We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were on our way to the Ice Hotel as it gave us a better connecting flight the following day. Easy to walk from the train station, perhaps need to ask at tourist info for the final bit or print off a better map than I did. Tivoli Gardens very close, sadly not open yet to visit, we walked to the harbour area and ate there at lunchtime which was a nice walk and then to see the little mermaid, all a good distance to walk (few miles round trip) and to the main street of shops too. Nice Italian opposite to eat too. Hotel itself, lovely and clean, staff very helpful, smooth check in and out service, rooms more than good enough for what we wanted, we really just wanted a good location for our very short layover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSunflowerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    1,120
    527
    182
    80
See reviews for
466
827
157
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavern, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Square hotel is only a few years old with a modern design. We had a nice room with its own terrace. The beds are very comfortable. The best thing with this hotel is its location, close to the Tivoli and Strøget. The selection at the breakfast buffet was quite limited. Parking is available in the building next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent location and good business hotel. The room I had was tiny, but did the job. As in manu scandic hotels, the bathroom was not all that, but did the job. Single bed was long. I had a room on the street sode, which is noisy. Ask for a different one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent two nights in the hotel. Normal check in time was 3PM (check out time was noon), but the staff were kind enough to let us get the room earlier, and check in and check out were the only contact with them, but they seemed kind and interested. Since the room we reserved and paid for prior to our arrival was for some reasons unavailable (or we were just told so), there was an offer to upgrade to a better one, first with some additional costs, but we did not want to pay for that, so they offered the room without any additional costs and we got a junior suite at the fifth floor, the price being about 2500 DKK for two persons for two nights. This was a corner room and considered to be one of the best they have.

The hotel has two entrances (from two different streets) and a nice, huge lobby near the receptionists. The restaurant is on the sixth -top floor. We only went there for breakfast (price 145 DKK per person, not included in the room fee), which was a rich and neatly organized buffet.
It was possible to store luggage in the lobby after we checked out (no charge for that). There is a notice saying that the hotel also offers the equipment needed for non standard plugging (not two but three holes). Hotel cards are needed for moving around (using the elevators, the toilets). Free internet is available in the rooms (password is provided).

The hotel location is very good, right across Københavns Rådhus, which is a very central area. Tivoli is very close, a short walk is enough to get you to the central railway station, and lots of busses were driving around the place.

The room was spacious and acceptably clean (only the windows were not that clean, one was even very much covered in something), no balcony (five huge windows were instead of a wall, looking at Københavns Rådhus). It was nice and warm inside, with the air cooling system and with the possibility to regulate the heating. There was a small entrance with the luggage rack, mirror, wardrobe and coat hangers. Then there was also a sofa with two small tables and with two armchairs and a desk. They have a mini bar, telephone, cable TV (channel list printed out) and a small pig that can be used as an mp3 player or ipod / i phone player and charger. In addition, there was a double bed with two night stands. There was a water boiling appliance, two cups and complementary tea and coffee (one of each per person).

Bathroom was also very spacious, hair dryer installed. We were given soap, two big towels, two small towels, two face towels and one that was used for stepping out of the bathtub. We were also provided with a bathrobe (anti theft chipped) and a pair of slippers, box of tissues, soap, and two tubes of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. When the room was cleaned, the used products were substituted. Toilet door is glass door, it is not possible to see through it, but there are letters on it and one could see what is going on inside… which might be a bit disturbing to some people.

Staying here was generally a positive experience and we could recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located when arriving to Copenhagen by train from the airport or other areas, as it is easily reached by foot from the railway station even with luggage. Tivoli, The town hall and the shopping street Strøget are also in the neighbourhood and you can easily walk to the other main tourist attraction in the city. There are lots of bars and restaurants close to the hotel. A couple of pubs even in the same building. The single room was quite small, but comfortable. The bathroom was also nice and clean. I would certainly consider to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190479Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located within a five minute walk from the Central Railway Station/Tivoli Gardens and across the square from the start of the main shopping street,Storget.Plenty of bars English/Scottish/Irish/local and restaurants ranging from Mcdonalds/Hard Rock Cafe/Indian/ Chinese/Italian/Australian/Danish etc within a two minute stroll.
From check-in to departure the staff were friendly,helpful and efficient.Although there is no safe in the room there are safe deposit boxes at reception and a left luggage room,both at no extra charge.
The room wasn't the biggest but clean and tidy with a mini-bar,decent tv(only a couple in English), the beds I found comfortable though our twin beds were quite narrow. Bathroom was bright and had no problem with shower temperature.
Not so keen that the Lobby/Reception doubles as the bar area but on the plus side there are two I-pads that are free to use,the whole Hotel has free Wi-Fi access.
The only problem I had was when I went to check-out,a bottle of white wine had been charged to my room,but this error was soon rectified by the helpful receptionist.

Room Tip: At the moment there is major construction work going,as with a lot of Copenhagen, on with part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#20 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,118 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
918 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#39 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,176 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Property: The Square Copenhagen
Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 6:30am-10am and weekends 7am -11:00am. On our sixed floor you will also find our exclusive Executive lounge where you can enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee with snacks if you need to work in our silence and warm atmosphere. You have our lounge included in our price if you book our executive rooms or our junior suties. If these categories are not booked, you can of course always buy access to our lounge for DKK 190,- per person per day. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing