We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good, with some drawbacks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Sydhavnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Sydhavnen
Ranked #49 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
171 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good, with some drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nice place, closeby the airport (15 min/20EUR by Taxi), but not in the city center. Nice rooms, wooden floor (at least it felt like wood). Restaurant was full, servers seemed a bit uncoordinated. We simply ordered food and ate at the cafe, but many other guests could not eat onsite as all tables in the restaurant were full. More tables in the cafe area were not serviced. Food was good though. Buffets, as most times in Nordic, are good, a bit on the mass service side. Also room rates tend to be on the high side. Good service for small company conferences/meetings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Sischka,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very happy to hear that ýou liked our rooms and the food

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    398
    266
    93
    46
See reviews for
223
243
32
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed in the "old wing".

The room was very cold... wanted to turn the aircon up, didn't work. Wanted to turn the heater up, didn't work. Wanted to try the hairdryer as a last resort, didn't work. Wanted to call reception about the whole thing, phone didn't work. Used all possible pillows and blankets to get warm, wanted to read, bedside lamp didn't work.

No bin in the bathroom but at least the toilet brush stank. Bed and chairs very uncomfortable, behind the door market "Mini Bar" there was nothing. Seriously people - take the time to look around in your rooms before giving to a guest...

Colleagues in the "new wing" complained about rooms being so warm they couldn't sleep...

I'd say avoid - pick "First Hotel" right next to it...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "new wing".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdiosG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear AdiosG
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very sorry to hear that you could not make the heating work in your room and that no one helped you with that, this is of course not our standard

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel during October 2013. The ground floor of the hotel is well laid out with the restaurant, bar and reception. Very friendly staff at reception as well. No complaints. The room they put me in was close to the worst I've had on many a business trip, only beaten by an overnight stay in a cheap hotel near Charles De Gaulle due to a cancelled flight.

The room was very small, not much space at all around the bed. The bed was OK but the pillows were not great so didn't sleep too well. The shower was awful. Not the cleanest, and not the best layout I've ever experienced with just a plastic door making the shower space. I prefer a shower to be separated from the rest of the bathroom, either in a purpose built shower or in a bath.

In the morning, when I opened the door to go to breakfast, I almost stepped into an open bucket of paint that had been placed conveniently right outside my door by the painters who were painting the hallway my room was in. I had to work my way through the corridor in a business suit avoiding wet walls, buckets and tools to make it to breakfast.

Breakfast was buffet style, so pretty average.

I would stay here again if needed, but would probably inspect the room before getting comfy. Reading other reviews it may just be me having an unfortunate experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HummelPummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear HummelPummel,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

Our standard room is the size there are decribed at our webpage, for bigger rooms we can offer our newly build superiorrooms or even our suites.

When you stayed here we were renovating our floors to make it nice for our guests, I am sorry for the inconvience this has caused you during your stay. The renovation is now finished.

I am very happy to read that you found our staff to be friendly.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noerre Aaby, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We enjoyed staying here for one night during a weekend mini break. We were welcomed by the smiling and friendly receptionist who checked us in 2 hours prior to normal room availabillity.

The room was fine with all you could ask for a stop over accommodation.

The location of the hotel a few 100 meters from the S-train station "Sydhavnen" is super, the very regular scedule transports you to down town Copenhagen in 8 minutes.

The breakfast buffet has all you can ask and consist mostly of ecological food. The dining room is spacious and with a lot a light coming from the wall to ceiling windows.

All in all a nice hotel that offers you what you need.

Room Tip: We had a room facing opposite a large stree crossing, and I gues this is what you should ask for whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakob Schreiber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Jacob S,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your very nice review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

It is so nice to read that you liked our hotel and thinks it contains all you need, and that we have good service,this is very important for us.

I am very happy to read that you found our staff to be friendly and Pablo to be outstanding.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for four nights while attending a show nearby. Its a modern hotel and it was ideal for us as we could walk to the TAP1 showgrounds. The rooms were fair size, unfortunately not very clean ( sticky floors, some stains on sheets) and the beds are not the most comfortable. Its certainly not central if you want to walk to town. The staff however are very friendly, our room was quiet and the breakfast buffet was was top!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueduiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Blueduiker,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

It is very nice to heat that you find our staff to be friendly, the room to be quiet and the breakfast was in top.
I am very sorry to hear that the cleaning did not live up to your expectations and will make sure to pass this on to our housekeepingdepartment, since this is not our standard,

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at the Scandic hotels before and like their facilities and services. This time at the Copenhagen Scandic Hotel was great too. The design of Scandic hotels is quite fasionable and schic. Great restaurant and breakfast inside hotel. Location is good, only a few minutes away from the train station. Hotel staff very helpful and good looking too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satorubj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Satorubj,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

Nice to hear that you have used Scandic before and like our hotels.
As for Scandic Sydhavnen I am happy to hear that like our restaurant, location and staff.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Let's be fair - a wet business trip in Copenhagen in November is unlikely to be hugely exciting.

This hotel probably gets a significant part of its business from the proximity of the mobile phone operators, many of whom are within a short walk. The room was OK - clean and tidy - although the corridors were a little cluttered with refurbishment material while I was there. The staff though definitely redeem the hotel. The waiter in the restaurant had a really good sense of humour (and knew when to apply it as well) and the reception staff were all very friendly too. Actually the restaurant was very good for such a hotel - not a very wide choice, but the food was nicely prepared and very appetising - and the waiter knew his way around the menu well.

I'd go back not for the atmosphere but for the staff - and the food in the restaurant. Three guys descended on the grand piano by the restaurant and gave an impromptu recital - they were good too.

Despite being fairly close to the airport there's no simple transportation without changing (at least that I could find)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear AlastairF,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I was very happy to read that you would come back here because of our food and our staff.

To get from here to the airport is fast and easy. You can take the train and change at the central station to another train, or take the train to Nørreport and change to the metro.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
First Hotel Copenhagen
#28 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#41 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#64 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#40 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sydhavnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sydhavnen

Property: Scandic Sydhavnen
Address: Sydhavns Plads 15, Copenhagen DK-2450, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Sydhavnen)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Sydhavnens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Sydhavnen 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Sydhavnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing