We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O'Learys The Perfect Resting Place While Waiting For The Next Train”
Review of O'Learys Sports Bar Copenhagen - CLOSED

O'Learys Sports Bar Copenhagen
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner Vesterbro
Description: in Denmark, norway, finland, sweden, singapore, germany & spain
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“O'Learys The Perfect Resting Place While Waiting For The Next Train”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

O'Learys Bar and Restaurant at the Copenhagen Central Train Station is the the best place to sit back, have a brew or two, and grab a bite to eat while waiting for your train. It is conveniently located in the the station itself, with two outside entrances and exits to take you out to Tivoli and other areas if that appeals to you. Personally, I would recommend staying inside, especially if it is at night. When I was there in April waiting for a train, it seemed like there were so many questionable types lingering in the shadows of the outside streets just waiting to roll anyone looking easy. So, why chance it? Wait for your train with a good beer and eats. Peruse the numerous sports memorabilia on the walls. Be quickly and kindly served. Then, when your train is near to arriving, pay at a reasonable rate for the haven and service you are getting for this part of town. I recommend it when in Copenhagen, especially if at the Central Train Station.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saysimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    22
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“O'Learys at Central Station”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped in O’Learys for a quick beer and rest before walking around the Tivoli area more. I’m unimpressed. The beer tasted of a dirty tap line, half the room was curtained off, and the price of the beers didn’t reflect the low-budget atmosphere. A good place to use the gents in a pinch, I guess, but otherwise?... Don’t get me wrong, I like a good dive bar - but I like a “good” dive bar. O’Learys was just bland and uninteresting, like the McDonalds of bars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuggsyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place if you are hungry and in a hurry”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

There are several bars across the city, we've been to the one across Tivoli park and the one in Arlanda airport. Both had tasty food and quick staff. In the city bar there were TV screens all around the bar which allowed to watch the hockey from every place. We tried ribs, casadila and burgers - everything fresh and tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superkrol4iha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where waiting for your train is a pleasure”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you are waiting for a train at the central station in Copenhagen, this is the place to spend the time. A pleasant and relaxed atmosphere paired with a very friendly staff makes the waitingtime fly. This time we had a "Marvin Hagler's pulled pork burger" and a "Larry Bird club sandwich" (price 145,- / 135,- DKK), both dishes arrived fast an was served very fresh, the club sandwich was a little too much for my wife so the waiter made a nice little box for half of it which we could take for the journey.
A tip: at O'Learys they have two variations of their own BBQ Sauce --among the best ,I've ever tried -- at least at our visit these were also soldat the counter, in double pack to bring home, don't miss it.
For our next tour via Copenhagen the visit to O'Learys is already planned :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaljakoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“still waiting”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

i would really like to have written a review on the food and drink in this restaurant/bar. We saw this bar when we arrived by train into Copenhagen. As my husband is a keen sports fan he wanted to visit once we had settled into our hotel. We entered the bar which was very quiet (it was a Sunday evening and there were about eight people in the bar) and decided to sit at the bar for a drink before deciding what we would like to eat. There was a girl behind the bar serving we thought she would come serve us when she finished but no she completely ignored us. There was also a guy with longish hair working and again he completely ignored us. a guy with short hair came out from the back looked at us then when straight back in to the back. We sat for about about 15 minutes and we were tolally ignored. We left there as there was no way we were going to be served. And went to Hard Rock Cafe which was very busy and we were served straight away

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Learys Sports Bar Copenhagen also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing