We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organic is not enough - food was disappointing”

Che Fe Bio Trattoria
Reserve with
Che Fe Bio Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $74
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Welcome home to Denmark's most organic trattoria all'Italiano - and possibly the most Italian as well. Because here the food really does taste like in Italy with all its humor, anarchy and respect for its produces. We love the traditions but are equally in love with the modern trends that are also an important part of today's Italy. You will be full, content and satisfied by visiting Ché Fè, where the good old concept of Casa Mia has found refugee from all the pseudos and is thriving. In short: Welcome home to Ché Fè! We are situated in Borgergade where there recently has been an explosion of great restaurants - but our history actually goes back to 2007, where the same location bore the name Acquamarina and served fish Made in Italy. In 2013 we reopened as Biotrattoria Ché Fè, and the name Biotrattoria is no coincidence: our bio-trattoria was the first place in Denmark to serve Italian food based on mainly organic ingredients and today we are proud to have the prestigious Solv Spisemaerke (The Silver Food Mark) which proves that 60-90% of all our ingredients and wines used in the restaurant are certified organic. By us you are met by a cosy, Italian ambience where the personal and intimate are at the heart of everything we do: the approx. 45 seatings are distributed on long tables, smaller tables in the windows and by the bar, in order to meet the preferences of both larger groups, small families and couples out on a date. There is room for everybody and the love and attention that we transmit to our costumers are coming back to us in curious, karmic ways: our regular clients get confused if some one is missing from the team - we have even tried to get phone calls on our day off from concerned guests, who want to check if we are all right! The key persons in Ché Fè are Alessandro Jacoponi, Katrine Giorgio Juel and Enrico Cecilian. With a legacy that counts michelin star restaurant Era Ora, a first place in the risotto world championship 2013 and the role as Italian guest judge in the Danish version of Masterchef, Alessandro is the natural orbit of Ché Fè - and its owner. Katrine is our dedicated sommelier, while Enrico masters everything that goes on in the kitchen.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Organic is not enough - food was disappointing”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had the menu including wine for 425 DKK. The food was average or a bit below average for the price. The meat was good, the appetizers boring. The pasta frutti di mare contained of a lot of pasta - decorated with a couple of mussles. Quality would have been OK if it was in a canteen or similar, but for a restaurant...not good enough. The tiramisu was disappointing too. The staff was nice and attentive, bread and olive oil was really good.
The interior of the restaurant is quite "cold" and not very Italian.
All in all - we wish we had spent our Saturday evening somewhere else :-(

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Axel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    113
    25
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great organic Italian”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A wonderful italian restaurant in the heart of Copenhagen. 95% organic 100% italian, rustic decor and a for a couple of hours you are in Italy. I enjoy eating here they do sometimes have a great price on the menu on saturdays.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mtptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit dissapointing Bio organic tasting experience. Great service”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had heard good about this Restaurant - especially because it is one of the few genuine Bio restaurants in Copenhagen.

I went there on a weeknight without reservation - no problem. The place was pretty full (always a good sign). I chose risotto and linguinie and a few other a la carte items.

I have to say the food and the taste of it was overall a bit boring and dissapointing. Maybe being organic has taken away the focus of creating a great tasting experience - not sure. Me and my partner were certainly not impressed.

The good things were the ambience - very nice - low key and relaxed. Also the wines that were recommended by the really nice and service minded waiter was excellent.

It is a bit pricy - but not unfair

I would give 4,5 starts for Great service, Nice ambience and great wine selection. However the food is the most important and takes it down - sorry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steenvagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We started with the "tapas", which was partially exceptional, but also a bit disappointing. It didn't help that they screwed up the order and so had to wait ages. Not sure why it subsequently took so long for our mains to arrive, but this was soon forgotten as these were absolutely magnificent.

Both the chef and the owner were very present in the room and engaged with customers. This lead to a very nice and comfortable atmosphere. Also the wine suggested by the staff was great.

Helpful?
Thank anettethore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable, authentic and delicious”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I discovered Che Fe on a visit to Copenhagen a couple of years ago and have made a point to go there on every visit since. I knew it was special but I didn't realise how special until I took my wife there in September. At first she was a little perplexed by the restrained and plain decor, but then we got chatting to the manager (half Italian/half Brazilian) and asked what he would recommend for two vegetarians; he said to leave it to him. Over the next half hour he came with a succession of small dishes each one more delicious than the one before. Food concoctions with so much provenance that the tomatoes were not just from Italy but from the flanks of Vesuvius! Special mushrooms, select cheeses, delicacies with a spicy sting in the tail, ingenious croquettes with fondant centres, citrusy relishes, and on and on. Fortunately, our charming host also took charge of our wine selection and proposed wines to suit the food. By the time we reached the pasta course we were happy, oh so happy. And frankly a little worried about the prospect of the bill! But this was a night to remember and we threw caution to the wind. At the end of what was one of our best ever meals, we steeled ourselves for the reckoning. But surely there had been a mistake. The bill was about a third of what we had guessed. Apparently no mistake. So the best ever Italian meal in Copenhagen for the price of a very average meal for two in London.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJMarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Che Fe Bio Trattoria also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Che Fe Bio Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing