We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone was underwhelmed.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Host

Host
Ranked #28 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $116
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everyone was underwhelmed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Discourteous greeting. Told to stand in the street in a rude manner, as the reception area couldn't hold the six of us.
A friend wanted an espresso at the start, got a large cafetiere and 3 mugs (I notice another reviewer mention they refuse to serve coffee to one person at a time).
Charged for tap water and very slow to provide.
We've enjoyed New Nordic style elsewhere, but all these courses were confused, over processed, and unpleasant.
Even a dessert of strawberries and ice cream was ruined by a noisy mess of ingredients, including unsophisticated sugar 'honeycomb' chunks that weren't on the menu that listed the unfortunate legion unnecessary favours thrown at the dish.
The various amuse bouche ended up feeling like a tedious and unwelcome extension to a meal with long gaps between service. All over fusses and with little seasoning, a cacophony of different flavours creating a blandness. A mixture of raw veal in yet more cream sauce on bread, with a load of cress as managed to taste of nothing other than rich diary and cress.
It felt like mixing all the colours in a painters pallet to get grey, but with butter-milk or cream added to everything.
The beef in the main was tasteless other than overpowering juniper, and tough and full of sinews. Loads more cream and a confused salad garnish with supposedly fried lettuce - which was raw. Does it look appetising to you?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gv1i20s2i7xtrnx/Photo%2019-07-2014%2022%2049%2022.jpg

Helpful?
4 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    249
    71
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good but not as good as we hoped...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The positives - good looking restaurant, knowledgeable and friendly staff, delicious "surprise" courses and good wines. Special mention for the bread and the amuse bouches savoury crab profiteroles. Also, compared to other restaurants we researched/saw, Host was good value.

The negatives - the main thing was that we all felt that of the two pieces of braised beef we had on the set menu, one was perfectly cooked and one under done. On a piece of beef that needs slow cooking, that left us all with one piece of chewy and slightly unpleasant meat. There were a couple of other small things which we all felt were "fine" but might need to be addressed to help Host move up to be an excellent restaurant. Our waitress forgot our sparking wine which was part of the set-wine menu and we were told we couldn't have our coffees at different times as they all had to be made at once. Not sure why...

Overall, we were all pleased with our evening but with a few tweaks Host could be a lot better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The restaurant name "Host" means "harvest" in English...so the pretty Danish waitress told me. Boy, was it ever a harvest eating my third dinner here in lovely Copenhagen. If you ordered the set menu of three courses, you got a surprise course (to clean your palate) in between each course. Including the complimentary appetizer, a three course dinner became 6 courses at the end. Each course was delicately prepared and elegantly presented. Most of the ingredients were locally sourced. We should never forget to say a few words of the decor, which was Nordic minimalist in white, grey, black and wood-color. Very soft and relaxing. We loved our evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hisakyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meal of our visit to Copenhagen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Food is extremely expensive in Copenhagen and it is difficult to find great food at reasonable prices. We read about Host and decided to give it a try. They offer a 3 course fixed menu for roughly $50/person. We we're not disappointed! The cuisine at Host is modern Nordic and very special. It is refined and they give you amuse bouches between virtually every course. The value is great and the food is to remember. The service was fantastic. Definitely recommend reservations as they were turning people away.

Michele

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“smoking plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Quick service, pleasant atmosphere, nice personnel, strange but tasty food, local beers. If you like simple style, just visit it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esserlaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Host also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing