We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a business trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Sydhavnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Sydhavnen
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Valladolid, Castilla y Leon, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK for a business trip”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have spent 3 days in a business trip, the hotel is clean and is functional. It is located close to a train station and easily reachable from the airport. The breakfast buffet is good, as is the business centre. The staff is nice, and solve your problems, although it takes a little time.
I would say is fine for a couple of days of business trip, noting remarkable and nothing terrible wrong.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are larger, avoid A/C system is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LdP904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    412
    275
    93
    47
See reviews for
229
251
34
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stopped at this hotel for a few days in November 2012 on business and had a mixed experience unfortunately. There are aspects of this hotel that are really good (and surprised me), however there are also aspects that are just bad...

The downstairs of the hotel is clean and looks good, with pleasant staff who seem happy to help you wherever they can. On the ground floor is also the breakfast area and bar/restaurant. The breakfast area is a good size and has a good selection of food (and its included in the room rate). The bar is nice and clean with a good selection of drinks as well. The restaurant I was most impressed with, as their food (while expensive) was very good and didn't disappoint. I tried most things off their menu and was impressed with all.

The rooms on the other hand weren't so good. I was offered an upgrade to their newer for a large amount each day (which I declined), so I was in one of the standard rooms (see the pictures). I was seriously unimpressed and in the end switched hotels after 4 days of zero sleep! The air conditioning in the room didn't really do anything other than make a large amount of noise. The walls were very think so I could hear at least three TV's loudly at all hour of the night, along with the footsteps and conversations of those in adjacent rooms. The mini-bar cupboard was actually empty, and just had some glasses in there (fun surprise). The bathroom was remarkably minimal, and wasn't that clean either. The final nail in the coffin for me was noticing the large amount of dirt/food/dead skin underneath the mattress topper on both of the beds. It appears that while the sheets are occasionally cleaned they don't clean the rest of the bed. I was just glad there were no lice!

Overall the hotel was a let-down, especially for the cleanliness of the room. If the rooms were cleaner and a bit more soundproof it would be a decent hotel that would be enjoyable, however as it is I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeInAHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you read the literature on the scandic website, you'd be forgiven for thinking this was a rather pleasant hotel in easy reach of central Copenhagen and all it's amenities. Sadly, this is far from the case. The hotel is actually situated in a carpark on one side, and a building site on the other, and in easy reach of the 'Dong' power station. Inside the hotel, the deception continues. The front desk possesses no maps of where the hotel is in relation to central Copenhagen and the attitude of the staff is at best perfunctory. The hotel itself is a masterclass in post industrial austerity, and there is little to be had by way of enjoyment or comfort. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_B186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Scandig is a basic hotel, good for business. About 10 mins from the airport I arrived around 10:30, check in was a little slow with only one person on the desk which was a pain after a late journey. Room are small and a little basic, bathrooms are quite small. Business center was really good, staff are excellent. For a one-night business trip its fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
872 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We travelled in a group of 26 and stayed for one night. Comfortable stay, but room & bathroom were rather small with just basic furniture & furnishings. There was no tea/coffee maker in the room. Breakfast was good. OK for one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-O-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was nice and the breakfast was excellent but the toillet-bathroom was really small and uncomfortable. Also, there are no restaurants or bars around the hotel, so you have to go to the city center to eat or have some fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barby_Valia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Scandic hotel is ideally situated halfway between the airport and the cruise terminal and can easily be reached by train. However, we opted for taxis and it cost us approx £18 from airport to hotel and same again from hotel to cruise ship.

First impressions are that it looks like a huge block of flats from the outside but that view changes entirely on entering the spacious lobby with plenty of lounge seating and a row of free internet terminals.

Our room was Scandinavian styled with smart furniture and every comfort you need Rather than go into the city centre, we opted tp eat in the hotel restaurant which was a bit expensive but the food was well worth it..The big bonus, of course, is that a free breakfast is provided and it is a real eye-opener.

The staff were ultra-efficient and we would have no hesitation in paying a repeat visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleubrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Scandic Sluseholmen
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
710 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#39 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,992 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,820 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#69 of 116 in Copenhagen
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sydhavnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sydhavnen

Property: Scandic Sydhavnen
Address: Sydhavns Plads 15, Copenhagen DK-2450, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Sydhavnen)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Sydhavnens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Sydhavnen 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Sydhavnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing