We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting architecture, modest food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 8Tallet

8Tallet
Ranked #953 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: European, Danish, Cafe, Scandinavian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bjarke Ingels award winning architectural complex, with possibly the best view in Copenhagen located in the maturing neighbourhood of Orestad. With a spectacular glass facade along the edge of the canal overlooking the fields and marshes of Kalvebod Fælled.
Landskrona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture, modest food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went here for the awardwinning architecture, and ended up in the posh cafe.
Food was so-so, but service was friendly and everything.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    57
    50
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
521 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good - but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

As a resident in 8TALLET I have of course been to the Café 8TALLET on numerous occasions. I can only recommend Club8 where the danish singer Tobias Trier have guest who performs with him. I have seen Anne Dorthe Michelsen (the best), Tue West and Sascha Dupont.
Unfortunately the price for dinner has gone up and it is not as attractive as before, I will follow the upcoming program though.
They also have some bbq-buffets and here the price is also too high. There was only a small grill and a kid who only put on food for 3-4 people at the time, so we spend more time waiting than eating!
I must say, that I never had bad service and I would also go there more often if they didn't charge DKK 145 for a mediocre burger.
If you go there with the intent of visiting 8TALLET please do remember that people live there - it is not a Zoo put there for your amusement!
http://www.8tallet.dk/visitors.html

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LPHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lousy service at the cafe, but go for the most famous Danish Design”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Went for at trip to see the 8tal (the number 8) - a newly build part of Copenhagen, which recently won a price as the worlds best housing area. The cafe is certainly not world class as it ought to, being situated in the middle of this fantastic piece of Danish Design and architecture.
The staff is untrained and unfriendly - didn't make us feel the least welcome, the menu is not in other languages than Danish and the whole atmosphere was not at all as one would expect at a place like this.
The drinks didn't come before the food which we could have liked - and expected, but the food was fine and tasty, portions reasonable and the serving of it was reasonable okay.

All in all I think this is a disaster to the tourists that may like to go all the way from the center of Copenhagen to see 8tallet - I'd rather recommend that they bring their own food and sit outside the place in the sun and enjoy the marvelous view.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LisPetersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilleleje, Denmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OK food, dirty restaurant and lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were a party of 6 that had booked a table in advance. When we arrived on time in the, less than half full, restaurant on a Sunday afternoon, we were "greeted" by two waiters who seemed slightly annoyed that we came and disturbed their circles. Our reserved table had not been made ready and with the staff more interested in continuing their private chat, we ended up having to put the tables together ourselves and we had to ask the waiter several times to wipe the tables of old grease and food stains.

The menu is normal danish cafe faire. A slightly larger than usual selection at reasonable mid-range prices. Amongst the six of us, we had: steak sandwich, burger, blue cheese salad and open face sandwiches. The verdict around the table was that the food was fine and especially the fries were excellent. The waiter claimed that the chili-mayo served with the fries was home made and to a certain extent he is right. Sweet factory made chili sauce mixed with factory made mayo. Whether mixing two factory made products qualifies as home made, I will leave to your judgement.

The coffee, which we (to please the smokers in our party) decided to enjoy at the outdoor seating, was fine, but vastly overpriced.

As the headline says: The food was generally ok and although far from unique and extraordinary, it was fair value for money. The cleaning standard of the restaurant left quite a bit to be desired and if I was the restaurant owner, I would have a serious attitude adjustment talk with my staff - especially the female waiter behind the bar counter. She was infuriatingly arrogant and laid back.

The final verdict is that Cafe 8-tallet is probably not a restaurant that will enjoy our patronage another time. Quality, price, service and dining experience does not match the prices and I predict that Cafe 8-tallet, in it's current form, will have a short life-span.

All that being said, the location next to the vast natural reserve Kalvebod Fælled and the 8-tallet apartment building, which have received numerous prices and which is considered to be some of the best residential housing in the world, offers plenty of opportunities to experience outstandingly beautiful nature, views and contemporary danish architecture.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mwestermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 8Tallet also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to 8Tallet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing