We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and happy people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Christiania

Christiania
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.74*
and up
Alternative Tour Copenhagen
Ranked #45 of 352 things to do in Copenhagen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This hippy enclave is an alternative community unto itself, with local handicrafts and a disproportionate number of vegetarians, artists and young people. Go for a walk around the lake or check out one of the watering holes. Best to visit during the day.
1 review
“Relaxed and happy people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

You can buy hash and marijuana- but no hard drugs - from different stands in pusher street. There are a dozens of restaurants, shops, galleries and music venues that offer all sorts of cultural experiences. It's the best place in copenhagen to just relax!:)
Tip: Don't photograph or run in the area, especially in and around pusher street. There is a sign in the entrance with the rules, that the residents also advises to not photograph.
Respect their rules and have a great time!

Helpful?
Thank Selenava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,153
    1,188
    950
    485
    378
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The exact opposite of a utopian society”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I read a bit about Christiania before I went, so I had certain expectations; I was anticipating a hippie commune full of young artists and naive idealism. What I found was a glorified slum.
Far from the utopia that it is touted to be, the area is an unhygienic mess of collapsing buildings and unsavory men. I had intended to picnic in the area and stay for an hour or two, but I did not feel safe and I couldn't get out fast enough. I cannot imagine why this is a major tourist attraction. Steer clear.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Cordelia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not a tourist attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Christiania is a part in Copenhagen which through it's history has achieved some kind of autonomy. You could say it is a piece of 'anti-culture' opposed to the rest of the city which is clean, nice, and orderly. Christiania is this as well, but in another way. It looks like a dump, but this is not about a carefully kept urban environment. If you just take it as a part where people live and work in a carefree way then you'll be fine, but otherwise you'll be disappointed. I don't think it is worth going there especially, I guess the concept here is more important than reality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Useless waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place is a dump - which I think is the real reason they don't want you to take photos. Mostly just young immigrants from N. Africa selling drugs, a few Danes or Scandinavians taking those drugs and quite a few 50+ year old Danes who try to tell you why the place is so great (before they return to their homes presumably in the suburbs). Oh, and lots of young tourists. Sad place. Nothing to see. Waste of time. NOT at all like Haight-Ashbury or other such places.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank wineforthejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I would definitely recommend going to see Christiania if you're looking for a unique experience. It's such a different way of life, and a really relaxed atmosphere, and just something different to check off your travel list. There's pusher street, which is like a market strip for pot. There's also quite a few cafes and areas to sit and eat or just chill out. You can walk around and look at the different houses which I thought was quite interesting. You can also sit above a pond and just hang out.
As long as you stick to their rules, I don't see why you would have any problems. I felt quite safe, and there were a lot more people there than I thought. We walked in with about 20 other people so it's not like you're entering some obscure place on your own. There were families with kids, both younger and older people. The rules involve no cameras, running or hard drugs. People often complain about the cameras, but I figure you're going into someone's home so you need to respect their rules. You'd want people to behave a certain way in your home, and it's a great opportunity to put away the cameras and the phones and just enjoy experiencing something different.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyjaneliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christiania also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing