We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the must go to restaurant in Copenhagen. food complexity, delivered with design simplicity but at a sensible price”
Review of Host

Host
Ranked #35 of 2,433 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $125
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the must go to restaurant in Copenhagen. food complexity, delivered with design simplicity but at a sensible price”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

on the recommendation of our "walk Copenhagen for free tour guide," we took Ben's recommendation to dine at Host. Sunday night and with all the usual Copenhagen top ten closed, I had limited choices, so I. allied, managed to get a table and we took a risk. wow Host is amazing and defiantly a must do Copenhagen restaurant. food design and quality, versus price.... go for it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank peterwy3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    281
    82
    46
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

An excellent evening. The 3 course menu for only 300 kr turned out to hold extra snacks and extra small dishes. All of the food were very well prepared and seasoned.
The snacks/small dishes were experimental and the main courses were traditional albeit with a twist. This makes it a very good place if you want to give New Nordic cuisine a try without spending a fortune.
The wine menu (200 kr) were ok, but no more than that. They were good drinking wines, but nothing special.

All in all a very good evening and highly recommendable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for the buck”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I had the 3 course menu with wine menu. Excellent tastes and a chefs threw in a few extra courses.
At DKK 500 for food and wine is very reasonable for Copenhagen.

Helpful?
Thank Jonas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“excellent new nordic flavors”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went to Höst one Sunday evening based on excellent reviews as a new nordic with somewhat less than stratospheric prices. I have to admit that I personally think the new nordic concept is a bit out of control, with an over emphasis on unusual presentation (think flaming reindeer moss) and unusual ingredients that don't necessarily add a lot to the dish (think, well … flaming reindeer moss). That said, Höst came through with some tasty and somewhat unusual dishes.

An amuse of scallop and cucumber, a smoked pork (I think) bun and crispy rye bread with fish roe mayo was good and beautifully presented. Appetizers (Norwegian lobster, sea buckthorn, pickled carrots, juniper cream, roasted hazelnuts and browned butter; lamb tounge, lamb sweetbreads, pickled beech mushrooms, toasted bread and mushroom sauce; sous vide hake, pearl-sago, raw kohlrabi, lemon verbena and mussel cream) were all very nicely done.

The three of us shared two entrees (ribeye with mustard mayonaise, fried baby gem lettuce, North-sea cheese and wild watercress; free-range pork neck, yellow peas, asparagus, broccoli, pea-sprouts, smoked cheese, foamy dark lager and browned butter-sauce). Both were quite flavorful. We shared dessert (birch bark ice cream, chestnut and vanilla caramel, herbed chocolate, hazelnut sponge-cake and chervil stems), which was excellent.

Apps and dessert were particularly nicely done. Interesting flavors, textures and presentations. Entrees were tasty, but there seemed to be a propensity to drown the main element of the dish under a huge amount of foam/sauce to the point of making the protein rather unrecognizable until it's fished out from under the sauce. Saw this at some other restaurants, so it may be a "new nordic" thing.

Good selection of wines. Service was very good, the room open and pleasant. Lively crowd. Definitely a good new nordic that largely maintains more of an emphasis on food/flavor than on theatrics (although there is some amount of "performance" as well).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional modern Danish food with a twist”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Recommended by the Avenue Hotel, where I was staying, this hotel is in Norrebro which is just a 15 minute walk from the centre of Copenhagen, close to the lake.

I was told by the hotel that it was 'new Nordic' style food so had no idea what to expect. When I arrived the restaurant was 3/4 full; it appears to be a converted shop and has several different eating spaces, including the basement. The staff were all young women, highly efficient and able to give a good insight into the menu. The restaurant decor is modern, natural and calming with raw wood ceilings, bagged brick walls, shaker style chairs painted in different colours and heavy moss green linen curtains. The whole colour scheme is reminiscent of being in a country woodland cottage setting.

The menu is somewhat limited but there are a couple of degustation menus with accompanying wine, or around three a la carte choices. The crockery is all made locally (www.newnorm.dk) and is a collaboration between a local architect and design team - it really worked with the food and its presentation. Complimentary palate cleansers of two amuse bouches were highly original and flavoursome.

My choice of main course was lobster tails - tiny, (scampi size) served on one of the round handmade plates accompanied by a sprig of burning juniper. The accompanying vegetable dish was a mixture of shredded and cubed raw carrot, tart juniper berries and roasted hazelnuts with a butter sauce. Unique and complimentary flavours though the lobster tails were not cooked on a high enough heat and were a little limp.

Before my dessert I was given a little taster mousse with a jammy blueberry base, flecked with dots of liquorice. The dessert dish was the dish of the night - a birch bark ice cream, with some sticky caramel and small bits of sponge, sharpened by some herbage on top - chervil and some other herb I didn't catch the name of. Really creative and different.

The bill was very reasonable by Danish standards - 295 kroner (39 euro approx) for 2 courses, free home made bread plus 2 amuse bouches and a glass of Italian wine.

I commend this restaurant for its really interesting take on Nordic cuisine - a unique and pleasurable experience and a restaurant I would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Signoramarg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Host also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing