We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Breakfast extra, but good, especially the herring. My room (537) was very small. When the suitcase was in place, the door to the bathroom could not fully open. The bed was very soft. They did not manage to clean my room. As a compensation they offered me free breakfast. I see no reason to return.

Room Tip: My room, 537, was diminutive.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thauken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,498)
There are newer reviews for The Square Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 2,498 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

NO BACON AT THE BREAKFAST BUFFET, and they charge you for all types of coffee except for ordinary black coffee.

Apart from that, the hotel has a good location and the rooms are of good size and standard. A little noice from the streets, but nothing problematic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor-Erik_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had 2 stays there the past week. Rooms tended to be small but clean. 5" walk from Central Copenhagen train station and close to most bus lines. Hotel has been allowed to age with little attention to detail. On both stays we had to change rooms as the air conditioner was very noisy-imagine they haven't been well serviced; towels tended to be be old and thin and in one room the window was very dirty. The staff was gracious but only some of the staff members at the desk showed any interest or initiative in responding to our requests for information. These certainly aren't the qualities that one expects in a fairly expensive 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning before you settle in.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arrived soon after 10:00 to leave luggage before starting our walking tour of the city and found that our room was ready and we had immediate access, just good luck but having the room available all day was a great bonus. Very central location, ample 'continental' breakfast and very friendly staff. Good lift service. Highly recommended.
Copenhagen streets are a little disrupted by on going Metro works - until 2019 - but they did not spoil our visit, just be careful crossing roads as the traffic direction changes according to the work being carried our and the even local folk are not always sure which way to go!

Room Tip: Junior suite spacious and relaxing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedompass_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived early and had our luggage attended to efficiently. Went back at 3.00pm to check in and room was not available, we could have paid more for a different room though. When I declined this offer I was told Room 111 was available.

Could not get the room cooled to a comfortable temperature on what was quite a warm day. This room looked out onto what I could only describe as a dirty smoker's area and soon found out my assumption that the windows were one way was wrong when two women smoking and drinking out there waved to my husband who was standing near the window. This area seemed to be a short cut from somwhere because all night we heard the gate opening and the sensor light would come on. We then spent the next couple of days with the curtains shut!!

Location was perfect, wifi fast, staff seemed to be overworked but friendly. Wouldn't go back there nor would I recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you into Room 111
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed there on a business trip. Shad a room on the 6th floor with a balcony. It is centrally located and walking distance to tivoli gardens and central station. The standard was very high. The wifi was excellent all around the hotel (a must when travelling on business).

The breakfast was standard continental. Lack of hot food was dissapointing. The snag is the htel does not have a restaurant on site so you'll have to eat out. It does have room service though. Me and the boss asked the reception staff if we could have our room service in the lobby and they did so kindley. Express checkout was quick too!

Would i stay again. Yes i would. And if you like your kebabs, there is a kebabish near by! Wohoo!

Room Tip: The 6th floor has a balcony that overlooks denmark! very nice site!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saj12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If in town for shopping, night life, Tivoli or generally looking for a very central location, then this the Square is your choise! If however, you are looking for some character, out-of-the-box-desing or cosmopolitan athmosphere, then the Square is not your choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maunolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,201 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
949 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#45 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,150 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#48 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $166 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 6:30am-10am and weekends 7am -11:00am. On our sixed floor you will also find our exclusive Executive lounge where you can enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee with snacks if you need to work in our silence and warm atmosphere. You have our lounge included in our price if you book our executive rooms or our junior suties. If these categories are not booked, you can of course always buy access to our lounge for DKK 190,- per person per day. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing