We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letdown”
Review of Palaeo

Palaeo
Ranked #846 of 2,427 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Danish
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Letdown”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I had wanted to visit this place since I read about it few years back.

We had a lunch at the newer (?) location at Pilestraede. The place was really small with tables and chairs cramped very close each other. At one corner customers had to jump over a trash can to get to their table.

We had paleo risotto and paleo curry. Both had grated cauliflower "rice" plus the sauce. There was way too much of the "rice" and it was a bit too rough and not very tasty (I've made it myself several times and like my own version better...). The mushrooms in the risotto tasted good but there weren't enough of them. Otherwise the food was okayish. I had much higher expectations so this was a huge disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    39
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great healthy fast food”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

If you want healthy, nourishing fast food that's good for you and paleo-friendly, you should definitely pay Palæo a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torunn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too good! (also good for you)!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A lovely (kinda expensive) lunch and takeaway shop with really delicious and super healthy meals. I had the bolo - vegetable pasta with meat sauce. so good. and you come out from there with zero guilt.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Caveman with caveats”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've been going to Paleo since it opened, and have a particular soft spot for the pork and beef salads, which are braised meats in BBQ-like sauce served over cole slaw, with a piece of special paleo seed/nut bread. But recently they raised the prices, so it's now 79/89 kroner for one small takeaway box. Granted, that's enough for one person. So I was already going a little less often because of the price hike, but yesterday I saw something that made me lose my appetite for Palaeo completely. I gave my order to the guy behind the counter, who relayed it to a man putting together the orders next to the food area. I sat down and watched while he used his bare hands to fling the different lettuce, cabbage and carrot components into my takeaway box and then MIX them with the same bare hands. When he brought it to me, he had lettuce stuck to his elbows -- no lie. Absolutely disgusting. I mean, how much do those gloves cost? Please, Palaeo, ensure that your employees wear gloves when making orders.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CopenhagenChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Palaeo is popular, and for a reason. It is in one of two halls, which I like to think of as Danish Whole Foods, by the corner next to the entrance. Its menu is not extensive, but is based around the Paleo diet.
My partner and I actually visited twice, for brunch. On the first occasion, I had the salmon wrap and he had the paleo dog - instead of bread, you get an omelette wrapped around your filling. Both come with ample amounts of vegetables. The second time, I had a chicken wrap and he had a pulled pork wrap - both as tasty.
To note, you don't get napkins and it is served as takeaway food although you can sit on plastic chairs at wooden tables. It has a very minimalistic approach,

We observed that a lot of people visit Palaeo from various countries - perhaps its echo reaches far.

I recommend visiting Palaeo, if even only to partake in what could be perceived as a gimmick. Good food though!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palaeo also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Palaeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing