We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Typical, but still okay - No Fridge's"”
Review of Gentofte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gentofte Hotel
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I have stayed in Denmark several times for business trips - from an American perspective: rooms tend to be small, the showers are always kind of interesting as they share the same floor as the rest of the bathroom.

As for Gentofte Hotel - the rooms have the same kind of setup except this particular hotel doesn't have fridges in the rooms which was really difficult for me being that I traveled from California. When I arrived to my room at about 12:30 at night - after 15 hours of travel I was surprised to see that there wasn't any fridge with drinks or snacks. The town was completely closed down and my only salvation was some snacks I bought from LAX airport and the natural tap water from my bathroom sink. For this reason I am giving only 2 stars. Travelers should be able to purchase drinks and have a way to keep them cold.

Also if your concerned about the size of your room - My coworker stayed on the 4th floor while I stayed on the 1st. The 4th floor rooms are extremely small and cramped - the rooms on the 1st floor are bigger but the drawback is that your windows look into the parking lot - so you might see and hear people walking by your window.

The staff is good, the breakfast is good too... My only recommendation is to bring your own fridge :)

Room Tip: Bring your own fridge drinks and snacks
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmr949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobBrammer, General Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Guest.

Thanks for your feedback.
You're right. Compared to American standards rooms in Scandinavia are generally smaller. Compared to most other 3* hotels in the Copenhagen area though our rooms are usually more spacious than average. Regarding the fridge we decided to remove them when we renovated the hotel and entered the Green Key programme in 2008 as the fridges we had were not particularly environment friendly and since the majority of guests didn't use them. We do however offer drinks and snacks on sale 24/7 at the front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Gentofte Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel is not particularly attractive from the outside or the inside. Rooms are however clean and comfortable although the bed was a little bit soft for my liking. Also has that annoying scandinavian style double bed which is actually two singles pushed together with a single duvet. Bathroom is clean and adequate although suggest you shower last as water tends to go everywhere. Bit tight in terms of toiletries as well so suggest you bring your own. I also had a room which was on the ground floor and right next to the car park which meant I had to have the curtains closed at all times as the windows were floor to ceiling and anyone in the car park could just look in. On the upside the TV was modern with plenty of channels and free wifi was a bonus.

Whilst the service on the front desk was helpful and friendly the service in the restaurant was below average. I phoned at least 3 times and let the phone ring for a couple of minutes each time and no one answered. In the end I had to go to the restaurant to order the room service (defeating the object) and even then at least 2 waiters just walked past me. The only person who did approach me was a lone weirdo and really could have done with someone telling him to buzz off as well. Food however (for dinner) was good.

Breakfast on the other hand not so good. Watered down apple juice. The WORST Danish pastries ever. No butter (just margarine), no jam (just some stewed fruit) and no plain pastries e.g. croissants. Just bread, cereal and cold meats from what I could ascertain. Was never asked if I wanted a hot drink either - another example of poor service.

No doubt i'll stay here again but not through choice as suspect there are probably less convenient but better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kclkkjb1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentofte, Direktør at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Dear Sir,
I have read your review and very sorry to hear about our service problems. I will look into the problems with our restaurant about answering the phone and waiters ignoring guests.
We have had some problems with our bread for breakfast and are looking into that also.
I hope to you see you at Gentofte Hotel again.

Best regards,
GENTOFTE HOTEL

Liselotte Christensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Stayed for one night during a conference.

Nice looking and charming small hotel in the outskirts of Copenhagen (you feel like you are in a small town).
My room was spotless regarding to cleaning. Room size was maybe somewhat bigger than average - with the usual bed, one "big" chair and a desk where you can work (free wifi working good as well). Bed was good also.

Common areas were nice, but nothing special. Conference facilities average, but nothing to complain about regarding both amenities and service.

Food was maybe the let down. We had a fixed 3 course menu, which didn't taste much (no faulty taste though), and wine glasses poured to the rim... Breakfast options was also limited, with no hot food.

Locationwise it's good if you're on a conference and don't need to go into town. If you're a tourist going to Copenhagen, I would go for something closer to the city centre.

No complaints about service, but didn't really test it either - my stay went smooth and hasslefree. Check in/out smooth also.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_oslo_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Rooms are on the smallish side but have everything you need.
For my taste the beds are a little soft, but tastes differ.....
Bathroom and bedroom were very clean, breakfast (not included in price) was very good.
The hotel is located in a suburb of Copenhagen, bus stop directly in front of the hotel, and subway in walking distance. Friendly personnel, and umbrellas are supplied (which we very much appreciated on a rainy May weekend).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobBrammer, General Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for the kind words. It's wonderful to hear that what we strive to achieve every day actually works.

We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

I've been in Kopenhagen for business in March 2007.

I stayed 2 nights in Gentofte hotel.

Trip: Airport-hotel by taxi: trip easy, good access,but I felt a bit expensive at 40 euros.

Kopenhagen, (from car at least) grey and cold. Is not a season to visit it.

The hotel is an old inn from around 1700. Is a shame that was renovated without any taste and lost almost completely the character.
What is impressive in the lobby are the real paintings on the walls.

Hotel has 2 types of rooms. Standard at around 100 euros is rather old and slightly overpriced. The superior, I did not see but at 150 euros (over) I think might be expensive for what they offer.

Room: not renovated in the recent years. Clean but dated. Bed OK. Bathroom clean, but not spotless.

Front desk friendly but a bit too casual. In the lobby a computer with free internet access so dirty that you felt sick too touch the keyboard.

The restaurant is outstanding. Is the only place preserved from the 1700.

Very good menu, good food, good cook, good people. Worth every penny.
In fact if you can stay in another place and go there only for food would be a good choice.

Breakfast in the morning like 5*. Excellent.

To summarize: if is not a must don't stay there. Is nothing special.
The restaurant is outstanding.

I would not go again though.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Savvy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobBrammer, General Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear reader.

When reading this review please take in to consideration the date (March 2007) since the hotel was totally renovated in the spring of 2008. All rooms, bathrooms and common areas and we even bought a new computer for the lobby.
We did however keep the same Chef working the kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimElHusseiny, Guest Relations Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimElHusseiny, Guest Relations Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Sydhavnen
Scandic Sydhavnen
#53 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,118 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Osterport
Hotel Osterport
#73 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,036 reviews
Wakeup Aarhus
#17 of 22 in Aarhus
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#71 of 118 in Copenhagen
502 reviews
Hotel Lautrup Park
#61 of 118 in Copenhagen
50 reviews
Hellerup Parkhotel
#1 of 1 in Hellerup
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentofte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentofte Hotel

Address: Gentoftegade 29, Copenhagen 2820, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $122 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gentofte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the summer of 2008 all 98 rooms, meeting and banquet facilities, restaurant and public areas of the hotel has been given a fresh and modern design - without touching the unique charm, the popular kitchen or the friendly staff of the hotel. The hotel offers 12 unique conference and meeting rooms with room for up to 100 people. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel and private parking at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gentofte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gentofte Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing