We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MAD - Modern American Diner

MAD - Modern American Diner
Reserve with
MAD - Modern American Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #381 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Recommended for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

While we were for a long weekend in Copenhagen, we have been twice for lunch. The food was good and fresh and the service was excellent.
Definitely a place to recommend for a lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guido U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    156
    90
    37
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

There was not a lot of space to sit so we had to share a table with two other people. Great burgers, and steak and the desserts were very good. The location was great, next to Tivoli.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KimVN_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
136 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best burgers ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Located next to Tivoli Gardens, the restaurant offers a great variety of burgers and steaks. For me, the burgers I ate there were exceptional, and the same were the sides. A thing you should think about before to order is: how hungry am I? ...expecially if you want to order a Philly burger, which is huge, and can be easily shared by to persons.
Otherwise, the staff is very friendly, and the food worths every penny.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great steak - lovely staff - but quite a big bill !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Copenhagen is expensive so finding somewhere for a quick food fix was difficult. Our hotel recommended this as being good and nearby, and it was on both counts. Although at £20 for a basic steak without any extras (£4 extra for fries, sauces etc) made it an expensive quick fix for the 3 of us who were working at a conference nearby and just wanted something to eat. Backing onto Tivoli gardens (which was closed when we were in town) I guess its going to be more expensive than say on a side street but we didnt have the time or energy to go looking further a field.

The food we ordered was all good - Two starters, side salad, burger, steak, onion rings and fries- all shared between the 3 of us - a drink each - came to €100. So very expensive for what we had, but guess when the gardens are open its a great place to sit and people watch. It wasnt really what we were looking for, but we achieved what we neeed to, and that was to eat nearby, but the cost meant we wouldnt have considered going back. Downstairs has a 'McDonalds' feel about it, didnt go upstairs but maybe its a bit more restauranty and therefore would justify the prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouiseKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“My new #1 in Copenhagen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have frequented this new amazing joint several times since it opened its doors late last year, and lately I see myself here on a weekly basis. Whether it is just for a cup of coffee downstairs, for the splendid Po'boy shrimp sandwich, or having Pale Ale's with my friends on a Friday after work. This has become my new regular place for almost any occation.

Admittedly, they did have a few hiccups servicewise in the beginning, but now they are into their routines, and everybody from the smiling waitresses to managers are doing their best to make you feel welcome.

Not only because of its american theme and the international staff, but also because of the guests here, it has a very international atmosphere, which I love.

I sincerely recommend this place, and I urge you to try the po'boy sandwich, the pulled pork and/or the angus steaks! (and not to forget the beer!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jefi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAD - Modern American Diner also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to MAD - Modern American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing