We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Promising Newcomer”

Almanak - The Standard
Ranked #119 of 2,421 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
usa
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Very Promising Newcomer”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Almanak has been open three months and is located on the ground floor of The Standard, a historic waterfront building that used to be the fish market/customs house.

The interior design of the restaurant is contemporary, airy and very appealing. Ask for an inside table with a water view or, on a fine day, an outside table on the balcony which runs the length of the restaurant.

Service is very engaging, perhaps overly familiar. The wait staff reminded me of Starbucks baristas who enjoy conversation and banter with their customers.

On a recent visit, I enjoyed squid with lobster sauce and green asparagus, lamb shank with potatoes and leeks, and rhubarb compote with buttermilk ice cream. All three dishes were excellent.

Almanak is well on its way to becoming one of the best restaurants in Copenhagen

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    235
    87
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iver, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Style over service”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because of the reviews but wished we hadn't. On a Sunday you only get a choice of two "roasts" and one, two or three courses, no choice of starter or pudding, I'm sure this is not clear on the website! The service was poor and inattentive although the restaurant was not busy, it took ages to take our order. I must admit the first course of Lobster bisque was excellent but that's where it ended. In the end we left before our main after waiting an age, other tables were served out of sequence, when we challenged the waiter it was obvious he couldn't care less. He said there had been an error but hadn't advised us or made any special effort to sort it out. We saw several other tables of people leave after their starters. Not worth a visit as far as we are concerned.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Really pleased we stopped in at Almanak”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The tour guide pointed out The Standard from the canal tour as we sailed by. By the time we finished the tour, we were starving, so headed straight down to The Standard from Nyhavn (5 minute walk). The Almanak offers light meals. We chose the chef's selection open sandwiches (155DKK pp), which were smoked salmon on light rye bread, and a potato salad on dark rye bread. Beautifully presented, well seasoned, luxurious smoked salmon. The sandwiches were delicious. Book ahead for a table on the covered outdoor deck, although sitting indoors next to the open windows was fine. A perfect place for a quick stop - even the toilets were lovely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

After visiting two highly recommended restaurants only to find them closed for lunch, I happened upon Almanak. Preferring sitting at the bar, I was immediately greeted by Stephan the bartender. Almost too late for lunch, I ordered the Chef's Selection and could not have been more pleased. Two open faced sandwiches. One, Shrimp and Eggs, which was scrumptious and the other Beef tartare with lingonberries. Best tartare ever. With the sweet berries, salt and fried onion rings it was just the right combination of tastes. Best ever. Great atmosphere on the harbor located in The Standard building, this restaurant is truly a hidden gem amongst restaurants in Copenhagen. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent lunch at Almanak. Great experience, thank you very much. We will come back for more next time we are in Copenhagen.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bohall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almanak - The Standard also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Almanak - The Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing