We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A worthwhile return visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Sydhavnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Sydhavnen
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A worthwhile return visit”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Despite previous concerns I was convinced to give this hotel another go. I was pleased to find my room (in the new half of the hotel) was clean and in a good maintained condition. I’m not convinced the aircon did anything apart from make air noises, but it was a quiet and clean place to spend the late afternoon and to sleep in.
As with all Scandics, the WiFi is free and fast, though it noticeably slowed as more people came online in the evening.
I ate in the restaurant. I’m not a great fan of Jamie Oliver’s pretentious food, so I chose the menu of the day which is self service. The veal and sauce it was in was truly delicious, with lovely buttered potatoes and vegetables. However to get the waiter to come over and take a desert order was close to impossible. I’m glad I had my Kindle to read and got through a few chapters that evening.
All in all I’m convinced to try again next time I’m in Copenhagen, but may have to specify a new room.

Room Tip: The new rooms seem to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear TrevMK,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very happy to hear that despite the mistakes( which I am very sorry to read about) you have encountered during you are still convinced to stay here again.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    412
    276
    93
    47
See reviews for
230
251
34
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August as part of our tour of Denmark and Sweden. Good hotel that although busy keeps a good level of professionalism at all times. Clean and good food with loads of parking, we will stay again I am sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Gracudd,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very happy to read that you found our hotel to be great.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had 3 nights at this hotel in April 2013. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is only a 3 minute walk to the train station, which is very convenient. Only 2 stops to the city centre. The staff were very friendly, especially at breakfast. As we were driving around Europe we always had to look for a hotel or B&B with parking and this hotel fitted the bill. Free parking, how wonderful in a very expensive city. We would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Gisela K,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very happy to read that you would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure and found the hotel to be great and convenient.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Large modern hotel on south side of Copenhagen, a little out of the centre, but plenty of free parking and close to the station for a quick cruise into the centre.
Good breakfast, had a good evening meal too.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise from the front, but quieter later, well insulated with window shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analemmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Analemmatic,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very happy to read that you found our hotel to but large and modern but still friendly.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time.

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulricehamn, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the hotel, and I was happy to check out...Location and breakfast is OK, but our room (no 1017) was soo warm. The A/C didn´t work properly - to put it mildly, and every morning after the shower we had an unintentional sauna. On the way to our room, the hallway had an unpleasent smokeodour.

The view from our room was great, if You like parking lots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Johan W,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very sorry that the aircondition did not work in your room, this is of course not our standard, and I am sorry that it was not fixed, or you were offered and extra fan or moved to another room.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have stayed in several Scandics during our whirlwind tour of Scandinavia and have to say that this has been the best of a great selection! The location is convenient to both the airport and the city centre, with a train station located 3 minutes walk from the hotel and only a 2 stop journey to the central rail station. The rooms are well-appointed, and spacious - and given that we were a family of 4 travelling together this counts for a lot! The mini-putt and life-sized chess game outside kept the kids amused after we returned from a city tour and we all enjoyed dinner at the restaurant. The staff was helpful and friendly and true ambassadors for the Scandic brand. would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: For families with any aged children, the family superior plus room is a great size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth_KCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Elizabeth_KCC

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very happy to read that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay when i Copenhagen and that our staff was helpful and friendly and true ambassadors for the Scandic brand.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for six nights here. It is only a 5 minute train ride the the Central Train station, and so was very convenient. The service was great, the rooms were quiet comfortable and the breakfasts were very impressive. The one night we had a car, the parking was free, an added bonus and it was easy to get to and from the airport via cab or car. We even got a good discount for the five night stay. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear WarreFish,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel to be great and convenient and that you defintely would like to stay here again

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Scandic Sluseholmen
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
711 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#39 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,994 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,821 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#69 of 116 in Copenhagen
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sydhavnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sydhavnen

Property: Scandic Sydhavnen
Address: Sydhavns Plads 15, Copenhagen DK-2450, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Sydhavnen)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Sydhavnens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Sydhavnen 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Sydhavnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing