Shirts cost DKK 65 to be laundered.

Room Tip: Away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgandra, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights at the end of August. We came in from the airport by taxi costing 300DKK. The hotel is an old style property dating back to the 1800s. The hotel service was very good with a smooth check in. Our room was on the 4th floor at the side. There were some noise issues of a night with sirens but not that bad. The free Wi-Fi was good and the hotel was centrally located 5 minutes from the town hall. We could walk to nearly everything in Copenhagen. The room was quite spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was small and the shower had a large head, with no ledge between the floor of the shower and the rest of the floor in the bathroom, water ran out flooding the floor. We had to roll a floor mat up to stop the water running out. Breakfast was included in our rate and we had this at a restaurant next to the hotel. Unfortunately this was not very good. Most of the hot food was warm at best. Tables were not cleared often so one had to eat with used utensils on the table. Overall the hotel was good for the money and location.

Room Tip: Try for a high room to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great location with an excellent restaurant attached, if you like fresh Vietnamese food, but the location comes at a cost the front rooms can be noisy as this is a Green Hotel so you need to open the windows and let the air and the traffic noise in.

Room Tip: An environment hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is quirky with a feature of different Danish furniture in each room. The staff were helpful and spoke good English. Double doors and windows with wierd catches. We had an internal room which was very quiet. A temperamental shower. The restaurant on ground floor was Vietnamese but offered a conventional Danish breakfast in the morning. It is a 5-10 minute walk from the railway station but handy to the Tivoli Gardens, other tourist sights and buses.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise at night, ask for a room on the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here last April. It's a little far from the train station for me. But if you don't mind walking with your luggage for about 10 minutes in cobbled stones for most part, then it would fine for you.The staff was just ok. Not that friendly but not rude either. The room and beds were quite small. But that is usually the case in europe so it was not a shocker. Overall, it is not a bad hotel. I just would try other hotels next time. =)

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank symphony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
253 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stylish hotel in a very central location. We walked with our luggage from the station. It is easy to walk around the city to most of the tourist attractions. The room was a bit noisy but ear plugs were provided. The restaurant downstairs is very friendly - good breakfast and reasonable Vietnamese food. The staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,775 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#18 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: H.C. Andersens Boulevard 8, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2013 Was the year where we brought half of our rooms back to the 50's. We decorated the rooms with furniture, wallpapers, lamps and textiles like the design loving Danes did in the 50's. 2014 Is the time for moving ahead. In early March we ended the renovation of the last rooms and they will be decorated just as the design loving Danes did it in the 60's. Hotel Alexandra is perfectly situated right next to Europe's largest pedestrian street and the Tivoli Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing