We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Be Nice in Cooler Weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My rating for this hotel would be better if the weather had not been so warm in Copenhagen the week I was there. The hotel is situated on a main street but is set back with the entrance off the street. It is convenient to restaurants in the vicinity, stores and supermarkets. The hotel itself appears very clean with wood floors and nice furnishings.The room is a reasonable size but the bathroom has a lack of storage. The main problem really concerns one's ability to get a good night's sleep. First the room was exceedingly warm. I encountered one of the staff putting together some fans and commented that I could really use one for my room and he just laughed. I understand some people got fans so am not sure why I did not. The one window was not sufficient to cool off the room and one would have had to leave the door open in order to generate a breeze. Compounding the problem was the fact that for odd-numbered rooms there was a bar about 30 yards from the hotel and the noise was extremely loud and continued until early morning. One had to choose between no sleep due to the noise or no sleep due to the heat! As well, the amount of light that would come into the room at sunrise was pretty intense.
There is an eating area, although I didn't have breakfast there but they do have coffee and tea available most of the day. There are also a few seating areas both indoors and outdoors although they were usually used by smokers. I would go back in cooler weather but never in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 624 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you like to travel and experience something different from a sterile (albeit consistent) big-box chain hotel then this is the place for you. The Carlton Guldsmelden is in the trendy Vesterbero section of the city surrounded by many cool restaurants (check out Organic around the corner for great lunch or dinner) and boutiques. We are a family of five who booked two adjoining rooms and stayed before and after a Baltic Sea cruise in July. The hotel is eco-friendly, very green (note: the bath towels are "different" - I loved them, my husband did not). The bathrooms are a tad small but efficient. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are immaculate and peaceful. We did not indulge in the breakfast buffet, but it looked fantastic. The BEST part about this hotel is that they rent bikes - they are located in their back garden. We spent the entire last day biking around all of Copenhagen. It was magical. You must do this if you have the chance-how many major cities exist in the world where you can do this? We biked to Tivoli Gardens, spent the evening, and biked back. This hotel was a very good value and again provides a unique experience within a wonderful and also unique city.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back facing the garden. We had one in front on the street and one in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinB843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel was OK. Don't expect much, as other reviewers have pointed out, there is no aircon, the rooms are quite small, they are expensive for what you get and the bathrooms are definitely below par, both in size and in facilities.

There was a very small shower, with an old, damp smelling shower curtain which was too small to cover the opening. The towels aren't actually towels - they feel more like flanneled and cheap tea towels, made from 'organic' products. There's also no extractor fan, so the bathroom gets very steamy, and no storage in the bathroom (no shelves, room around the sink, no room in the shower to put your toiletries).

The double bed isn't a double bed, it's two single beds, with two single duvets. The pillows are bad quality and small. The rooms are so small there's only one functioning bedside table, the other is turned on its side so you cannot open the drawers.

There's a large desk in the room, with a very large chair that doesn't fit under it, which takes up a lot of room. Some rooms also look out to a carpark some buildings, I think there's a bar or something in this area as it can get very noisy in the early hours.

Strangely, there is a very big, fancy smart TV in the room. Doesn't really go with the whole 'balinese' ambiance they're trying to create, but it's good.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, and we had a nice terrace. The location is good. The outside space near the reception area is good. The WIFI is reliable and speedy. There are a few nice restaurants and bakeries nearby.

Overall, I probably would not stay again. It felt far too cramped, too hot, the bathroom was pretty bad. The whole experience was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here based on a review in a travel book and it turned out to be a lovely place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable and clean. There is no AC, so if you are expecting very hot weather you want to take that into consideration. On our stay in August it was not a problem for us. The location is very convenient; walking distance from Tivoli, train station, many sights, etc. Very nice breakfast offered at a nominal price each morning. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is a real gem, one of the most beautifully designed, even memorable, hotels I have seen. It is also reasonably priced. The location is excellent--walking distance from the Central Railway Station and thus easily accessible to the airport. The breakfast was abundant, fresh and tasty (and though not cheap considering the prices in Copenhagen, a rather good value). The staff is solicitous (provided us with very good suggestion about a nearby restaurant for a pizza dinner). The only problem with this property is its accessibility, particularly for those whose mobility is impaired (but even this can be overcome by going through the back entrance). To be sure, the rooms are small but they are very clean and comfortable. Wifi set up in near the reception desk was very convenient and worked very rapidly. All in all a most gemütlich (and very romantic) little place which only enhance any visitor's trip to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, I didn't use the public transportation at all because everything was walking distance. However, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The bathroom was the most disgusting thing I've ever seen. There were stains on the walls and in the sink (I added a picture), really bad. Second, the towels didn't smell good, they aren't even towels, they are made of weird material that makes them look like tablecloths. Finally, despite the sheets being cleaned, they had blood stains!!! Like tiny drops of blood!!! They should have completely thrown away these sheets, not simply wash them and use them again with another guest. Anyway, choose another hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andreavelezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Like other reviewers, my only serious complaint about this hotel is very high temperature in the room. We were on the third floor and luckily had an overhead fan and a small portable fan. The temp in the room didn't change much even as the night cooled down. It was quite uncomfortable to be in the room at any time. Some air con would definitely pumped the ratings up on this hotel. All hotels in Copenhagen are expensive and one should not expect North American sizes of anything. This hotel is charmingly European, the breakfast is delicious and the location is good. There are lots of great cafes nearby. All staff were super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor that would be cool when the weather is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,554 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#42 of 118 in Copenhagen
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $144 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing