We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whaaaaaaoooooouuuu !!!!!”
Review of RetroGusto

RetroGusto
Reserve with
RetroGusto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 2,335 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Vi har nu åbnet dorene til Kobenhavns nyeste og smukkest indrettede italienske restaurant. Det er med stor glaede, at vi kan tilbyde vores gaester mad tilberedt af vores dygtige kokke. På RetroGusto er kvaliteten i hojsaedet og vi gor vores til at jeres besog bliver en unik oplevelse, hver gang. Og selvfolgelig er vores mad kun lavet af friske råvarer - råvarer som vi kan stå inde for. RetroGusto betyder eftersmag på italiensk, men navnet beskriver også indretningsstilen i vores restaurant. Her har vi leget med retro-tapeter og designerlamper fra 70'erne kombineret med moderne mobler. Menukortet byder på nyfortolkninger af klassiske italienske retter som laves efter saesonens råvarer. Menuen skifter jaevnligt, da den laves efter hvad kokken vaelger på de daglige indkob. Vores vine kommer fra små producenter, da vi ikke gider "Coca Cola vine". Mange af vinene er i ovrigt okologiske eller biodynamiske og vores sommelier (Gianluigi Castaldo) er uddannet fra AIS sommelierskole i Italien og giver kyndig vejledning. Også vinkortet aendres ofte.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whaaaaaaoooooouuuu !!!!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Retrogosto was the best Italian restaurant I have try in my all Life !

The food was just Amazing , you should try parmeggiana clasic italian, that is make whit egeplant, tomato souce and scamorza( smoke chese)
and Also semifredo salted caramel whit passion fruit.

That was Delicious.

The Head Chef is very nice from Argentina and came to our table to know if everything was good .

I recommend this restaurant to All.

We will come back for sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Max03092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    95
    19
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great and autentic italian food with biodynamics wines!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

On tuesday evening i was eating in a small restaurant in Vesterbrogade (close by the central station), by myself. I am a very passionated person for food and beverege and i have been very soddisfied on the Chef's food menu.
I skipped the antipasti, and focus directly on the pasta dish wich was a homemade raviolo ( called vulcano!) filled with creme patato and served on a cheese fondu' and cabrige. It was DELICIUS!
The sommelier apparently called Gigi (tipical italian name! ), served me a nice style of biodynamic Chardonnay from Veneto, very fresh, crispy and perish with a int of lime ending.
Continued my evening with the main dish wich i was very skeptical about it! i was served a plate of sward fish with raw carrots and carrots pure'. I tried many times sward fish and i always find it very dry and boring, but this time i was definitly wrong.
Cooked perfectly, nice and crispy on the outside and served medium raw in the inside. It was tender, it was tasty, it was perfectly balanced with the rest of the dish. I was IMPRESSED.
The second wine was from Marche called "Falerio", biodynamic with a mix of grapes: Trebbiano, Passerina e Pecorino. The wine was more bodied, a little petrol on the nose and a great melonish flavour combined with a good acidity. Flaboulos!
Closing with the dessert (wich i didn't expect!), the Chef Gaetano started a nice conversation about his nice experiences and i definetly had a good impression of him, offered me this great style of fried zeppole with cannella. Squisit! Combined with a nice single espresso and also a biodynamic "Limoncello" (lime liquore from sicily). WOW it was like having the most fresly made limes!
I'm impressed! Little place, with great wines and food.
I came alone , but i actually did not feel it at all! Gigi really knows how to make that atmosphere that sometimes misses in small restaurants.

It' s WORH it and surprisingly GOOD!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited the RetroGusto whilst on a short break to Copenhagen. The staff were very friendly and willing to offer guidance. Whilst we were there they were hosting a wine tasting meal for some people who appeared to be local restauranteurs, which must be a good sign.

The lasagna was novel and very tasty and the special sea bream with oyster sauce was delicious, very moist and a good sized portion. As with most restaurants in Copenhagen it wasn't cheep, but certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Innovative Italian food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The restaurant is not far away from the Copenhagen train station, at walking distance from Stroget. At variance with most Italian restaurants outside Italy, RetroGusto strives for innovation while maintaining solid roots in the Italian tradition. Not so many dishes on the card, but all very attractive and well presented. The research of the quality is apparent also in the details, and the staff is keen to explain what you are eating and to suggest a good wine. Excellent value for money, definitely suggested.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AlpaNapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellen food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Part of a two-course deal for little money, but the food was very, very good - really "up there". Atmosphere was lacking a little and the place looked a bit "tired". Wine quite expensive but we had brilliant service and all together a great night. Can definetely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nissemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RetroGusto also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to RetroGusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing