We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Sydhavnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Sydhavnen
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I liked this hotel. It's out of central Copenhagen, but easily accessible by train within 10 minutes. This makes the hotel a terrific bargain! The room was comfortable, breakfast was good. There is some construction going on next door, but I was not all bothered by noise. Sure, the carpets in the hallways need to be replaced, but my room was nice, and clean. Strange, there is apparently no ice machine for guest use, so I needed to get large glasses of ice from the bar nightly, I amassed quite a collection of used glasses, which housekeeping never took away. Maybe a Scandic thing as I noticed that glasses were never removed from my room in Stockholm either. Arrived on Tuesday and they have a lovely free reception for Scandic Friends members with beer, wine, cheese, snacks, etc. This was quite a nice surprise. I'd definitely return to this hotel if I'm ever back in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rduncan206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear rduncan206,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen

I We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    398
    266
    93
    46
See reviews for
223
243
32
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jyväskylä, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been in this hotel during my business trips before and I selected this for our family vacation in because of good Scandic summer offer and free car parking. We stayed both first and last nights of our trip here.

Since my previous visit, the hotel has grown. Superior category rooms and suites seem to be located in recently opened section while the standard rooms are in the older main section. Our first night was in standard room and second in superior. Considering the minimal price difference of these room categories, I would recommend choosing superior room. Bathrooms and furniture start to be in need of upgrading in standard rooms. Airconditioning seemed to be more effective in standard room, though.

As the hotel is big and was fully booked during holiday season, the breakfast room was chaotic and the staff was really working to keep the tables full of food.

Free wifi working exceptionally well.

Free minigolf was great bonus for kids.

Tips:
- Statoil service station just opposite the hotel is open 24 hours in case you need snacks or drinks
- Hotel is not in the city but within 5 minutes walk to S-train station. Train takes you to main railway station in less than 10 minutes. Consider buying a "Day pass" from ticket machines in main railway station as the Day pass is not available in ticket machine at Sydhavnen station. Day pass becomes cheaper if you use public transport more than 3 times in 24 hours.
-Take swimsuit with you: if you ignore the ongoing construction next to hotel, the view from top floor jacuzzi (free as well) is nice.

Room Tip: Superior room here is more than instant coffee and kettle. Go for superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
DearEskobar,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.


I We do hope to be able to welcome you and your family back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed twice at the Scandic Sydenhaven, and each time the organisation left much to be desired: Keys not working, double rooms instead of twin rooms, housekeeping not done in reassigned rooms and lifts that were very difficult to operate with keys that are not working. This resulted in one person being trapped in the lift and having to be rescued by someone outside. Not a pleasant experience.

After all this, we could have done with a drink from the mini bar. Unfortunately in the the new room we had the mini-bar was missing. By this time, we were too tired to complain about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_Lawson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Linda_Lawson50,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen, this always helps us to notice some things we can become better at.

We have alot of different room types here at the hotel also double and twin. You are given the room type that has been booked and if you want to change the room then that is of course possible.

None of our rooms has minibar, instead we have a shop in the lobby that has open 24 hours.

For security reasons you need to use your room key to get to the floors, and I am very sorry if that has caused you any problems since this is of course not the intention.


We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Meerut, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were on package tour, poorly organized by some Tumleys Tours, Copenhagen/our Indian Tour operator Paryatan,Muzaffarnagar. We were told the hotel is centrally placed in heart of city, but to our surprise it was almost 8 kms away from centre of city. There was no tea kettle in rooms. The rooms were just OK, bathrooms were small with shower cubicle and liquid soap. The breakfast was good, but little choice for Indian/vegetarian food. This look like to be a Business Hotel with conference facility, but not advisable for tourists, specially who want to walk around in city centre and other tourist attractions.

Room Tip: If you are tourist, better choose in city centre , this hotel is much away from major tourist attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr N K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear DR N K S,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.

As stated at our webpage we are situated 3 KM from the city center.
We have very easy access to the center with train that departs only a few minutes away from here and within 4 minutes you are in the center of Copenhagen.

All our superior rooms have coffee/tea making facilities.

Our breakfast contains alot of different options for vegetarians.

I We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Where do you start. Breakfast is very good. The rooftop hot tub and exercise area super. The rooms are standard but clean. Business center very convenient, with printer. Extra computers in the lobby for surfing. Location is 1 block from the surface train and on a major bus line.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1018423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bill1018423

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.
Reviews always helps us to notice things and services that we can improve and become better at.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay here at our hotel, and you liked our breakfast and exercise area and of course that you found our staff to be great.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Tha hotel is not as what I thought before: I would say that is an avarage 3 star hotel on a 5star price. My Dannish friend just lought at it.
On one hand never checked my badge at the breakfast but on the other hand I was disturbed where I am parking. They sad there is no necessiity of car registratin at the desk but I found a 100€ penalty on the mornings ...

Room Tip: The farest you are from the reception the best chance to get a better one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valeo V,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.
Reviews always helps us to notice things and services that we can improve and become better at.

As stated at the parking place and at the entrance to the hotel, we have free parking but you need a ticket from the hotel ind the window, if you have received a parking ticket please send it to me and I will take care of it.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed there for one night. Rooms are modern but not very large but OK. there is good internet connection. No minibar.
The breakfast was good but nothing exceptional. the hotel is located close to a railway station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sydhavnen, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear PeterW37

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review regarding your stay here at Scandic Sydhavnen.
Reviews always helps us to notice things and services that we can improve and become better at.

I you want a larger room we do have other room type such as superior and suites.

Instead of a minibar we have a shop in the lobby that is open 24 hours a day.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back here at Scandic Sydhavnen again another time

Best regards
Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
First Hotel Copenhagen
#28 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#41 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#64 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#40 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sydhavnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sydhavnen

Property: Scandic Sydhavnen
Address: Sydhavns Plads 15, Copenhagen DK-2450, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Sydhavnen)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Sydhavnens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Sydhavnen 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Sydhavnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing