We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel, check bed size.”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great boutique hotel, check bed size.”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Alexandra for three nights and found it had some excellent features. The all night front desk meant that when our plane was delayed several hours and we arrived in the wee hours there wasn't a problem. We found front desk personnel friendly and helpful and their recommendations for restuarants were spot on. One evening when we arrived back there was a complimentary glass of wine, which was nice.
The location is great. It is just two short blocks to the tourist centre, Hop On Hop Off buses and the Tivoli gardens. The town Hall is also just two blocks away and the main shopping street down to the harbour.
Breakfast was available in an adjoining bistro: small but ok, with typical fare and also make yourself waffles. We were not sure whether the bistro was a concession: we got the impression it was and that it was undergoing change of management.
We booked a Classic Danish Design room on the hotel website and were pleased with all except the fact we had a double bed, haven't slept in one of those for years and had no idea we would. The room was smallish but very clean and well maintained. On our last night friends also stayed at the hotel. They booked regular rooms which were bigger than ours, had queen sized beds and breakfast included. We tried not to be envious as they also paid less than us.
We would stay there again, and recommend it, with the suggestion that you check the bed size beforehand or specify you do not want a double bed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a queen bed room if that is important to you. The corner rooms seemed to be much b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilhem_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    601
    172
    43
    19
See reviews for
159
570
140
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nice and clean right in the middle of Copenhagen, 2 mins walk from Tivoli. Small rooms but efficiently furnished with Danish retro designer furniture. Make sure you get a room facing the quite courtyard as I can imagine C.H. Anders Bvld can be quite noisy early in the morning. We never took the breakfast although it seemed a good deal for 99 dkr in expensive Copenhagen. Nice touch was the free glass of red wine offered by the concierge after 10pm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHanoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed there for a weekend trip with friends. The rooms were small and full of ugly furniture. I know they are supposed to be classic Danish design pieces, but that did not help. They were dirty and old. I prefer to have non-classics that do not hurt my eyes. Otherwise than this and the tiny size it was ok. At least it is close to the center.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear LeDave,

I am very sorry to read you were unsatisfied with you stay.

It is not our perception that our furniture are ugly. Our fine furniture is chosen because we have great passion for Danish furniture design. Most of our furniture are vintage furniture and are designed by the world famous Danish furniture architects from 1930 to 1950. I agree with you that the furniture is old but not that they are dirty. They have lots of patina and history and that is passing them into something quite special for many of our guest and us.

With our unique Danish vintage furniture design concept it is hard to satisfy all guests and particularly those who were expecting something different

I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. To prevent you against bad surprises on your upcoming travels around the world, I would advise you to study your choice of hotel better, next time.

Kind regards, Hotel Alexandra, General Manager Jeppe Mühlhausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The room is fine and clean. Only drawback was that our room does not have drawers but shelves only. You don't want your undies on display. Do you? Maybe the furniture designer didn't design a drawer.

Hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the central station and many bus lines run around the hotel. Most of the major attractions are within walking distance.

One caution, they charge you a few percent for the use of credit card. Rate varies depending on which card you use.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadanojisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great value! Great location, friendly service and lovely hotel design.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndreaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhangjiagang, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Had a nice overnight stay in July, great location and lovely design room...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hveflen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed there as a party of 8, the rooms are clean but need updating and the breakfast is good. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evansca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,057 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing