We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive food in a centuries-old courtyard”
Review of Restaurant Maven

Restaurant Maven
Reserve with
Restaurant Maven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 2,462 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $6
Cuisines: French, Italian, Danish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: ‘Maven – Restaurant & Wine bar’ is a down-to-earth eatery in the Nikolaj Exhibition Building; an old church right in Copenhagen’s solar plexus. We offer quality wines and good beer at honest prices and classic dishes with an elegant twist, freshly made from the best ingredients. The place has borrowed the old nickname for the Nikolaj Square; in the 19th Century this was the home of the city’s butcher shops and thus referred to by the locals as ‘Maven’, literally meaning ‘the Stomach’. We have removed the bloody traces and aired the location, but the informal charm is still here. We treat the stomach without overdoing the gastronomical ambitions.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Impressive food in a centuries-old courtyard”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Very nice for a late lunch in lieu of dinner. My wife had mussels - simply steamed with some garlic and cream. I had a two-course dinner - great shrimp with a house-made dill mayo and pork belly served with corn, rhubarb and cream. All was very tasty.

The restaurant has outside seating right next to a wonderful old church. The setting made a very good meal truly memorable.

Helpful?
1 Thank PeglegEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    187
    51
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, even for a birthday”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Maven was my favorite restaurant in Copenhagen, and I can't say enough about the service and the food. Our server brought us the bottle of wine we ordered, along with a miniature Danish flag on a flagpole for the birthday girl, but noticed that the wine did not smell right, so she whisked it away for a new bottle. That level of service is not something you see often in the States, and it just shows the care the staff has for your dining experience. The food was exquisite, and we stayed for a long dinner, before trundling down the Stroeget to our apartment. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wmerck26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good value, hearty portions, easy to find”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

By having a Church Spire as a landmark, this restaurant makes it easy to find. Close to the metro Kongens Nytorv, if you exit via the Magasin du Nord ("Harrods") Department store and head towards Hojbro Plads, it is nestled in between on St Kirkestraede. We were recommended by people at the department store and had a very filling and pleasing lunch. Jazz played outside on Sundays. Busy with locals, with lunch served with hearty portions which, in Copenhagen terms, were good value. I had the smorrebrod platter of four and there was no room for dessert! Atmosphere was not like a Church but of a busy and popular restaurant. If you are in the Ostergade or Kongens Nytorv area, this would be my choice for a sit down luncheon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bboymsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“we've returned 4 times”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

First found this restaurant by accident when we got lost. Had a lovely lunch; friendly service. Agree menu limited but tend to dismiss long menus on basis that a chef cannot produce all the dishes on a long menu to a high standard. At Maven the chef clearly takes care of every dish.
we returned for dinner the next day and have since been back for lunch a few times....all in a week! We particularly like the marinated herrings and also the lobster and langustines.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place, solid menu”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We ate here after a long day of walking and sightseeing the town. It is is an old church, but we ate outside. It is near some busy tourist areas, but this off on a side street in a small plaza like area and was very quiet and relaxing. We were very satisfied with the menu choices. One of us had the pork and the other had the mussels, and both were really good and were good sized portions too. The apple cake desert was excellent. Service was friendly and solid - not overbearing but we weren't ignored either. All in all, it was a great way to finish off a very nice day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terps52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Maven also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Maven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing