We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”
Review of The Bishops Arms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bishops Arms
Cuisines: British
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I saw this establishment when I was wondering round Copenhagen with my son July 2013. It appealed to me because it looked more of a 'pub' than the usual café style in the city. We sat outside but quickly realised that we needed to order at the bar, which again is unusual in the area. There was two young female bar staff in the process of serving 3 or 4 customers in front of us. We waited 10 minutes while these customers were served but then meals started appearing through a hatch behind the bar. One of the barmaids took some plates of food and disappeared from the bar area. The other barmaid then completed serving the final customer ahead of us (leaving us as the only customers at the bar) and, to our amazement, took further plates from the hatch and disappeared, leaving us completely alone at the bar. Not even a look of acknowledgement from the staff. Worried that we had turned invisible, we returned to The Dubliner where we had received good service earlier in the day.
It was a shame because it looked a good place with a great selection of beer. I understand that the staff were busy but a quick acknowledgement of our existence wouldn't be difficult.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commondenominator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston/New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfort food in CPH”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent comfort food (moose metaballs, gravelax with warm potatoes with dill), nice outside space--- if only all pubs in New York would serve the same! We'll definitely go again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

lovely bar staff, big booths to entertain, outside area too. Nice food, decent menu. There was enough room for families to have a nice night out too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShazL_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good selection of beers on tap”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The staff at this pub are very friendly and helpful, they helped my husband find two very nice beers that he had never tasted before. The food, the portions are very big, we both had the fish and chips we found it to be mediocre but unfortunately if you have to convert to our poor South Africa Rand you will fall off your bar stool, Copenhagen is very expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdebruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bishops Arms also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing