We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, great food”
Review of Cafe Toldboden

Cafe Toldboden
Ranked #373 of 3,094 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

This cute little restaurant is tucked just behind the Amelienborg Palace. Our server, Cecilia, was so friendly and guided us through the menu. She explained how the lunches were traditionally served and helped us make the best choices. The food was also delicious. Beautiful presentation and amazing flavours. The chocolate cake they served as absolutely incredible. Highly recommend if you want to experience some traditional Danish food!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank wwtrvlngmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 40 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Me and my friends eat an amazing danish Christmas lunch at Café Toldboden!
Authentic food with a modern finesse!! Great service and very friendly staff! I can warmly recommend this for an authentic danish experience!!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank rfcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

The restaurant offers some of the best traditional Danish foods we had while in Copenhagen recently. We had a few smorrebrod, all excellent. I had the plate of three different preparations of herring, with aquavit of course, and was very pleased. The service is exceptional, and, if you need it, comes with advice on how to order and eat smorrebrod. We got to the restaurant just ahead of a rain shower and spend a nice, snug, couple of hours enjoying the food and food traditions of Denmark.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Wandering from or to the Little Mermaid (I think), and came upon this hidden gem. Not far from our hotel Sangkt Annae or the Palace. Only one other customer when we entered. The waiter, Peter, was warm and friendly and seated us by the window. He completely explained the Danish lunch offerings, which helped us make our selections. They were delicious. However, the warmth, hospitality and coziness of this place make it special. It's like dining in someone's home, with antique furniture, charming place settings (glasses trimmed in gold!), rugs on the floor...and we met the owner who also chatted with us and was so friendly. Peter also gave us suggestions of places to go/see in Copenhagen. Not much else to say, but GO HERE! So enjoyable!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LetsGo2Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Loved the restaurant and the service. We were treated very well and the chef also gave me some recipie hints. Food was delicious. We had the Pork Loin and Herring curry dish. Both dishes seemed authentic Denmark dishes and were tasty. The waitress also offerred us a taste of the spirit which was so good. Definately recommend it and it is real close to the changing of the guards.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank STravelsHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Toldboden also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Cafe Toldboden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing