We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church with a unique spire”

Church of Our Saviour
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.07*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #4 of 352 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful church with a unique spire”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

One of my favorite churches with a unique spiral staircase on the steeple. Well worth the walk across the bridge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WNY_traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,180
    1,448
    258
    23
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One of the few freebies in Copenhagen”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A welcome, cool place to rest while trekking round Christianshavn.

The spiral spire is instantly recognisable from all over the city, but the interior is also delightful, with its huge elephant carvings and impressive paintings.

Climbing the spire needs a good head for heights and lots of stamina, which lets me out on both points, but I'm sure the view is magnificent. It also needs 80 kroner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Akathistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun climb with great view”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Church itself was closed for a funeral but still climbed to the top of the tower. Got there right when it opened so didn't have to worry about people coming down the stairs yet. Some steep steps but always plenty of handrails and small platforms to step onto to let people pass. Nice views from wooden platform, but you should go all the way to the top on the outer stairs of you can! Great experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzie94256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view, fun climb”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Go ahead! Make the trek up the stairs! It's free if you buy the Copenhagen Card, which you just show at the desk as you enter. The wooden stairs get steeper and smaller as you go up the spire, but they are well maintained. Watch your head, the higher you go, the less headroom there is. If you go fast, you may get a tad dizzy. Use this as an excuse to stop part way and look at the bells, signs, panting tourists, etc. Once you get to the open balcony, you'll have a 360 degree view. From their you begin the outside spiral metal stair climb. It was sunny when we went, but I imagine they are slippery when rainy. These get very narrow and you can't pass anyone those last few steps. The view is spectacular and the handrails are secure.
Just watch out for an aerial attack once you're back on terra firma. An elementary school group was on their way up as we were coming down. While standing outside, a blue thick paper airplane "crashed" on my arm. Don't worry, I'm fine. :-) We looked up and saw others that only made it to a ledge. Please enjoy the view, and don't drop Kroner coins on other tourists!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarbyDoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Attraction”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We really enjoyed this attraction. We managed the steep climb to the top of the steeple which provided wonderful views of the city, even though the day was overcast. Not sure how curioustraveler99 managed it but there was a booth inside the church where we purchased our tickets (35000 kr each ) to climb to the top. Its still worth the money and a great experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank djf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Saviour also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Church of Our Saviour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing