We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool! Nice! Unexpected service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Square Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #33 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cool! Nice! Unexpected service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is located in the city center. The view over the Town Hall Square is nice - especially in the night. Room was good and clean - nice, Scandinavian style design.

Service at the front desk was good. A bit busy and somewhat quick, but very friendly.

Best surprise was the "just wanted to know if everything's all right in your room" call from the receptionist. That was a nice touch - never experienced anything like it - not even at ***** hotels!

Breakfast was ok - also very friendly - and they offer REAL coffee (espresso, cappucino etc.) at a reasonable extra charge.

I'd definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - I paid DKK 100 per night for a much better room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supertraveller_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    944
    457
    158
    67
See reviews for
386
692
137
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed here last weekend during a family holiday. I got one of the newly renovated single rooms (rear facing), with lovely wooden flooring. Having a room at the rear is actually a good thing in this hotel as the noise from the street can be very loud at times (there is a fire station around the corner). The breakfast was lovely with lots of different options. Location is amazing, but it's also one of the two things that draws the total rating down, due to the noise level. Obviously there is little you can do about that, but it still was quite annoying for my family members who had the rooms facing the street. The other negative is the internet access. You can access the internet in your room, but you have to have a network cable! Who travels with that nowadays? You can, however, get free wifi, but you'll have to pop down to the reception area to get any signal.
The best thing about this hotel though, are the beds. Some might find them too soft, but if you love a nice and soft bed with soft pillows that also offer support, you will love these beds.
I will definately reccomend this hotel to my friends, and I will most likely stay there when I come back to the wonderful Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. You will hear the air vents, but at least that is a lot more soothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 1 night. I liked the hotel, it was modern and nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room i had was clean and nice, it had a bath-tube, small coach, television had a OK size and the bed was soft. I had a view to Australian restaurant which the hotel also use, so you can order food to your room from there. The breakfast tasted good but a little bit small choice.
The only negative i can say about the hotel is the bathroom was a little bit foggy after the shower. The hotel is located near by the tivoli (entertainment park) and also strøget (shopping street).
3 brish pub`s near by and many places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arondo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Business trip, 1 night stay in a single room. Hotel was good, clean and really well placed. The staff were really helpful and recomended a great restaurant (A fish place in the meat-packing district - fyske baren from memory?). Breakfast next day was great too. I didn't have a view of the square itself, but wasn't that fussed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodieDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Square markets is self as a "designer hotel", something I failed to see the background for. The lobby is modern and quite stylish, but the room, even the "superior room" I had, was small and very much ordinary.

Also for a business hotel, it was surprising to be given an Ethernet cable instead of a PIN code when I asked for access to the Internet.

The hotel is located right next to the "Rådhuspladsen", which is close to the Tivoli, the railway station and the shopping district. It is, unfortunately, also quite noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NK_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 for my last night in Copenhagen. I think this hotel is perfect. The location is across from City Hall as well as around the corner from the central train station. (the train station is 15 mins from the airport, so getting too and from the airport is a breeze). The lobby is beautiful and people were very friendly and helpful. There is free Internet (wireless) in the lobby as well as free Cabled internet in the rooms.(I always travel with my Airport express so I quickly set up wireless in my room as well) The rooms were beautiful, well maintained and very modern. The room had a fully stocked mini fridge, machine for pressing pants as well as an IPOD dock for playing music and charging your IPOD/IPHONE. There was also a beautiful 32 inch flat screen TV. I had absolutely no complaints about this place.
I got a queen size bed. The bed was soft and comfortable. It was probably the best night sleep I had my entire week in Copenhagen.

My room faced the square so the view was Gorgeous.

Everything was great. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. I wish I would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: One small note, traffic noise can be heard from the room so if you are a light sleeper, you may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Treva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Located conveiniently. Will serve tourists and business travellers well (although nothing mind blowing).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiisaineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#18 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,624 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#43 of 119 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#32 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#22 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#25 of 119 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Property: The Square Copenhagen
Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 7am-10am and weekends 7am -10:30am. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing