We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, walking distance from station and old city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #34 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, walking distance from station and old city center”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice & small eco friendly hotel. Good value for price. Rooms are small but nicely done, with a good bed and pillows.
Complimetary internet.
The hotel is one block from a nice little street with some restaurants and trendy stores., with on the corner the best bakery of Denmark. We took our breakfast there, with a good capucinno.
The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the train station, 15-20 from the old center and you can also take the bus.
The stay was nice but (except for the hotel) everything in Copenhagen is expensive. To give an example: a bottle of wine, a simple salad and a open sandwich at a tapas bar: 100EUR/130USD!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    269
    103
    36
    16
See reviews for
79
275
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinge, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great centrally located hotel. Because of traffic it Can be a bit tricky to get your car into the carport, but once that is done, you are left to enjoy the hotel. Nice rooms, great homey feel, cozy restaurant, extremely friendly personel Absolutely to be recommened!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I don't need a Hilton style palace when I travel abroad. I'm perfectly happy with a clean room, a decent shower/bathroom and a comfortable bed. I got all that and more during my three days in this wonderful little hotel. In addition it offered a central-ish location, fantastic breakfast (which didn't seem overpriced to me), an appealing quirkiness in its commitment to everything organic and really friendly and helpful staff. Unlike some other reviewers, I didn't notice any undue noise from the street or from the renovation work. It was all good and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, perfect location, relaxed atmosphere, clean room, good shower and the best bed I have slept in for years! And last but not least a very reasonable price. I will certainly stay there the next time I am in CPH.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjarklindur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel Carlton is a bus station away from the central station.
Location is good in the developing area but it’s not classic central.
Had good selection of restaurants around it, I think even better quality than the city center.
Rooms are small but comfortable.
The room is well maintain and all in all good condition.
Its practical but it’s not spoiling, personally I would not define it as a boutique hotel. I would not even say it’s that romantic as one can think because of the stylish beds.
I heard complains about the wood floors making noise. I felt its adding to the atmosphere.
Breakfast are overpriced but rich and organic. I think it was 185 KR per person while you can get a quality breakfast out side for 100-120 KR.
I was expecting better price for the hotel guests.
Overall nice hotel friendly staff and I was pleased with this choice in term of value per money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights but had to leave because the floors are wooden and you hear a lot of noise from people walking above...

The rooms are a bit small and the breakfast could be better. I must admit that the hotel is being renovated and that it will probably be spruced up in a few months.
The staff were really friendly and professional and accepted with grace when we decided to cut short our stay. We are light sleepers and want to have a quiet room.

We moved to the Copenhagen Island Hotel which is not in the center but the difference was remarkable...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Lovely rooms, delightfully designed and well positioned near the central station
Good breakfast buffet and value for money rates (actually very convenient prices for Copenhagen)
Downs: no room service, no in-room coffee/tea facilities, poor food/beverages variety for breakfast (no gluten-free, no soya milk, horrible watery coffee)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippi_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,885 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#43 of 116 in Copenhagen
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,350 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing