We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Nearby Hotels
$219
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copenhagen Strand(Copenhagen)
$200
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
$241
$231
SKT. PETRI
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$455
$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)
$204
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel(Copenhagen)
$357
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kong Arthur(Copenhagen)
$275
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel(Copenhagen)
$232
$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
$175
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$275
$242
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveler rating
204
282
115
39
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
282
115
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedorganic breakfastcentral stationcharming hotelchain hoteltop floorlovely roomfirst floorreception arearent bikesminute walkloved this hotelon footcold meatsthe breakfast areayogurttivoli gardens
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 658 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel Carlton is a bus station away from the central station.
Location is good in the developing area but it’s not classic central.
Had good selection of restaurants around it, I think even better quality than the city center.
Rooms are small but comfortable.
The room is well maintain and all in all good condition.
Its practical but it’s not spoiling, personally I would not define it as a boutique hotel. I would not even say it’s that romantic as one can think because of the stylish beds.
I heard complains about the wood floors making noise. I felt its adding to the atmosphere.
Breakfast are overpriced but rich and organic. I think it was 185 KR per person while you can get a quality breakfast out side for 100-120 KR.
I was expecting better price for the hotel guests.
Overall nice hotel friendly staff and I was pleased with this choice in term of value per money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights but had to leave because the floors are wooden and you hear a lot of noise from people walking above...

The rooms are a bit small and the breakfast could be better. I must admit that the hotel is being renovated and that it will probably be spruced up in a few months.
The staff were really friendly and professional and accepted with grace when we decided to cut short our stay. We are light sleepers and want to have a quiet room.

We moved to the Copenhagen Island Hotel which is not in the center but the difference was remarkable...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Lovely rooms, delightfully designed and well positioned near the central station
Good breakfast buffet and value for money rates (actually very convenient prices for Copenhagen)
Downs: no room service, no in-room coffee/tea facilities, poor food/beverages variety for breakfast (no gluten-free, no soya milk, horrible watery coffee)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pippi_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

That this hotel is ranked 26 of 111 hotels in Copenhagen seriously put a in question the reliability of Tripadvisor rankings. First, this cannot be considered a hotel by any standard. At best a poor and substandard B&B. A converted flat from the late 19th century where the only changes are the room numbers! My wife and I had booked 3 nights and moved out after one nightmare. Had to use sleeping pills to get some sleep due to infernal traffic noise from main street, no air ventilation/aircon in the room, opening the windows was like beeing in a train station at rush hour. The so-called bathroom/toilet less than a square metre - impossible to use the toilet and close the door. Crammed into the shower cabin and trying to use it produced a mini tsunami flowing in the main room. Breakfast and setting: utterly repulsive. Staff: totally unqualified. No need to go into details on clealiness and service. A total disaster.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lucullus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuldsmedenHotel, Public Relations Manager at 66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Lucullus06,

we were quite shocked at the vehemence of your review. Needless to say, we are sorry that you were not happy with your stay, but you can´t please all the people all the time and it happens - fortunately rarely - that a guest who would have been happier at a more traditional hotel, booked a room at a Guldsmeden hotel.
Naturally, this is not a positive experience for any of us, and we do try to communicate our special brand of hospitality very clearly on our website. We totally agree that the best way to find the right hotel is not through tripadvisor reviews, but through the hotels´ own, official homepage. We have a feeling that you did not research very thoroughly before booking, and were therefore not aware of a number of things: we are a small boutique hotel group with a very strong focus on sustainability and organic products. We are certified with Green Globe, and awarded the official Danish label for 90-100% organic food. Our sustainability efforts permeate throughout our operations, and airconditioning - especially in the cool Danish climate - is not compatible with this.
That the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is located on one of Copenhagens main shopping street is basic information that is readily available on our homepage. If you do not care for the sound of the city, this is yet another reason for doing your homework before booking.
We are completely taken aback by your statement that the hotel is simply an old apartment with room numbers - we take great care in both our renovations and interior decoration, and are well known for our distinctive visual identity. The Guldsmeden hotels have always featured heavily in the press, partly due to our beautiful interiors and informal atmosphere. Our staff do not wear uniforms, as we find that a uniform detracts from the interaction between people, so this is a conscious choice.
All in all, it is quite obvious that you would have been much happier at a more traditional and generic type of hotel, and we wish you good luck with finding the correct accomodation in the future.
Best from the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I had an extremely pleasant stay at this hotel. The rooms are decorated nicely and everything is very clean. The staff are extremely friendly, and they made me feel at home during my stay for sure. The only real constructive advice I can give for the hotel would be to add shower curtains so water doesn't get on the floor in the bathroom and updating the televisions in the room. The TVs are old with limited programming, but that shouldn't be a huge deal since there is so much to do in Copenhagen. There is a really cool famous bar "Mikkeler" very very close, and it is a walk from Fredericksburg park, amazingly beautiful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scratchpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews