We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and service minded staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Skt. Petri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skt. Petri
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location and service minded staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very pleasant and service minded staff. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. I would consider the rates standard for this kind of hotel. However, the room floors could benefit from a little more identity, right now they feel a little 'grey'.
For my next stay in Copenhagen it is very plausible I will book a room here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vahlrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    725
    406
    165
    113
See reviews for
257
824
79
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Located in the heart of Old Copenhagen the Hotel Skt Petri was a 2 minute walk from anywhere we wanted to be. A chic hotel with a mostly business clientele. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable.If you're not from Europe, the showers are a bit funky (open without curtains). Strongly recommend pre paying for breakfast. The service was excellent- make sure to ask them to assist with booking dinners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This trip was purely for pleasure- just checking out the city with my sister. We left Newark,NJ the day after Thanksgiving. Arrived in Copenhagen at about 7:30 in the morning. Skt. Petri had no available rooms ready- the check in is at 3pm. We knew that already but were definitely disappointed, since it is an 8 hour flight and were definitely needing to freshen up.
The concierge handed us a map and we were off. Definitely do research on what restaurants you want to eat at and make appropriate reservations before you go. The front desk persons at the hotel are very nice, try to do what they can, but are uninformed on the whole.
Danes are very helpful, speak perfect English (mostly) and are very pleasant. Taxis are always available from the front of the hotel and the drivers are easy to get along with- bring the address of the place you want to go to. It was easy for us to pull up the addresses on our i-phone and show the driver. Most taxis have a nav system they use.
You are able to walk the city without Taxis right from the hotel. It's a wonderful location to do so. Be aware that the unions are strong and stores are closed on Sundays and some on Mondays. They also open late and close early. 10 am and 5pm, respectively. It was charming to walk the cobblestone streets (minus cars- no cars allowed on most) all lit up for Christmas. I love that it was 40 degrees outside and there were still people eating outdoors under heaters and blankets at pubs and restaurants. If you are shopping- just know that you are not able to purchase anything for less money here- you can buy the same exact item at home for much less! There were almost no stores that were purely found in Denmark. Same for most of Europe. I'm not one to travel and shop at a store I have at home. I like to find upscale shopping where I might find something different.
The breakfast at the hotel is awesome, so I'm not sure what other reviewers are talking about. You have a huge assortment of breads (which are amazing) jams and danishes, fruit, cheese, meats- which looked kind of yucky. Yogurts, granola, cereal, eggs, bacon, veggies... Coffee and tea, cappuccino, whatever. Please note that the restaurant is open from 6-10. We missed it a couple of times, with the jet lag. There is a limited dinner menu also- had a late dessert there, was good.
The hotel is modern, not luxurious by my standards, but the beds are so comfy, albeit very small rooms. The bathroom did have some mold, was not new looking, but was adequate for my travel needs on this particular trip. You do have to pull down on the tub faucet where the water comes out to get the shower on- tricky, even after knowing about it. No shower curtain, so the water gets on the floor. No big deal for us.
Restaurants are amazing, if you eat at the right places. We ate at Radio, Manfreds, Noma, (BioMio, Mother -avoid if you don't want to go to the Meatpacking area- there isn't much there yet-very boring, go back again in a few years, needs time to develop, kind of a seedy area)
Noma wasn't worth it- it is a different experience, but if you don't get in- no worries. It was sort of avant garde cuisine, sort of silly at times, and really not that great-tasting. (Money completely aside, since I wasn't the one paying the bill, anyhow.) Crazy experience, but really not worth it, unless you have eaten at every restaurant and need something new. The presentation is what you will be amazed at- such detail! Silly to pay 40$ for tap water- makes you feel like an idiot.
Tivoli was neat- a wonderful little amusement park in the middle of the city. Very adorable. Wish I had my daughter with me on this trip, since this is a VERY child friendly city.
The Danes ride their bicycles through rain, cold, snow, ice (just like the mailman) Nothing stops them. Maybe no choice, since no cars are allowed on many streets. But I like that, and the air is clean and crisp. They really are environmentally friendly- a thing the USA should envy and copy.
Do visit Louisiana Gallery, about 30 min taxi ride outside the city- the building is a work of art in itself, and it was amazing to see a gallery with an ocean view. Don't miss it. Try to go on a nice day- there is art all over, outside, by the ocean. Really something to see! There is a lovely restaurant- food is presented beautifully, but not that great tasting.
Actually, food in all of the restaurants I tried was presented like works of art. That was cool. don't get me wrong, you have your regular pizza places and such, but if you go to a good restaurant, you'll see a nice presentation. It will probably look better than it tastes, still. But a nice experience.
Copenhagen is a party city! They go all night on Saturday night. There is a large gay population so if you are, you'll feel comfortable, like in any large city. And they don't wear heels- it's super- casual, simple dress. Leave the heels at home. Wish I wasn't so tired from traveling- would have loved to go out.
Anyhow, you'll notice that this review was mostly not about the hotel and that is because the hotel was not remarkable. Not terrible by any stretch, just unremarkable. It's a decent place to hang your hat while away and see the city. The hotel has an outside lounge which is prob nice in the warmer weather.
Our room was very noisy (3rd floor) on Saturday night, all night. I heard people shouting on the street all night. I wear ear plugs, so it wasn't a big deal for me. But when I was up (remember jet lag) I heard it.
Anyhow, I hope this helps you a bit before you go.

Room Tip: Try an upper floor if you want more quiet, but bring ear plugs. I have a feeling you'll be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. There were a number of American's in town this past week visiting their children studying abroad. First, let me say that Copenhagen is a wonderful city that really more people should visit. My daughter does not want to come home. People are warm and friendly. The hotel is a perfect example of warmth and hospitality. However, what could and should be a 5 star hotel or even yet a 4 star is quickly fading into a 3 star at best. It is dirty. The rooms are not being taken care of and the housekeeping will be the hotels' demise. Our bed sheets were never changed. Yes, the beds were made but not changed! Each night my duvet cover would become seperated from the duvet - YUK! Getting replacement glasses was near to impossible. And sadly, the bathroom shower is full of mold! Close you eyes when you shower. The floors barely get a mop, or a sweep. With this upkeep I would not recommend this hotel. Unless there is a drastic change in focus, it will only continue to get worse. Note: Do not get a room over the main street. There are bars and Danes like to party until past 5 am. With the windows closed (which meant being too hot and stuffy) you would not sleep with the yelling and screaming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My overall impression of the Skt. Petri was one of disappointment to be honest, though I really wanted to like it. It was comfortable enough, though the room (724) was small and erred on the side of minimalist rather than 'designer' - ie a bit cold and functional. The heating was erratic and there was little room for luggage storage (we were only there for one night, so not a problem for us but would be for a longer stay).

On the plus side, the staff were very pleasant and I'd commend the hotel for this (but the poor chap behind the bar should not have had to cope on his own). The location is also ideal.

My (very) big gripe, however, was that the 'fitness centre' was nothing of the sort. One of the main reasons I booked this hotel was so that my boyfriend would be able to use the gym, as he likes to work out daily, and the trip was for his birthday so seemed only fair that he should be happy. The 'fitness centre' comprised (it seemed) an out of use room on the 4th floor with about 6 pieces of equipment and no water supplied. From what I could surmise there was a refurbishment taking place in the gym proper, but I really should have been informed at time of booking or in advance. I'm still really rather annoyed about this.

Overall I'd say it's 'OK' for a short stay, probably one where you don't intend to spend much time at the hotel (unless you've booked a much bigger room). I really wouldn't recommend it as somewhere to go for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marionc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed there for just one night but really liked the place. Great design (as almost everywhere in DK). Rooms are not too spacious, but are very warm and comfortable. I don't remember the breakfast, was it good? I think it was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed there for one week for a business trip. The design of the hotel is wonderful: very pure, with huge spaces but still comfortable and cosy. The lamps in the restaurant are just amazing and the bar is really nice.
The rooms are big but I was a bit disappointed by the beds: the were comfortable but instead of one big bed, I had two twin beds side by side, the blanket was short...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#24 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skt. Petri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skt. Petri

Property: Skt. Petri
Address: Krystalgade 22, Copenhagen 1172, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#30 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Skt. Petri 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skt. Petri is your key to Copenhagen. The elegant hotel is situated in the middle of the vibrant Latin Quarter in central Copenhagen, close to shopping and with easy access to the airport. With 268 luxury rooms, some of which have a balcony or terrace, Skt. Petri truly puts the city towers at your feet. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi, to cool down and stay connected. The unique hotel creates the perfect frame for a contemporary lifestyle, accompanied by the hotel's excellent service and gastronomy. In the panoramic grand room at the heart of Skt. Petri, the Central Kitchen restaurant is perfect for modern-day diners seeking high quality and an easy-going environment. The legendary Bar Rouge continues to light up the late hours in the Latin Quarter with its winning combination of perfectly-served cocktails and guests from around the world. Skt. Petri is a proud member of Design Hotels, and a truly inspirational hotel - the Danish mindset at the service of discerning global travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skt. Petri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Skt Petri
Skt Petri Hotel
Skt Petri Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing