We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Cafe Toldboden

Cafe Toldboden
Ranked #373 of 3,094 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Wandering from or to the Little Mermaid (I think), and came upon this hidden gem. Not far from our hotel Sangkt Annae or the Palace. Only one other customer when we entered. The waiter, Peter, was warm and friendly and seated us by the window. He completely explained the Danish lunch offerings, which helped us make our selections. They were delicious. However, the warmth, hospitality and coziness of this place make it special. It's like dining in someone's home, with antique furniture, charming place settings (glasses trimmed in gold!), rugs on the floor...and we met the owner who also chatted with us and was so friendly. Peter also gave us suggestions of places to go/see in Copenhagen. Not much else to say, but GO HERE! So enjoyable!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LetsGo2Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Loved the restaurant and the service. We were treated very well and the chef also gave me some recipie hints. Food was delicious. We had the Pork Loin and Herring curry dish. Both dishes seemed authentic Denmark dishes and were tasty. The waitress also offerred us a taste of the spirit which was so good. Definately recommend it and it is real close to the changing of the guards.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank STravelsHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We had a chance to make a visit in Cafe Toldboden during our bussines trip to Copenhagen and we left this place re-energized and happy. The food we were served was a miracle - we kept on wondering how something on you plate can look, smell and also taste so good. The friendly approach of the staff - owners - was a cheery on the top. If you ever happen to be in central Copenhagen, pay them a visit!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kubamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and placed at a beautiful window-side table in the corner. The decor was very warm and welcoming. We were told it used to be an old sailors' bar so there were old photos of ships accompanied with other old photos of Copenhagen. Very nice natural light in there.

We were greeted by the floor manager and by the head chef. They took the time to explain to us the traditional dishes (that the chef had specialised in culinary school for) and also where the fish had come from.

The food was amazing! I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical of the idea of cold herring but I was blown away. We had to have more...and we did. We tried the chicken salad, the Steak Tartar, an assortment of open-faced sandwiches (Smørrebrød) and many other dishes.

Rarely to I come across a place that manages to ace the food, the service and the overall experience. Cafe Toldboden succeeded in nailing all three. If you're looking for the perfect dining experience in Copenhagen, look no further.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MuddyMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

We happened on this restaurant as we were returning to our hotel from visiting the Little Mermaid. It is located in the basement of an old building, with an amazing atmosphere. It is tastefully decorated in a nautical theme and serves traditional Danish food. The waiter spoke English quite well and was an amazing host, explaining the menu and the way locals eat. The food was excellent, as was the beer. We knew we found a good spot, when a group of local business people come for lunch. I would make an effort to visit this restaurant again, if ever I am in Copenhagen.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slovalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Toldboden also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Cafe Toldboden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing