We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Danish Experience”
Review of Cafe Toldboden

Cafe Toldboden
Ranked #373 of 3,094 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Reviewed April 12, 2018

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and placed at a beautiful window-side table in the corner. The decor was very warm and welcoming. We were told it used to be an old sailors' bar so there were old photos of ships accompanied with other old photos of Copenhagen. Very nice natural light in there.

We were greeted by the floor manager and by the head chef. They took the time to explain to us the traditional dishes (that the chef had specialised in culinary school for) and also where the fish had come from.

The food was amazing! I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical of the idea of cold herring but I was blown away. We had to have more...and we did. We tried the chicken salad, the Steak Tartar, an assortment of open-faced sandwiches (Smørrebrød) and many other dishes.

Rarely to I come across a place that manages to ace the food, the service and the overall experience. Cafe Toldboden succeeded in nailing all three. If you're looking for the perfect dining experience in Copenhagen, look no further.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MuddyMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2018

We happened on this restaurant as we were returning to our hotel from visiting the Little Mermaid. It is located in the basement of an old building, with an amazing atmosphere. It is tastefully decorated in a nautical theme and serves traditional Danish food. The waiter spoke English quite well and was an amazing host, explaining the menu and the way locals eat. The food was excellent, as was the beer. We knew we found a good spot, when a group of local business people come for lunch. I would make an effort to visit this restaurant again, if ever I am in Copenhagen.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slovalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Café Toldboden is Smørrebrød (Danish open sandwiches) the way grandma makes it. The quality of the ingredients is very high, and the preparation is as old-fashioned, as the house that the restaurant resides in.

This is a good thing.

It is very recommended if you want to eat really traditional Danish food that is also good, and if you are Danish, this is a place to go for a traditional julefrokost.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndreasV502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful meal and the service is 5 star, the restaurant is very cosy and elegant. I would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant whenever In Copenhagen.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

Strong recommendation to go for lunch, you will not be disappointed!
Also nice selection of Akvavites

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Q1704CVrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Toldboden also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Cafe Toldboden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing